We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The staff at Bridgeton goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and are always available to help. The rooms are all so lovely. Each is unique. And the breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a river view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAGirlInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Bridgeton House was our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and we were not disappointed. From my reservation to our checkout the staff was superb. I had reservations about staying in a B & B, but the Bridgeton House is a wonderful B & B with a little Hotel feel. Hotel feel in the sense that your privacy makes you feel as though you are in a hotel and the warm wonderful hospitality has you feeling as though you are staying with family.

The location is great, you are a short drive to it all. The view from your room and the grounds are breathtaking. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Once in awhile you stumble upon one of those special places that outside of being a prime location with a great sereny view it also speaks to you. This was one of those special places where you can actually feel its positive energy upon entering and at that precise moment you know that you found a unique place and it just soothes your soul.
For me it started before even getting here when dealing with Clair on the phone prior to our stay to discuss some details. She was personable, friendly, informative, professional and just willing to answer any questions freely or make any suggestions or recomendations without feeling inconvenienced or only compelled to do so because it's merely a part of their job. It was like speaking to an old friend.
First, the most scenic drive ever in this small part of the US had to be this nature inspired trip driving up Rt.32 from New Hope to Upper Black Eddy. It is like being tranported for that moment back to Europe with the rive on your right hand side and cliffs and trees on your left, winding road weaving through quaint picturesque little places such as Lumberville, Pt. Pleasant. You pass Sand Castle Winery, Black Bass Hotel, beautiful old stone homes and that strecth of road simply could not be any better. We did stop at the Sand Castle Winery for a wine taste and peak at the winery. Arriving upon Bridgeton House you know that you are in a serene, remote area rigth next to the bridge crossing over into Milford and it's location and views are just one of the perks and unique attributes of this wonderful Inn. There are some small, tranquil resting areas in the back of their property facing the river with a fountain, sitting areas, little tables to enjoy some snacks, drinks or converastion. Clair sets up a bonfire in the evenings which is also pretty warm and cozy.
For me, I did not get to plan this stay in advance so i did not get to sample any of the different rooms other than obviously viewing them online but I can tell you that our Room 6 "Village View Suite" ha so much character and unique details that even without the waterview this has to be a room that I would surely choose again in the future. It was two different rooms, a sitting living room type space that you walk into, then an entry that goes into bedroom or another door that has a second access to the bathroom. The freehand paintings through otu the two rooms are so well done and so colorful and appealing that you can't help but feel special to have such an artistic and personalized space all to yourselves. The eclectic furniture pieces, the artistry and craftmanship of all the wood work is quite impressive. It's a fun room for sure. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. Clair was a pleasure to meet in person. She greeted us like a family member, gave us a tour, volunteered to make our dinner reservations for us after our discussion with her regarding our dinner options. We had an anniversary gift in our room that was so sweet and unexpected. We walked over the bridge into Liford to have dinner at the Oyster place (which we also enjoyed). Later upon returning to our room they had the bed turned down and Lindt chocolates placed for us with a little note. I seriously could not have asked for more when it came to hospitality, quality of room, views and serene location. Breakfast the following morning was unique and deliciously executed. The coffee which normally i stick to my espresso and would notmally opt to just go with some juice had such a great taste that i had more than one serving. I ordered their special pizza breakfast selection and fresh figs with a nice honey drizzel over a dollop of greek yougurt. My wife ordered the omelet special and we split our two choices and loved both.
Upper Black Eddy is approximately 25 minute drive up Rt32 from New Hope (with the winding roads) and the serenity and being a bit removed i believe does compliment and add to appeal of the Bridgeton House. The river up in that area seems cleaner, calmer. The bridge being right there is a nice option of walking over to Milford for a nice meal. You could drive back down Rt32 to go to Black Bass Hotel or the 1784 place for dinner, drinks.
The level of hospitality and service that Clair delivered, the unique location and room selection made our little Anniversary getaway very memorable and longing to return to Bridgeton House on the Delaware in the very near future and have already begun recommending them to family and friends. You have to experience it for yourselves. Thank you Clair and staff. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Our Village Vew Room has so much character that I would not hesitate choosing it again. It did just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portuguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I just spent Sunday through Monday at Bridgeton House on the Delaware and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was clean, cozy, the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was great and the people friendly and welcoming. We did some fishing from the dock and caught a couple a nice size smallmouth bass. The grounds are very nice offering a great view of the Delaware River. Frenchtown, NJ is just a few minutes away and a fun excursion. If you are looking for a romatic getaway this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your visit, your great photos & lovely review. We are so glad you were even able to catch a few bass off the dock!

Look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Bea Briggs
The Bridgeton House on the Delaware
1525 River Road
Upper Black Eddy PA 18972
610-982-5856 10AM -7PM Information
888-982-2009 10AM -7PM Reservations

"Our favorite Bucks County Inn" Philadelphia Magazine
Celebrating our 31th year of lodging on the Delaware

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I had the very rare opportunity to get away for the weekend! We picked The Bridgeton as it had fantastic reviews. Very clean and cozy and the everyone there was so friendly. The specials for breakfast were delicious! A great big HI to Claire and Justin and everyone!!
A big THANK YOU to Diane for being so helpful with our reservations! FYI, we ate our "romantic" dinner at Matt's Red Rooster Grill (about a 20 minute drive). This is by far the most delicious meal we have had in either forever or a really long time! Five circles for our weekend away!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 mainly because we have a king size bed at home and wanted one away also. This wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancini609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay in the Delaware Suite. Loved the room with a nice screened in porch and great view. Very well kept and turn down service was a nice touch. We are very familiar with the area having stayed at numerous B&B's in Bucks County. We had dinner in New Hope the first 2 nights at amazing places. Tastebuds and Zoubi. Last night was a bit of a disappointment at the Black Bass Hotel. Just a word of caution to anyone not familiar with the area. When driving at night the roads are very dark, winding and narrow. The trip from the Inn to the New Hope area is a bit of a drive.
Just want to give a shout out to Claire and the staff at the Inn. It was a pleasure meeting you all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My fiance and I love the Bridgeton House and there are so many reasons why. Here are just a few: 1) the property is gorgeous. There are numerous outdoor nooks to curl up with a book, lounge on the dock, prepare for a dip in the river etc. 2) The rooms are charming. Though I haven't stayed in all of them, I have seen them all and they all have their own personality and perks. You know how some B&B-types make their rooms sound great but then you arrive and they are...disappointing? That is NOT something that will happen at the Bridgeton House. Rooms are lovely. 3) The staff. The inkeepers are so friendly, accomodating, interesting people. Breakfast, by the way, is worth getting up for because it is low-key but delicious.

There's so much more to say, but the basic message is this: Bridgeton House is fantastic, a real gem. I've never had a bad experience there yet!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeofThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Black Eddy
15.5 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
16.0 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
248 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Washington House Hotel
The Washington House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sellersville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
12.5 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeton House on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeton House on the Delaware

Address: 1525 River Road, Upper Black Eddy, PA 18972-9759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Upper Black Eddy
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Black Eddy
Price Range: $201 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bucks County, PA's unique riverfront Bed & Breakfast Inn offering fine lodging only 20 minutes north of historic New Hope, PA in Upper Black Eddy, PA. Beautifully situated on the banks of the Delaware River, Bridgeton House Country Inn is decorated in a sophisticated artistic style with sumptuous feather beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, balconies, french doors and river views. A romantic getaway with corporate meeting practicality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeton House On The Delaware Hotel Upper Black Eddy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing