We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Uniontown
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I took our 3 and 4 year old nephews to stay for a night and play in the pool. For $126, I expected a lot more. The lobby was being refurbished, and the hotel made that clear which we appreciated. But, they didn't say the whole first floor was- including the hallway to the pool. There were workers, tools, debris that we had to navigate with 2 little kids in flipflops.
My biggest disappointment was, because of the endless rules, the kids didn't have any fun at the pool. The young man who signed us in wanted to know the ages of the boys because there were restrictions on what they could do. Again, the kids were 3 and 4. When told that, he said they couldn't use the hot tub. The age restriction on the hot tub was 12 and above. I then realized he didn't have a clue about little kids.

Because our room was quite crowded, we were going to have pizza at the pool area where there were nice tables set up. We had done this in other hotels where we'd stayed before. But, we saw the sign "No Food". The kids couldn't even have a snack - a cookie or chips would have been nice.

And finally, the biggie. NO JUMPING. In order to get in the pool, you had to walk down the steps in the shallow end, or slide in. We had seen the No Jumping sign, but figured that meant no running( another understandable rule) and jumping in or cannonballing. But no, that meant you couldn't stand on the side of the pool and jump in the water. So, my husband and I got yelled at because we were encouraging the boys to jump in -they were wearing swimmies- to get them comfortable in the water. We were the only ones in the pool so there was no chance they were going to land on someone. I've been an elementary teacher for 38 years, so believe me when I say, we would not have been doing that if we actually believed the rule to be you couldn't get in the water by jumping. They say the rules are for safety, but I think it's probably because the facilities are also used by people who buy memberships. There were several older people at the pool on Sunday morning swimming, reading newspapers, socializing. I'm sure they wouldn't appreciate a bunch of loud kids splashing around.

The room was okay. Nothing special. It was a bit dated and the bathroom grout was a bit nasty. The beds were quite comfortable and there was free internet. Other than the pool rules, everyone else from the front desk clerk to the breakfast ladies were very nice. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herekittyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear valued Guest:
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate you and your family coming to visit, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you all experienced. Our pool rules are enforced to ensure that all of our guests have a safe experience and we again apologize that they did not meet your needs. Our remodel is necessary to keep our Hampton Inn up to date on the Hampton Brand Standards. We hope to have another chance to provide a great stay for you all. Thanks again for your feedback.
Regards,
Shawnee Sloboda AGM
Hampton Inn Uniontown PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    129
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
207
139
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter in February. Loved looking at the falling snow while relaxing in the hot tub! Very nice recreation area--large pool and sauna (which was out of order at the time) and exercise room. Room and bathroom were a nice size and very clean. Undergoing some renovation in the lobby area. Conveniently located across from a mall so there are plenty of chocies for restaurants--some locally run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeSHillsboroMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at one of four different Hilton properties in three different states for 7 out of the last 11 nights. I like Hilton properties, am a Diamond member and have been for years, and I want to be able to write a good review, but . . .
I thought the rooms were clean, but as other posters have noted, the bathroom grout and caulk is mildew stained which gives it the appearance of uncleanliness. The tub/shower, wallpaper etc appeared to have been updated, but the tile floor really should be replaced. The dresser in the bedroom had drawers that kept falling open into the path one needed to walk to leave the room/get to the bathroom. The front desk staff, breakfast hostess, and housekeeping were all extremely friendly. We visited the pool three on three days, two out of the three days were fine - when a man and a middle aged woman were working there. The pool has A LOT of rules posed ALL OVER in CAPITAL LETTERS. Some are hard for kids to remember (no jumping into the pool, I understand no diving, but no jumping is not the norm). The two employees I mentioned enforced the rules, but we friendly about it, offering kids pool toys to play with as an alternative, etc. One younger heavyset female employee was surly at best. Fortunately one of her friends came for a visit and she and her friend sat under a sign that said NO FOOD and ate for about 45-60 minutes (I guess the rules don't apply to her). Then her friend stripped down to a bathing suit to enjoy the facilities and the woman went back to her surly enforcement of the written and her own unwritten rules. Unfortunately, all it takes is one person to taint the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
First I would like to thank you for this review, it has enlightened us to some additional training and educating that is needed for some employees.
It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectaions, but please let me try to explain, the flooring in the bathrooms, yes is older, however the issue is not mold, but black caulking used that is now worn.
The issue with the drawers in your room I have passed on to our maintenance staff to be on the look out for, as well as our housekeepers.
The employee that was eating back at the spa area along with their friend, has been addressed with them and disciplinary actions taken.
The rules, are in place for the safety and well being of all guests, and I can only apologize that you felt them to be offensive.
Again, thank you for the review and please if ever in the Uniontown area again, we would certainly like a second chance.
Best regards,
Shawnee Sloboda, AGM
Hampton Inn Uniontown PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff was excellent—warm, friendly, and helpful. The room was clean and comfy, the complimentary breakfast was generous and tasty, and the free internet was quick and easy to access. Add warm cookies and snacks for the road and you’ve exceeded our expections!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It is great to hear that the Hampton Inn Uniontown, not only displayed Hamptonality, but we exceeded it.
We thank you so very much for this very kind review. It is reviews like yours that let us know that our staff is spreading Hamptonality.
We again thank you, and hope that if ever in Uniontown again we will be your choice for your stay, and will then get to experience our new Perfect Mix Lobby and Jump Start Fitness Center.

Warmest regards,

Shawnee Sloboda, AGM
Hampton Inn Uniontown, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Would recommend staying at the Hampton Inn, in Uniontown, PA. No surprises...comfortable bedding, hot breakfast, 24 hr coffee, free internet. Just like home. The only inconvience was, they were remodeling their business center and I could not print my boarding pass, but the front desk, offered theirs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you for your kind words about the Hampton Inn Uniontown. I greatly appreciate your understanding that our remodel will only enhance your next visit to our facility.
I also am veru glad that my staff was still able to accommodate your need to print.
We again thank you for this kind review, and hope that if your travels bring you back to the Uniontown area you again will choose the Hampton Inn Uniontow.
Best regards,
Shawnee Sloboda AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Would call this an average Hampton. Stayed here when visiting Ohiopyle area and it's really convenient, about 20-25 minutes away. Not updated as some of the Hamptons in larger metro areas, but still a nice place to stay. Think the price could come down a bit for the condition and area. Even with AAA discount I think it was a little pricey. Would stay here again if able to get a better price...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onth3rdagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First let me thank you for this kind review of the Hampton Inn Uniontown. It is unfortunate that you stayed with us prior to our renovation getting under way. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to our area to again enjoy the beauty of Ohiopyle State park, and you will be able to see our newley renovated lobby, breakfast area and fitness center, along with the addition of a new business center.
Again thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again.
Best Regards,
Shawnee Sloboda, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Comfortable motel with attentive, personable staff who go out of their way to ensure that their guests receive top-notch service. Great value, given the room accommodations and complete breakfast. Clean, tidy, well equipped. Mitsubishi heater is very efficient and easy to control. Recommend A+ R.A. from Mechanicsburg, PA 12-23-2012

Room Tip: First floor room was remarkably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for the gracious review you posted about us on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear good feedback, that our hotel and staff are meeting travelers expectations.
We hope that if you are ever in the area again from Mechanicsburg that the Hampton Inn will be your choice to stay. Again we thank you. Best regards, Chandra Sloboda AGM Hampton Inn Uniontown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniontown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#6 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uniontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Uniontown
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
21.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Uniontown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Uniontown

Property: Hampton Inn Uniontown
Address: 698 West Main Street, Uniontown, PA 15401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Uniontown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Uniontown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Uniontown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn hotel is located less than a mile away from the Uniontown Mall in Uniontown, PA - located near several historical, sightseeing and shopping attractions, about 50 miles away from Pittsburgh. Our hotel is less than one mile from The Sisters of the Order of St. Basil the Great, and only 10 miles away or less from: the Forbes State Forest, Fort Necessity, Laurel Caverns, Mt. Saint Macrina and Searights Tollhouse. And we're 16 miles away from the Lady Luck Casino. Hotel amenities for guests include free in-room WiFi, free hot breakfast, an indoor pool with hot tub, fitness center, and on-site convenient store (beer/wine available). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Uniontown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Uniontown Hotel Uniontown
Uniontown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing