We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never stay there again”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Was stuck at this Doubletree for 2 nights because on a group tour. The rugs were filthy, the hallways & rooms smelled, paper peeling from walls due to water damage. We requested a handicap room but got a standard bath tub with 3 railings (I could not get into tub, had to take sponge bath & wash hair in sink) there was a railing next to a low toilet & it was loose. There was a 3 shelf metal rack for towels next to toilet so there was no room for a wheelchair. They couldn't give us another room. Also all handicap rooms were at the far end of the corridors from the elevators. Housekeeping never replaced used glasses or cleaned bathroom sink. They charge for a buffet breakfast that other hotels have for free. Also my bed sagged, I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: no spa, outdoor pool only, stay at the Hampton next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatShak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear KatShak,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We strive daily to offer impeccable service and an excellent product in every way. Thus it is very disappointing when a guest is not satisfied. I truly wish that i had been made aware of your issues when you were here as my staff and I would most certainly have tried to resolve them. I hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip tot he area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    136
    75
    46
    38
See reviews for
105
200
31
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentleyville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My Boyfriend and I just stayed there this past weekend, we celebrated one my best friend's wedding there in the grand ballroom. It was great. The reception was fantastic and very fun. The food/staff was great. We checked in and were given cookies which were delicious. I even received 3 more the morning I checked out because we liked them so much. After the reception we took the shuttle to the Casino, that is a great feature. I know a lot of people who attended the wedding used it and were very happy. The room was clean and up to date. The beds were very comfy. Overall I really had a great time and would stay again. Would def recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kapow15,

How exciting to read that we have been able to WOW one of our guests! Thank you so much for the review. I have to agree that our signature DoubleTree cookies are nearly worth the trip all by themselves! Thank you again for your kind words and I hope that we can serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Hill, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A little pricey. "Large group" rates could have been better discounted. Facilities were very good for the activity. Staff was very polite, and well trained. Reservations were easy, as well as check-in and check-out

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Arthur C.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am very glad that you found our Facilities very good and our Staff very polite, and well trained. Please be certai to visit us again when you are in teh area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The nice looking lobby start the processing of deceiving guests on the quality of a hotel that this is. The room's door lock did not work it felt like it was going to fall off the door. The bathroom is so small that you have to back up and fit between the toilet and sink in order to open or close the door. It is so small that the sink and the toilet is right on top of you with no room to move. This room is not worth the price compared to the other hotels. I visit this area often and I will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Hunter L,

Please acccept my apologies and regrets taht you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. We certainly try to be seen as Excellent to all of our guest each and every stay. Unfortunately, it appears taht we were unable to meet your expectations. I hope that you will give us another try when you return the area. We would love to show you that what you experienced is not the product taht we normally deliver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monessen, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was the venue for my daughter's wedding reception. I can't even begin to say how smoothly everything took place. The wedding planner (Mary Ann) is very knowledgeable and her entire staff was accomodating and experienced. The Grand Ballroom was beautifully decorated and the food was delicious. Our overnight stay was pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful weekend! I would recommend this facility very highly for any special event and any stay. The casino and outlets can be easily visited by using the hotel shuttle service.. Many of our out of town guests took advantage of this convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Irene,

It is when we get review like yours taht we remember the reason that we work in the Hospitality Industry. We will host nearly 60 weddings this year and it is so very gratifying when we are able to deliver the kind of product that you experienced. Weddings are most certainly precious to those involved and i can assure you that they are special to this team as well! Thank you for your business, thank you for the review and best of luck to all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding -- the wedding was at the hotel. They did a good job with the wedding, but cocktail hour started late. The food was really good. The location of the hotel is right across the street from the outlets. The hotel was average. It was clean and smelled fresh. Only real complaint was the air conditioner was way too loud.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for being our guest during your attendance at a wedding at our property. We are vey glad that the wedding was a great experience for you. I am excited that you thought that the food was really good. I do apologize that the AC unit was too loud. I have had the Maintanance staff change it out, so thank you for the information!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The room was clean, but small. The wallpaper was peeling and the furniture had some wear and stains. The rooms have double beds instead of queens. The main issue we had was noise. We could hear noise in the hallway, and noise from the next room. We apparently were next to a whirlpool room and we could hear the people and the pump motor late at night. Overall we did not get a good night’s sleep.
The other odd issue with this hotel is that the elevators are separated from the lobby by a set of stairs. The front desk tells you to take your luggage around to the side of the hotel and bring it in on the ground floor. That would be okay if we hadn’t already unloaded everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pretzel660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Miami Visitors, Thank you for writing of your recent visit to our hotel. I apologise that you wre able to hear the noise from the Jacuzzi room next to yours. I am sure that it must have been very annoying. I also understand your frustration at having the registration on a different level than the main level for the Hotel tower. This unfortunately is an archetectural issue that are not able to remedy. Fortunately, we are able to communicate this to most of guests before they unload, but we were not so fortunate with you.

Please accept my apologies for those areas where we failed to met your expectations. I sincerely hope taht we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh South/Meadows Racetrack & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#5 of 20 in Washington
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#3 of 20 in Washington
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Washington/Meadow Lands
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington at Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
Address: 340 Racetrack Road, Washington, PA 15301 (Formerly Holiday Inn Washington - Meadow Lands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington
#6 Business Hotel in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Meadow Lands invites you to stay at our hotel located adjacent to The Meadows Race Track & Casino and Tanger Outlets. Our spacious guestrooms offer Sweet Dreams bedding, as well as complimentary parking, wireless internet, and seasonal outdoor pool, business center, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing