We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vanderbilt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Vanderbilt B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Seams like Home has expanded its excellent hospitality from quilters and other types of travellers to include cyclists who are cycling via the Great Allegheny Passage and need a place to stay near the Connellsville station. The owners pick up cyclists from the end of the trail using their shuttling pickup truck so it's very convenient. The host and hostess are extremely friendly, the premises are newly renovated, very comfortable and clean, and most of all, the beds are comfortable. Our bathroom was shared with another room. There was a comfortable recreation room for guests with a pool table, tv and computer with free internet, something not always available at many other b&b's. There was a washer/dryer nearby with which cyclists could do their laundry; such a vital amenity for cyclists, who often travel light and get quite sweaty on the trails.

The icing on the cake was when I accidentally left a gold ring with much sentimental and actual value. I had not noticed it was missing but the host called me to ask if I had left such a ring and I described it to him. He shipped it to me with insurance the next day! Such honesty, reliability and generosity is so special.

The breakfast was equally tasty, with an array of good dishes involving the usual breakfast foods, eggs, sausage, toast, jellies, etc. being available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funklady9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is unique for a bed and breakfast because it combines comfortable overnight accommodations plus it is a destination point for those interested in quilting. Although that wasn't our reason for staying, we thought it was an interesting combination. Rick and Donna have made a very nice bed and breakfast from a fairly ordinary structure. Everything is new but they've made it very homey and the breakfast omelet was outstanding. We were there as a stopover while doing the C & O Canal and GAP bike trails and it was an ideal...and welcome...stop along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very accommodating, spacious, comfortable and clean B&B in lovely setting.
I would recommend it to bikers, couples, and extended families. There is a separate kitchen, large dining room, computer connections and even a game room/lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iborbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while biking the GAP trail. Rick was more than accommodating. He really went above and beyond!!! We hit a rain storm several miles before riding into Connellsville and he came and picked us up in his truck as promised he even brought us some towels to dry off with. He also let us use his garden hose to clean our bikes, which was greatly appreciated. We were the only guests that day and they helped us dry all of our clothes, shoes, bags etc. If we didn't have something he helped us to find it. He was very friendly and for a small fee, drove us back into town for dinner then came back to pick us up. He took us and our bikes back to the trail - we even stayed longer than planned due to the weather.
If you are biking the trail I would really recommend stopping here for the night. The pick-up spot was easy to find from the trail. We felt very safe and comfortable. We walked around their property and sat by the pond feeding the ducks and fish. It was an enjoyable time!
The B&B itself was like new. The rooms and private bathrooms were large and very clean. Breakfast was great and they even gave us some snacks in the evening. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValB304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend and I were biking the Great Allegheny Passage and stayed here overnight. The road from town is hilly and has considerable traffic, so the owner picked us up in town in his truck that has a custom built rack for bikes. No extra charge.

The B&B is designed like a small conference center/retreat so all of the facilities are top notch. Beds were super comfortable, bathrooms big and clean. The owners maintain a good balance between the guests needs for service and privacy. They are easy to find if you need them, but don't hover.

Breakfast was terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasmith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the basis of the glowing comments we found on Trip Advisor, and we agree with all that we read. It was a challenge to find the place using Google Maps and directions, and it was only after receiving guidance from a local that we were successful. Once there, we were delighted by the hospitality and congeniality of our hosts, Donna and Rick. The accommodations were comfortable, and the breakfasts imaginative, tasty and plentiful. We particularly liked the baked oatmeal Donna made for one breakfast, and a stuffed croissant she offered for another. Our hosts were most eager that we be satisfied with what was offered, and welcomed our suggestions for options. I think it fair to say that had we not bicycled as hard as we did on the Great Allegheny Passage, we would have gained serious weight. The B&B offered appealing amenities such as the ready availability of bottled water and other drinks, and a comfortable lounge with a regulation-size pool table.

The only suggestion I would make is that some thought be given to providing more horizontal surfaces in the rooms. Our room, which was otherwise comfortable with a great bed, had only a small table on which to put "stuff," even though the room itself was large enough to accommodate a table or dresser. Similar comments would apply to the generously sized bathrooms.

In sum, a thoroughly restful stay, that I look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingramj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our 2nd retreat at 'Seams Like Home' & we are already on the books for next Fall. Eight of us stayed here for 4 wonderful days of "girl time", laughter, and quilting. Donna and Rick were superb hosts, catering to every possible need- full-sized quilt design wall, 2 cutting tables, as well as ironing areas for quilters. Meals were mouthwatering and always prompt in a private dining room. This is our favorite property (we experienced MANY others) for our retreats. The rooms were very comfortable, facilities are new & extremely clean. Loved the living room area at night to watch movies & access to a kitchen. So many little details and amenities that make this place special. We HIGHLY recommend the wonderful hospitality that this B&B provides. Great Job! Gretchen H. (Simpson Creek Quilters, Bridgeport WV)

Room Tip: Quilters--Owner Rick, can even service your Viking Sewing Machine during your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbilt
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
142 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
280 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Connellsville
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2010 Emerald Valley Rd, Vanderbilt, PA 15486-1046
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Vanderbilt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vanderbilt
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Laurel Highlands of Southwestern Pennsylvania and nestled on nearly four acres of rural wooded hillside. Perfect place for a quilting, sewing or scrapbooking getaway or just relax to escape the stresses of everyday life! Located close to Fallingwater and the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail. Delicious home-style breakfasts served daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing