We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better the second time around!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgeton House on the Delaware

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better the second time around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have stayed at the Bridgeton House twice, once in October of '08 and most recently after the hurricane at the end of August/beginning of September 2011 and loved our stay even more. We really would have liked to add an extra day to our stay, but we had to be home for my Mother's 86th birthday! We stayed 3 nights in the garret room on the third floor with a great view of the Delaware river and after a wonderful breakfast delivered to our porch, spent the mornings walking the Delaware canal towpath or walking through Ringing Rock Park. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff were very accommodating and always friendly and courteous. I am looking forward to our next visit...maybe a winter stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side are wonderful. The Garret room was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    47
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
314
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the "River Suite" on a nice early-autumn weekend, and found the whole experience very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts (which they will deliver to your room for a small extra charge) were quite good. A bit on the sweet side, maybe, but that's not uncommon for B&B's. The afternoon tea and sherry were a nice touch, as was the free coffee/tea/soda station in the front lobby. Not a whole lot in the way of common areas, but we rarely use those in any event. It was lovely to sit outside and watch the river roll by as the afternoon sun lengthened. The price reflected the fact that Upper Black Eddy is at the very northern edge of the Delaware river area that includes Frenchtown, Stockton, Bucks County, etc. In other words, it was on the expensive side but even so just a touch cheaper than the best B&Bs further south.

One or two nits. The description of the River Room says it has a "queen-sized" bed, and it is not. It is clearly only a full. Queen-sized beds are 60 inches wide, and this was closer to 53 or 54. Those six inches make a difference whe you have two full-sized (no pun intended) adults. The "Jacuzzi for two" might be for two children, but again, not two regular-sized adults, at least not if you want to actually use it together. If you really want a view of the Delaware from your room, rather than mostly a view of the parking lot, it's probably best to choose one of the rooms on the higher floors.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taxman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmenia, Owner at Bridgeton House on the Delaware, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our inn, we appreciate all the nice things you said about our hardworking, friendly, helpful staff & our riverfront property!

We are glad that you enjoyed our room service breakfast & that you partook in our wonderful afternoon tea, cheese spreads, homemade cakes & sherry. One of our favorite things is to sit on the porch & watch the sun go down along the river, we are glad you found the time to relax & take in our view! It is true that the higher the floor, the better the view, our favorite is the Penthouse, with a wrap around deck & non stop views!

We did want to address a few things that you mentioned. One is the bed in the River Suite. It is indeed a queen size bed. All the bedding is queen size & just to be positive I went in & measured it, it is 60 inches wide. We are sorry that you found this size too small, but it is as advertised, a queen size bed. We do not have full sized beds on the property. We do have many rooms with king size beds & these would perhaps be a better choice for you.

Regarding the tub, the manufacturer lists it as a 2 person tub, but it is not the largest of our 2 person tubs. We are sorry that you found this size too small, but it is as advertised, a 2 person tub. It would be good to note that this room features 2 tubs, one in the bedroom & one in the bath. If you join us again, we would be happy to help you choose a room with larger sized amenities.

Regarding our breakfast we do serve a balance of eggs, omelets, savory & sweet dishes. Each menu offers multiple choices of sweet & savory each day, we are sorry that you choose the sweeter side & it was not to your liking. Chef Pat's Panini with asparagus, tomato, bacon & provolone was a big hit this weekend, as well as a her roasted tomato & squash fritters, yum!

The next time you visit our beautiful area do call & let us help you pick a room best suited to your needs. Autumn in Bucks County, along the river really is a wonderful time to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

OK, maybe it's not really fair to judge a place by the penthouse room but I'm going to anyway. After all, I didn't book the penthouse to start with, but only decided to splurge when I arrived 3 hours before check-in and wanted to settle into a room, work through some e-mail traffic and watch the market tank. The penthouse room was the only one available for check-in at the time. So I took it.

If you like an entire wall of glass with an unobstructed view of the Delaware, you will like this room. How about a wraparound porch with space for twenty? Maybe an electric awning over your (pseudo) wicker comfortable outside lounge chairs and ottomans? Large interior space with work/dining table, leather recliners, big closet area, refrigerator, separate tub and shower, nice but not great bed and the usual other amenities. But the fact is even though the weather was overcast and sometimes rainy during the two days of our stay, we never really got past the first part of this paragraph. Particularly at night, rain or shine, it has to be the best view on the Delaware.

We looked in on some of the other rooms while there and they are nicely done, many with nice Delaware views, but pretty dark. You would say cozy in the winter. Can't get away from that in an old building like this.

Breakfast is included and after you have it, you won't need lunch. The choices among eggs, omlettes, breakfast meats, waffles etc. are vast and uniformly good.

This is a nice place and it delivers exactly what it purports to. Nothing much happening in Upper Black Eddy (or Milford for that matter on the NJ side), but sometimes that's the point and it's an easy and scenic drive down to Frenchtown, Lambertville and New Hope. But you just might be tempted to spend much of your time up in the penthouse grooving (for those who remember the term) on the Delaware.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Cute place right on the river. The food was really the best. Flowers on the plate and my toast was cut in hearts! Great sweets in the afternoon. Went to a place they reccomened for dinner. The Black Bass Hotel and it was really enjoyable. Very cute area

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, not good with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank com4table
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We went to the Bridgeton house for a night away from the kids. Very cozy room, friendly atmosphere, walking distance to restaurants and cute town, great just to take a walk over the bridge, sit on the dock, sit on our balcony. 5 minutes from where we went kayaking on the river that day. It was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: I would stay during the week, seems like it might get a little crowded on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natedogg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was a wonderful spot for a romantic getaway on my birthday. We booked the boathouse, and it really couldn't have been better. It had a private entrance and private garden overlooking the bridge and the river. The room was absolutely quaint and adorable with its exposed beams and too many other architectural details to name. The kitchen was cute as a button. Breakfast was delicious and the service was outstanding. I'd highly recommend this inn for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the boathouse. It is private and beautifully appointed. The view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renov8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were greeted by a friendly and wonderful staff. Tea and cookies were served and the sherry was an added treat!! The breakfast was fantastic! The view from our window was magical of The Delaware River. We ate an incredible meal at the Golden Pheasant Inn.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angellena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Black Eddy
16.0 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
15.3 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
15.5 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Grand Eastonian Hotel & Suites
18.8 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
12.5 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeton House on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeton House on the Delaware

Property: Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Address: 1525 River Rd, Upper Black Eddy, PA 18972-9759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Upper Black Eddy
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Black Eddy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bucks County, PA's unique riverfront Bed & Breakfast Inn offering fine lodging only 20 minutes north of historic New Hope, PA in Upper Black Eddy, PA. Beautifully situated on the banks of the Delaware River, Bridgeton House Country Inn is decorated in a sophisticated artistic style with sumptuous feather beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, balconies, french doors and river views. A romantic getaway with corporate meeting practicality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeton House On The Delaware Hotel Upper Black Eddy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing