We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but access to drinking water is problematic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel itself was ok...can't complain. However, I was told the quality of water in the area is a big concern and we were advised to drink bottled water only. Access to drinking water is not a trivial requirement and I feel that there should be a table with bottled water in every room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to go to trip advisor to rate us. We are extremely pleased that you found your stay to be “Excellent” in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future!
I wish you would have told us of your concerns during your stay so we could have addressed them.
Your response showed that you heard quality of water in Washington area a concern. In fact the quality of water in Washington County is tested and good to drink. Pennsylvania has one of the most rigorous regulatory programs of any state. I would refer you to www.water.epa.gov for more information. However if you prefer we do have bottled water available 24 hours for our guests at our front desk.

Please know that we work very hard to ensure that every stay at our hotel is “Excellent”! Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to delivering “Excellent” service to you in the very near future.

Jonathan Barton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 673 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt like we were home
From the dear housekeeping girl Shanna , Mark the GM , the waitresses mike and Ashley, and all the others there. They were fantastic. The decor of the hotel is so calming and comfy feeling. Very warm and beautiful. Very clean rooms!!! They even have a shuttle for the outlets!!
The chef Tatty was AMAZING!!!!!! Oh my gosh. She makes the very best dishes I've ever eaten. Blue crab crab cakes rock the house!!! Do not question if you should maybe stay there....GO!!! You won't regret it!!
We love you doubletree!! Oh yes we do!!!!

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Sheryl and the Three Amigo's

Thank you so very much for the kind words concerning your most recent stay at the DoubleTree Pittsburgh Meadow Lands.

It is so satisfying to all of us when we get to hear from former Guests who had an excellent time with us. And, when they think enough to tell us of our associates who helped to make that happen, it is even more delightful!

We loved beign able to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Regards
Mark

PS: You are right, "Blue crab crab cakes rock the house!!! " I will let Chef Taty know that they 'Hit the spot"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The DoubleTree in Washington, Pa is a fantastic hotel for many reasons. Mostly it holds a great location, close to interstate roads in western Pennsylvania/West Virginia, Tangier Mall, and Meadowlands Casino/Racetrack. Not just a local hotel, it offers a full restaurant with a great Chef Taty, a quiet lounge with Sarah, Brie, Shelly and Crystal as waitstaff. Their housekeeping staff is excellent with Shawna and the others keeping the rooms clean,comfortable and supplied with the right stuff for travelers. The front desk is efficient, friendly and fast. They give you a key that works the first time every time, a big plus for road warriors. They can handle groups in their convention center and that staff is also excellent. Mark and his staff are first rate.

Room Tip: Low numbers are closer to the lounge but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Service Excellence Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post this Excellent review! We are thrilled to hear that our team took such awesome care of you during your stay! We strive to make each and every visit unforgettable for our guests! I will be sure to pass your compliments along! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

In Service.

Jennifer Kevech
Service Excellence Supervisor
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This property is adjacent to the casino and therefore popular location. Also, with all the work going on in the energy sector, lots of people staying here.

The price is pretty good for a Doubletree and you get what you pay for. Rooms are nice enough with comfortable beds; bathrooms are fine with decent hot water and OK water pressure; front desk staff seem very nice.

The food is just OK, and the bar is OK although don't count on a waitress to serve you...she was preoccupied with something else to actually check the room. A bottle of beer is $3 which is good for a hotel bar, but I suspect that it is lower to cater to all the Halliburton employees staying there.

All in all I would recommend. For the money, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Service Excellence Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! We are pleased you found your stay with us to be both accommodating and economical! We strive to offer Excellent service and value to each of our guests and we are extremely thrilled that you recognized that effort! Please know how much we appreciate your comments and your business. We look forward to having the opportunity to "Wow" you again in the very near future!

In Service,

Jennifer Kevech
Service Excellence Supervisor
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed for about 18 days. Staff are very nice. Food is good but not great. Location was great for my business. My wife joined me half way through my stay so we were able to enjoy the Casino and she enjoyed the shopping at the outlet mall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Micheal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Service Excellence Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking a moment to provide feedback regarding your most recent experience. What a pleasure to have you for such a long period of time, and how wonderful that your wife was able to join you for part of it. We are happy to hear that you both benefited from our convenient location next to the casino and the outlets. We also appreciate the compliments you provided about our staff! It is our team's primary duty to offer unforgettable service with a friendly and welcoming smile. We look forward to providing you with that service in the very near future!

In Service,

Jennifer Kevech
Service Excellence Supervisor
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rooms seem worn, refrigerator and heater very loud -- will wake you up! Front desk staff very nice, and the food in the lounge was ok. Stayed here because the Hilton Garden Inn up the road was booked (it had a much better rating on Trip Advisor).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank James R. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Service Excellence Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I regret to hear that you experienced issues with the noise from your guest room appliances. I have forwarded this issue onto the Chief Engineer who is certain to look into the matter. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We would also like to thank you for your compliments regarding our Front Office staff! They will be so excited to hear of your positive review of their service!

If you ever find yourself returning to our area, we would love to have the chance to host you again! We truly appreciate your business!

In Service,

Jennifer Kevech
Service Excellence Supervisor
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent a night while travelling through the area. We booked here as their web site said is was adjacent to Meadows Casino. While that is true, it is a long walk, straight uphill to the casino. However there is a shuttle that will take you there and pick you back up with a phone call. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allegany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Service Excellence Supervisor at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our close vicinity to the casino, and it is indeed a long walk! Luckily, as you mentioned, we do have a complimentary shuttle that runs back and forth upon request, which we are also happy you benefited from.

Thank you also for your kind remarks regarding the Front Office. Our Front Office Team Members will be so excited that you mentioned their Excellent service in your response!

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future if ever your travels bring you back to our area! We appreciate your business!

In Service,

Jennifer Kevech
Service Excellence Supervisor
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh South/Meadows Racetrack & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#8 of 20 in Washington
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Washington/Meadow Lands
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Washington - Meadow Lands
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington at Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands

Address: 340 Racetrack Road, Washington, PA 15301 (Formerly Holiday Inn Washington - Meadow Lands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Washington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington
Price Range: $97 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Meadow Lands invites you to stay at our hotel located adjacent to The Meadows Race Track & Casino and Tanger Outlets. Our spacious guestrooms offer Sweet Dreams bedding, as well as complimentary parking, wireless internet, and seasonal outdoor pool, business center, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing