We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient, but dated and overpriced for what it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Uniontown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when we made a family trip to Pittsburgh (rerouted after our trip to NYC was put on hold due to Hurricane Sandy), and we bought tickets for a performance of the Flying Karamazov Brothers linked from the website of the Pittsburgh classical music radio station before we realized that the venue was some 45 minutes outside Pittsburgh, in the hills. So, we decided to overnight at a local hotel, rather than trying to drive around in the dark in the hills at somewhere we'd never ever been.

This place was decent. It was spotlessly clean. And the staff are clearly efficient and care.

However, the propertty is clearly dated and worn out. The drawers on the furniture (all of which was fiberboard put-it-together-yourself stuff) kept sliding out. The rugs were old, stained and smelled kind of funky. The temperature in the pool room was well below where it should be -- you kind of have to keep the pool area warm, you know.

Bu for all that, the place was quiet. And the rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean.

It's what it is is -- an older Hampton Inn in a little old town, where they do manage to care and keep the place clean.

What I didn't understand was the price for this place. For an older Hampton Inn in the middle of nowhere, they charged $175 a night. Really? I mean, really?

Well, I dunno. Maybe the other places to stay are so crappy that this place can charge that. But for everyone who has an option for staying at, I dunno, some other Courtyard or Garden Inn or something like that within easy driving distance -- you'll be better off for that option.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolietJakeBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Uniontown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 566 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent one night here for a WVU football game. Check-in was super efficient, although I was worried about a first floor room near the elevator on a Saturday night (post-game celebrations). The room was super clean and the stay was very uneventful, which is exactly what we wanted. The breakfast was good; the hostess was very friendly and accomodating. Price was higher than normal for Hampton Inn, but that's what you get when you come to town and demand out-numbers supply for football game visitors. This is another great Hampton Inn property!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnermommyto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

We want to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn in Uniontown for your stay for the football game. The response you gave us is truly appreciated, and we are so glad that our facility and staff made your stay enjoyable.
We hope that if you make your way back to this area the Hampton Inn in Uniontown will again be your choice.

Best regards,

From the entire staff at the Hampton Inn in Uniontown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Check-in was quick and efficient, the staff friendly.The front lobby was clean and inviting.

The corridors, however, had an off stale-cigarette smell. The bathroom in our room had very little counter space, but the real turnoff in the bathroom was the towels. They were very thin and unappealing, the sort one finds in places where there is concern about theft of linens and such. When we arrived, the towels were still damp from the dryer. I did mention my concern about the towels at checkout.

I want to commend Hampton Inn for its Take Care Commitment to the environment, which includes using paper products which have post-consumer recycled material and reducing plastic bag use. The complimentary toiletries are 99% natural, biodegradable in recyclable packaging. However, I saw no recycle bins for paper or bottles/cans.

This hotel served as a nice base for our stay in the area to view Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the front desk staff did recommend a locally owned place when I asked. We would definitely return to this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

While on a road trip, we spent one night at this hotel and were disappointed. The bathroom floor wa so dirty the majority of the grout was green and black and we definitely kept shoes on while walking around on the carpet. I am a Hilton Honors Diamond level traveler and stay in all sorts of Hilton properties. This is one I would not recommend. It needs a major update and overhaul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLkams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay with us along your road trip. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I have shared your concern about the flooring in your room with our housekeeping staff and we are working to prevent this from happening in the future. I wanted to explain to you that back in 2005 the management at the time made the decision to dye the grout in the bathrooms to black, it has faded and caused the current condition, but be assured the floors are cleaned and we are working on a solution. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Best regards,
Shawnee Sloboda AGM
Hampton Inn Uniontowm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times while working in the area. This is by far the best accommodations in Uniontown. The staff is very, very friendly towards guests and they always let me check in early. The hotel is super clean, possibly one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The rooms are a good size, however they seem to be slightly dated compared to other Hamptons that have been recently upgraded. The new flat screen TV’s are a nice touch! The bathrooms are large, and are stocked well. Breakfast is always hot, and appetizing. The area is well stocked, and attended. Like other Hamptons, the bags to go are always a nice touch. One thing I did notice is that I no longer get the USA today on my room door in the morning as a Hilton Honors member. I briefly looked up and down the hallways and there wasn’t a newspaper in sight, so maybe this is a policy change.

A little room updating would really make this place the cats meow!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harliqu1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I honestly don't know why this hotel has only 2.5 stars....Should be reassessed! Our stay of two nights could not have been better! Everything was impeccably clean! The queen size beds were SOOOO comfortable. Everything was clean and soft and white! The duvet covers are fresh and clean with all the other wonderful linens...for EVERY new guest! A huge plus!!! And the pillows were heavenly! The whole bed was heavenly. The bathroom was large, well stocked with soft and absorbent towels; the shower was great, and as mentioned, all was impeccably clean! The breakfast was wonderful, and the staff were all helpful and lovely. Could not have asked for more! Well run hotel with obvious respect and care for each employee from owners/management! Bravo!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etgarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee S, Manager at Hampton Inn Uniontown, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We could not be more pleased that your stay with us was a wonderful expierence.
We appreciate that you noticed the pride that the entire staff takes in our little hotel.
It is nice to see that the Hamptonality we feel we posses is not unnoticed.
We hope that if your travels bring you back to Uniontown, that The Hampton Inn will be your choice to stay.
Thank you again for your wonderful sentiments.

Best regards,
Shawnee Sloboda AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. We had reserved two King size suites but once we arrived we asked if we could get adjoining rooms. Beverly told us that she would do her best because they were fairly booked for the weekend. She worked it out so that we kept one king suite that adjoined with a double queen room.
Being a germ a phob makes staying in hotels a less than pleasant experience. But this hotel was VERY clean. The duvets are changed with every new traveler and when were leaving we saw the cleaning crew changing out the shower curtains and using a special brush to dust off light bulbs. I didn't feel the need to wear slippers the whole time or drape the sofa in a sheet.
The front desk was very helpful in providing directions to our destination and the staff around the hotel were friendly, kind and made me feel like we were personal guests in a place they were proud to work in.
Only draw back for us was no fridge or microwave. With children who have food allergies, we must prepare their food ahead of time and heat it in a non contaminated appliance. We took our own microwave in, it it was a bit of a hassle. Other than that it was a MOST ENJOYABLE stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniontown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Uniontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uniontown
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
10.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Uniontown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Uniontown

Address: 698 W Main St, Uniontown, PA 15401-2648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Uniontown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Uniontown
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Uniontown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn hotel is located less than a mile away from the Uniontown Mall in Uniontown, PA - located near several historical, sightseeing and shopping attractions, about 50 miles away from Pittsburgh. Our hotel is less than one mile from The Sisters of the Order of St. Basil the Great, and only 10 miles away or less from: the Forbes State Forest, Fort Necessity, Laurel Caverns, Mt. Saint Macrina and Searights Tollhouse. And we're 16 miles away from the Lady Luck Casino. Hotel amenities for guests include free in-room WiFi, free hot breakfast, an indoor pool with hot tub, fitness center, and on-site convenient store (beer/wine available). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Uniontown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Uniontown Hotel Uniontown
Uniontown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing