We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Altoona(Altoona)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Altoona)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$58
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
203
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate collegestony pointhome away from homehouse is beautifulrich historyplace to staycentral pennsylvaniaother guestsrailroadaltoonacomfortprivacypsu
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 205 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at Stony Point for our son's graduation from Penn State. It is geographically close - less than 1/2 hour to State College. It is a world away from crazy loud uncomfortable hotels where you are squashed with strangers. My family took all the bedrooms in the main house. It is just lovely. Paul helped us to feel comfortable and at home. I highly recommend it for a weekend away with family or friends, or when visiting State college.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and some have a private bath.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a great place to stay and Paul is the best innkeeper we've met among the B&Bs we stayed in from coast to coast over the last 2-3 decades. It felt like a welcoming comfortable stay with a friend. This is the place I will pick to stay when I visit family in the area in the future. Thanks for a great stay, Paul!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our host Paul was ready to handle all our needs - from a variety of ages in our group to dietary requirements. Such a fantastic house with an interesting history. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Myself and several other railroad industry professionals stayed at Stony Point before attending a conference in Philadelphia. This was a great place to stay, as it allowed us to visit the Horseshoe Curve and several other railroad historical sites over the weekend. We enjoyed the fact that Stony Point B&B has some railroad history of its own, as it was built by a Pennsylvania RR executive (they even used boards from old railcars for floor supports in the basement)! At the end of the weekend we picked up the Amtrak to Philly directly from Tyrone - very convenient. Thanks for everything Paul!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Last week my husband and I were guests at Stony Point for three nights, and for the most part had the place to ourselves. What a great experience, and Paul was such a wonderful host! He made us feel right at home and treated us like friends. Stony Point is a beautiful, and well kept place. The history and details of the building are interesting and unique. Hiking around the property was so peaceful, and you wouldn't know that town was right over the hill. Paul is also an excellent cook; pancakes and quiche were tasty! I don't know how he does it all! I couldn't stop taking pictures. Thanks, Paul. Hope to see you there again.

Room Tip: They were all gorgeous.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews