We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Unique Boutique Hotel, Will Definately Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Very Unique Boutique Hotel, Will Definately Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

If our travels bring us back to the Philadelphia area, this Hotel will be our destination. Great attentive service, from the front desk to the staff to the Paramour Restaurant. Our room was very nice. We had a bay window facing the front of the building, nice king sleigh bed which was very comfortable and the updated bathroom was unique, the walk in shower with the rain shower head was truly a pleasure. The decor was nice. Our room also had in room complimentary coffee. They have a complimentary breakfast, though we unfortunately didn't get to try it. There are cafe's and restaurants within walking distance as well as interesting shops. Our last day was topped off with an exceptional early lunch on their outdoor veranda.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a bay window facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAKLSMDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
36
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Wayne Hotel is a little gem located smack in the centre of the main line right on route 30, or old Lancaster Avenue. A friend and I visited for one night when attending the Devon Horse Show right down the road in Devon. The lobby is lovely, has a continental feel that is neither too modern, nor dated. The patio that faces Lancaster Ave looks like a very nice spot to enjoy lunch or a cocktail. Next time we'll do just that.
Staff is appropriately dressed for business, and a few of them speak more than one language as I discovered with the French Mme who checked me in.
With a call in advance, we were able to check in early (1pm) The rooms are generously proportioned when compared to European standard.Ours comfortably supported a desk,chair, dresser, large tv, couch,a king bed, all with plenty of room to move around. The couch pulled out to a queen bed, and there was still room to get around everything. The bathroom was also quite large, with a nice shower, single sink, but with lots of counter space for everyone toiletries.
Our room was spotless, which is the most important thing about a room, if you ask me. There were plenty of lush towels, pillows, and the king bed and linens appeared new. Drapery was nice quality, carpet is in good shape, nice basic furniture and appointments. We found a working hair dryer in the bathroom, shampoo,conditioner, and soap. There was a sizeable well lit closet with hangers, complete with ironing board and iron which we used for several items during our stay. It's nice not to have to ask for these things and wait a half hour to have someone bring them up. You get a real room key, not one of those cards you can lose easily and which need to be demagnitised constantly. Old School. I like it.
While the view wasn't great (overlooking the aircon units on the building next door) we weren't there for a romantic balcony scene so it didn't really matter. What we did miss was a mini bar or some variety of small frige in which to store some water or other chilled beverage.There is an ice machine on the lower level for guest use but I find that a little tacky.It's too reminicent of the old Hojos motels all along rt 66 or the like. Ice on call from the front desk or room service would be a better option. Not having any bottled water in the room at no charge would also be a good idea.I realise they're trying to keep prices down and encourage people to visit the bar, but really,a bucket of ice and a bottle of water or at least a notecard on the nightstand advising the guest that these things are availible upon request would be a fine idea.
Just one other thing needs attention: Not only was there no full length mirror in the room; the only mirror availible was a waist high wall hung bathroom mirror. If you're not in the bathroom, you have no mirror to use while dressing. Not even a small decorative one by which to tie a tie or check your makeup. This is an oversight that nees to be addressed. A full length mirror attached to the inside of the closet door would be very useful.
Staff was efficient and friendly. Ample free parking. You cannot beat the price for this value even if you have to get your own ice. Ps. Call Main Line Taxi if you need to be shuttled about, they do a great job. We'll be back. Mini review of Paramour and other local establishments to come. Cheers

Room Tip: 410 does not have a great view, but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onehermesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was a lovely hotel that was perfect for visiting Bryn Mawr or Haverford College. The room was charming and immaculate, and the service at the hotel was excellent. There's an elegant (if pricey) restaurant which we had dinner in, and the complimentary breakfast was way above the norm. The pastries tasted like they were right out of a Paris boulangerie, and there were "pain au chocolate", croissants, and other French treats. A lovely and very moderately priced hotel. An excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I normally don't write reviews for hotels, but the service and ambiance of this property deserve merit. The photos on the internet do not do it justice.

The Wayne is an absolutely wonderful little hotel, that exudes charm and elegance....from the moment you arrive, it continuously grows as your visit extends. Upon first impression you will immediately recognize the attention to detail in every aspect- from beautiful garden, to tasteful, playful furniture and customer service that the Four Seasons and Ritz could take notice. Tom, the front desk manager, set the tone as we entered the hotel. He was hospitable, attentive, and extremely professional. Our stay started on the right foot thanks to his demeanor and kindness.

Attention has been given to every corner, from the foyer to the lovely restaurant (which I believe is improperly named: Paramour). The cuisine and wine list is phenomenal!

The rooms are clean and well appointed, tasteful furniture and kept up in restoration. Everything is well kept- nothing to complain about......no stains, no frayed edges, perfect carpets, tasteful wall paper that matches the stitching on the bed coverlet, nothing that looks like it needs replacement.

Mike and Ryan in the bar are both attentive, and provide fun conversation, if you so wish. We met quite a few international travelers and locals at the bar, and enjoyed their company in this friendly atmosphere.

The breakfast served is lovely and the lighting in the hotel is fabulous, no dark nasty corners.
I highly recommend this establishment and will be staying here again in the immediate future.
Kudos to the owners, management team and staff.

Regards,

Kevin E. Knox

Room Tip: Ask for room 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnkleKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We see relatives in Wayne maybe once every two years. LOVE coming back to the Wayne Hotel, feels like home. Since we have returned, they have opened the new restaurant, Paramour, although we did not get a chance this time to dine there for lunch or dinner, we did enjoy their excellent Continental breakfast! Great room, great service, good to see familiar faces again. Next time...lunch or dinner!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jnw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Wayne Hotel once a week for the past year.The accomendations have lessened the stress of my travel schedule and time away from home. A special mention of Tom Watkins and Jeanine Walsh for the excellent service they provide. It is always welcoming and the new restaurant is fun. My family has also enjoyed coming to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great old hotel that's been redone and done well. My room was clean and comfortable, not huge but really comfortable. The bar and restaurant are great, food was outstanding and the bartender was really knowledgable. Whenever I am Philly bound on business this is my spot. Can't miss.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E. Lancaster Ave., Wayne, PA 19087
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing