We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!!”
Review of Verona Village Inn

Verona Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian Dinning and Family Style Takeout
Verona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Just to let you know , we have lived in the area for years. This restaurant is a great place for Italian food. Your dinner begins with soup . My husband and I both had wedding soup that was excellent. Our next course was salad and garlic bread. Nice salad with tasty dressing placed on the side so you could use as much as you want. Next was the two delicious entrees, veal Romano and Veal Neptune. You could cut the veal with a fork it was that tender . Both meals were large in portion size. You may want reservations as they do get very busy.
We can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keysfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

One of my husband's favorites. He loves the pasta pescatore and always has enough to take home for another meal. Don't miss the garlic bread, it's the best! Plan on waiting for a table if you don't make a reservation but well worth the wait. Pricing is very reasonable and always a great meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pictrchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food & prices at Village Inn”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lunch at the Verona Village Inn was a pleasant experience. My shrimp & broccoli pasta (for under $10) was well prepared - shrimp and fresh broccoli cooked to perfection in an Alfredo sauce with mushrooms. The salad that came with it was decent but nothing special. (One could have soup instead.) Pleasant service helped make the Inn a nice choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“this place is just fun fun fun”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

from the moment i called on the phone to make a reservation to actually showing up - this place is a well oiled machine...there is NO pretentiousness here..it is a traditional, old school, pittsburgh staple italien restaurant..it probably hasnt changed in 30 years which is what makes it soooo charming..when the waitress came to take our drink order she inquired as to whether we were ready to order...lol we hadnt even opened the menus..they are serious here!...we got there at 730 (which is early for me) and the restaurant was already clearing out..i got the chianti wine..not for a distinguished palate (lol) but it was fine..the wine is served in these teensy ineesy glasses and filled to the brim with wine...dont know how she maneuvered twice through the whole restaurant without spilling a drop..of course at the table i spilled it getting the wine to my lips! i gotta say at this point: i love these type of places that just make the restaurant business look like ice skating..they move effortlessly but if someone tried it who wasnt versed in the moves they would mess it up...so i got the wedding soup, house salad with gorg (i'd recommend oil and vinegar if you like homemade dressing cause their is no way the italien i got was homemade..it had to be bottle..) now i know for the next time..my entree was the veal diavoletto..you can get hot or sweet peppers or both for this..i like to torture myself and i opted for the hot only, but i would strongly suggest to incorporate some sweet too - just to offset the spiciness...i also had it served over linguini which, to me, made the dish monumental...so flavorful and fresh!this dish was just amazing..both the predecessors were ok but the entrees are almost as good as any top 25 pittsburgh magazine finalists!!! bottom line: if you want to witness true genius as far as a large scale restaurant delivering without the pretentiousness -this is the place..there will be no white linens but sometimes you gotta just live!!! the bread is yummy too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food - but not a place to have a special get together---”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went to a 50th birthday party this past Sunday and there were 21 people in the party. My friend was in the process of finishing unwrapping her presents when the two hour alottment of time was up. The lead waitress or maybe manager was giving the party goers dirty looks for going over the two hour limit by 10 minutes. My friend didn't know this was happening, but it made all of us at the party feel very uncomfortable. The food was very good and was hot, but it was rushed. The waitresses were very, very nice. I would not recommend this restuarant for a bigger party.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mocha0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verona Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to Verona Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing