We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for the kids”

Ringing Rocks County Park
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great experience for the kids”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have taken the kids here at least 3 times in the past year and it never gets old for them. They love to explore the trails, climb the rocks and see the waterfall. It definitely is the prettiest when there has been some rain. I am happy to walk the trails or sit and watch them climb. For those who don't know you don't have to climb the rocks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KF0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    90
    23
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
288 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip! Don't forget your hammer and sneaks.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visiting Ringing Rocks County Park was always on my "to do" list, especially since it's free. While the visit did not last long (about 45 mins) it was definitely worth the trip. What a great phenomenon these rocks are. You need to climb and jump around to test a lot of rocks but will be pleased when you find those that sound like bells (don't forget your hammer and sneaks are a must as well as the ability to climb and jump the rocks). The trail to the rocks is just off the parking lot and it takes about 2 mins. to get there. When finished, walk a little further to see the falls. While there wasn't much water the day we went, one can imagine how beautiful the falls are when fully flowing (the rock formation above the falls was spectacular). You are above the falls and can climb down if adventurous (but be careful).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CMCPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ringing Rocks”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Located in Bucks County...within a forest sits an open field, strewn with boulders and rocks of various shapes and sizes. When these particular stones are struck lightly with a hammer, they will vibrate and make a sound not unlike that of a bell. Only one-third of them generate the ringing sound when hit. Rocks that ring are known as "live rocks, and those that don't are referred to as "dead" rocks. The rocks form an open field 10 ft. thick and 7 acres in size!

It's a very short walk from the parking area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buffy123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for a quiet weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I go to Ringing Rocks Family Campground a couple times a month (his parents have a camper up there for the summer months). It's a very nice place to bring children, as they have a large pool, a very nice playground, hayrides and various other activities during the weekend. If you can stay over Sunday night, it's very quiet and good for some real R & R. Pets are welcome as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jubilee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't miss the falls!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Seems like most of the folks who were at Ringing Rocks Park were there to bang hammers on the "Ringing Rocks" to get whatever sounds emanated from those rocks. While I thought the huge field of huge rocks was pretty cool, what I really liked where the Ringing Rocks Falls, which are just a short walk from the field of rocks. When you're walking down the trail from the parking lot, the rock field is to the left, and the trail continues down an incline to the falls. You can hear them as you start down the incline. Unfortunately, I didn't wear the proper shoes, so I felt unable to jump to the other side of the creek that feeds the falls. I'll be going back with the right shoes. There are some good picture-taking opportunities on the side I was on, but I think there are probably better opportunities on the other side of the creek. One other thing, in the (rather small) parking area, you can picnic at tables there and, the only "restroom" is a port-a-potty (be sure to take a deep breath and hold it when you're in there!!). Regardless of that, I'd encourage anyone who happens to be in the Upper Bucks County area to make a point to check out Ringing Rocks Park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ringing Rocks County Park also viewed

Quakertown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Ringing Rocks County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing