We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful and rejuvenating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyrone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tyrone B&B and Inns
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“restful and rejuvenating”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Stony Point Bed and Breakfast is a historic gem. I have stayed in another Bed and
Breakfast in Tyrone, but the Stony Point Bed and Breakfast far surpasses it. My sister and I stayed five nights, while we were in Tyrone settling our Aunt's estate. It was such a relief to return to Stony Point each evening to our clean, cool, quiet rooms. Paul, the innkeeper, could not have been more hospitable, and we left feeling like we had acquired a new friend that we would like to visit again and again. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We toured the entire house and all of the rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2shag_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
61
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Innkeeper (Paul) went above and beyond our expectations to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. When he found out we were coming to participate in a local cycling race, he inquired about my desired pre-race breakfast to make sure I had everything I needed and even cleaned out space in the garage for me to store/clean/repair my bikes!

My wife and I had the 3rd floor bedroom all to ourselves, but were able to tour all of the rooms. The setup of the house is great for families or friends traveling together as well as couples looking for a romantic getaway. We really enjoyed sitting on the beautiful porch in the mornings and evenings - such a peaceful setting! We already plan on coming back next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms were large and very clean. You really can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were absolutely delighted with our visit beyond expectations! We originally hoped to stay in Altoona, but were too late. So glad that we didn't! Our innkeeper Paul was not just gracious and hospitable, but contagiously passionate about ensuring our comfort and making us feel completely at home. Freshly-baked scones with cream sauce awaited us for our late arrival at 9:30 pm. Our luggage magically appeared in our rooms. Breakfast was outstanding. He clearly loves having guests and making them want to come back!

The home is a unique historic treasure built by the Pennsylvania RR ninety years ago that Paul loves to show off. If you visit central PA, don't miss this opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macthaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The town is pure Americana, nestled into the Allegheny foothills. The house is beautiful. It's been updated with modern amenities (A/C, flatscreen TVs) but keeps its charm with touches like original wallpaper and moldings. The furnishings are classic and comfortable. We spent time on one of the spacious porches, a perfect place to wait for an early-afternoon spring storm to pass. And yes, the fruit-and-nut-studded monkey bread is as good as other reviewers have said. The innkeepers have done a wonderful job in making this a relaxing getaway.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EricPA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Our family (9 kids, 4 adults) planned on staying here while visiting a local theme park. The innkeeper went way beyond his call of duty in supplying our needs. Superb hospitality! The Stone Mansion had so much old world quality, character & class! Highly recommend for a couples get away or will easily accommodate a larger group as ours. Looking forward in staying again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Like so many reviews already posted, our stay was equally enjoyable. Paul was gracious and a fantastic cook. Warm scones and tea welcomed us upon our afternoon arrival and the breakfast was scrumptious. Paul went above and beyond his inn keeper role and invited our family members for breakfast. For so many reasons, this gesture was incredibly thoughtful. We are appreciative and will return!
K. W. Lui
St. Paul, MN

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A friend and I recently stayed here....he was traveling for business and I decided to join him to bicycle a few of the nearby Rails to Trails. The building is a grand old stone home that hasn't been "remuddled". The original details are still respected and loved. Our second floor room was so pleasant. Our windows looked out into the treetops and we came away rested and renewed.
To say that the Inn is clean is an understatement. Paul actually polishes the light-bulbs. He was also attentive to the smallest detail. He realized after one breakfast that we preferred high protein and he actually tailored our meals with him to reflect that.
The feeling was warm and personal but not overly so. It was just right.
We loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyslipperRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrone
9.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
9.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
799 reviews
15.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
447 reviews
13.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1400 North Ave, Tyrone, PA 16686-2019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Tyrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tyrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stony Point Bed and Breakfast is a Greek Revival style home nestled in the hills of Tyrone a small Central Pennsylvania Town. Construction was completed in the 1920's utilizing materials provided by the railroad. For more information on rates and reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing