We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish the hostess was as nice as the gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inne at Watson's Choice
Ranked #1 of 2 Uniontown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wish the hostess was as nice as the gardens”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We thought that the hospitality at a bed and breakfast, particularly at a pricey one, was supposed to make you feel like family. We did feel like family, but family of the wrong sort: poor cousins mooching an uninvited stay, or surly jobless teenagers coming back from college.

Our host Bill was perfectly pleasant, but our hostess Nancy welcomed us with a stern lecture on the rules. No smoking, no bubblebath, no opening the windows (it turned out the AC was broken too) turn off the lights when you leave, doors locked at midnight, and absolutely no smoking (even though we already said we didn't smoke the first time). We asked if there were times she would like us to be out of the room for housekeeping, and she told us to read the rulebook she left. We asked if she could recommend some things to do in the area and she told us to look at their website. We asked about the county fair we had seen advertised and she scoffed at our interest and told us it was already over, even though it still had two days to go. We found pamphlets for a local winery with an out of date calendar of events and asked if she had any that were up to date. She suggested that we call the winery. We apologized after arriving 15 minutes late for breakfast and it was not entirely clear whether she was joking when she suggested that we make up for it by helping to clean the dishes. After asking the host's permission we fed some apples to the cows at the neighboring farm, and when she found out she scolded us because she heard of a cow that died after eating a bushel of apples.

We thought that our age (25) might have had something to do with it, but another pair of retirement age guests described her as "intense" and one guest was annoyed that she would not permit him to smoke a cigar even at the furthest end of the garden.

The facility was very nice, especially the garden, but our hostess's behavior sucked all the romance out of our anniversary weekend. We headed out for our daily adventures tense and fuming and snuck back in anxiously hoping not to be seen. We half expected to hear her knock at the door at night to check that us kids weren't getting up to anything inappropriate in the bridal suite, and the mood was spoiled so effectively that we didn't.

I can imagine a stay at the Inne at Watson's Choice being very pleasant, but ours wasn't.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Hostess
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank NickMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    27
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Great little hideaway just outside of Uniontown, PA. Great rooms, all with private bath and wonderful porches where you can rock in their rocking chairs and let it all go by. Beds were more than comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and made a great start to the day.

About a half hour from Fallingwater... the Frank Lloyd Wright house built in the late 30's.

  • Liked — Perfect setting for a restful weekend away
  • Disliked — nothng... it was great....
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed in the Pineapple Room... It was smaller than we thought but it was nice and clean. We had asked to have wine and cheese upon our arrival... the cheap rose wine came in a cheap ice bucket and the cheese on a plain plate covered in saran wrap. The shower came with a soap dispenser... the same kind you would find in a public bathroom at a rest stop. There was no shampoo and they really skimped on the amenities. And there was a tip envelope for housekeeping... so tacky.

HOWEVER, the grounds were meticulously cared for and were absolutely lovely... down to the rocking chairs on the porch. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. Seriously. Even the continental breakfast was filling and impressive. The room came equipped with guest reviews on restaurants in the area along with their menus which was very helpful. And the Innkeeper gave us a handy map to help us navigate through the town.

Overall, a pleasant experience with a few nits.

  • Liked — The Grounds and the Breakfast
  • Disliked — The Shower Stall with the Soap Dispenser
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atropos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Stayed at the Inne during our visit to the area to visit Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Everything at the Inne was immaculately clean and decorated with care and attention to detail. The bed was comfortable and this was the most quiet public accommodation in which we have ever stayed. Spacious courtyard with many private seating areas, outdoor summer house in case of rain, cozy dining room with very organized food delivery of wonderful breakfasts. Bill and Nancy were available for any needs and problems and we felt right at home. We stayed in the adjacent Harvest House which had modern conveniences and nice-sized rooms and it still felt like being in part of the main country inne. I would highly recommend this Inne for anyone visiting the Uniontown area, or just wanting a delightful, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Very nice B&B. Our room was very quiet and the king size bed was great ( most rooms have queen size only). Small fridge outside rooms for items you may want to refrigerate. No tv in rooms-but numerous areas to sit and read or drink wine ( they have openers and wine glasses-you supply the wine). Relaxing area-close to small town so you can go eat or get snacks and eat at the inn. Quieter in back area overlooking field-- front porch with swing is very nice but you will hear cars driving by-- but not too many. Breakfast was very good. Must see Falling Water if you are in area- it was a very good tour.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank larklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Inne at Watson’s Choice is a true gem! Just spent 4 fabulous nights at this charming inn. The location is lovely - with a large patio overlooking a series of fields - great for watching the sunset. The rooms are impeccable - well appointed with lovely little touches throughout. The common areas are comfortable and supplied with a nice assortment of books and games. And the food was AMAZING. Each breakfast was a delight. Every day we were treated to a different 1st course of fresh fruits, juice, and coffee, and then a luscious entree. One day we had zucchini frittatas, on another light and fluffy blueberry pancakes with local maple syrup.

The proprietors Bill & Nancy are charming and helpful - providing maps and directions to local attractions. Take advantage of their expertise! On our first day I naively said no thanks to directions (I had printed a set off the web) and ended up going the long way up a VERY steep hill. Turned out there was a much easier route.
The inn is just outside of Uniontown, which has gone through a renewal and is quite lovely. Try eating at 30 East Main where they have live music on weekends and a nice wine selection.

  • Liked — Comfortable and beautifully decorated
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Make time for a leisurely breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamanthaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night and it was an absolute perfect ending to our wedding day. Apart from the wonderful service and excellent food, we couldn't get over how ornate and detailed everything was! Down to the pillow you slept on, everything was immaculate. We felt like we were back in time. We would recommend The Inne at Watson's Choice to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniontown
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
550 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uniontown
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Uniontown
8.4 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inne at Watson's Choice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inne at Watson's Choice

Property: Inne at Watson's Choice
Address: 234 Balsinger Rd, Uniontown, PA 15401-6844
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Uniontown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uniontown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inne at Watson's Choice 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Inne at Watson's Choice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing