We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Delco!”
Review of Pica's Restaurant

Pica's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Upper Darby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Delco!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Picas makes some of the best pizza in delco. The white with broccoli raab is sensational. I like to order my pizza a little bit well done for an extra crispy crust, and the pica's broccoli raab extra crispy is delicious. Pica's differentiates its product from the gaggle of pizza houses in delco by making their pizza with the cheese on the bottom and the sauce on the top. Flavor town! If you are spending time in delco and are looking for a piping Italian favorite, then you can't miss Pica's!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pica's is an upscale restaurant, and they are open late. They have a large menu of very good Italian dishes. On weeknights (Mon-Thur) they have a reduced price menu which is great, because Pica's is a little on the pricey side. Their pizza is an "upside down" pizza with cheese on the bottom, sauce on the top. However, if you order extra cheese, you can get a layer of cheese on the top. Their white pizza is excellent also. The pizza is square, which is a little different. Their salads are good, and pasta dishes are homemade. I had the stuffed chicken breast last night... and must admit it was not a favorite. I don't know what possessed me to order that. I should have gotten the pizza or pasta dish. I guess I thought I was eating healthy. ha ha ha. Pica's has a great ambiance, and is close to Philadelphia without being in Philadelphia. They have banquet facilities which are nice and the staff is always friendly and accommodating. Don't miss the giant cup/candy bowl on the way out!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,222 reviews
965 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Family is the word that best describes this Upper Darby/ Ridley Park Food Landmark .”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

From a Texas tommy to veal cutlet parm you cannot go wrong. The broiled fish was even outstanding in a Wednesday night in late September. The pizza pie is special with cheese on the bottom sauce on the top in a rectangular shape. Sounds way out there but really good and a neighborhood tradition. Service is attentive but not smothering and do not miss the deli Carryout in the front.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A MIXED BAG OF GOOD AND NOT SO..”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It is difficult to actually rate Pica's Restaurant. In the 40+years living one block away, I can honestly say the nights we dine there, the food was very good. I usually have the mozzarella sticks for appetizers which they cut down to 4 sticks from 6 and sauce, steak, potato, veggies.
My hubby always goes for the surf and turf there, last time visiting he complained the scallops were "rubber-like" from sitting too long. The dessert was the best ordering the chocolate mousse cake and he ordered the apple pie with vanilla ice cream. The portions are good for the price.
the server we had was quite in a rush, probably her shift was up and kept coming back to see if we were finished.
Atmosphere is semi-noisy but advise not to be seated near bar area.
They do have a banquet room that is beautiful but not handicapped accessible. A winding ramp down to it would be nice for the elderly and handicapped. Large parking area; one entrance for dining and one for take-out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace for Pizza and more”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I work near by and every so often we will go to Pica's for Birthday celebration or just to have a nice meal. Nice selection to choose from however the service I have found to be a bit slow, more on the kitchen end then anything. But none the less a good meal to be had.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BandL519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pica's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pica's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing