We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Room, Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caboose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Titusville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caboose Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Titusville
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique Room, Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's a caboose converted to a hotel room! Enough said.

But seriously, this was a fun little room, walking distance to central Titusville. The room was nice, and was perfect for a weekend out in Pennsylvania's oil country.

There's no Internet, basically no 3G cell service, so expect a true getaway.

The only reason I give 4 stars instead of 5, there's little sound proofing, so if anyone is outside of your room you hear every word. Also, the bathroom floor could use a little repair, and the bed isn't that comfy, but otherwise it's a great place.

Room Tip: No curtains in the cupola rooms, so if you want to sleep in choose the ones with bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

i luved everything about it.Some people sorta complain about the mill on the other side of the caboose motel,but i liked it.I like everything about Titusville.The rooms were xpecially clean,well heated and cooled.Hospitality was nice.I felt like i wanted to stay there.I love the trains and all the scenery.

Room Tip: I cant say anything bad bout the rooms, they re all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Level Contributor
152 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

For starters, I travel a lot for work - and with most of my travel throughout the Fall... for months at a time - around the beginning of October I am road weary and ready for a bit of escape, from my routine and from the cookie cutter routine of corporate business class hotels.

I had a late night work evening 2.5 hours away from Titusville, and an event the following morning an hour away from Titusville. SO Titusville was a not only a great stop for the night, BUT I got to sleep in a caboose! How awesome could it possibly get! HAHA

I had made special arrangements to check in late and the plans were exactly as described. I was in caboose #1 closest to the office. The accommodations are not luxurious - but they are comfy, adequate, and....right on track!

The lodging is very very clean - well kept, and loved. The different cabooses are a great piece of history, and the number limited... so if traveling during peak holiday weekends, reserve early!

I really can't wait to go back for a long weekend - to include a train ride! The town itself has a lot of character and I saw several restaurants that I would definitely want to try out on a return trip.

I was in a king bed caboose, and would definitely stay in one again - enough room, comfortable with its own heat and ac - and a ceiling fan.

The mattresses are firm, and the bedding is worn - but very clean, fresh, and bright white.

I slept well, woke up refreshed, and I made it out on time in the morning!

The only negative that I can think of is that since you are inside of a giant metal box, in a rural area... cell phone reception was very bad inside my caboose - but all I had to do was step outside for reception to be great!

Once again - I can't wait to go back for an extended stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Well, what do you really expect, staying in a caboose? The outside is the best - with all of them lined up and looking so unique. Inside is fine - there are double rooms or ones with a king bed, I had the king bed (2 mattresses next to each other). I heard that some rooms (maybe the doubles) didn't have the skylights - and were essentially a long box, but mine had a cupola ceiling with sklights that was quite nice. If you are light sensitive, this may be a problem, as there are lights at night that shine in, but you can dodge them on a big bed.
The room was a reasonable size, with light wood panelling, a very effective and even-sounding temperature system (as opposed to some that make noise when they come on and off), a desk and a bathroom with a shower. The TV was pretty high, so it was hard to see (not adjustable and the reflection was off if viewing from the bed - although I stood up on he bed to watch it for a little bit!).
Wi-fi was advertised, but I understood from others with whom I was traveling that no one had any success with it (I had an alternative way to connect) and the management said that it had been re-set a number of times - but still unavailing.
Easy walk to the Blue Canoe Brewery/restaurant and "downtown" (a small downtown!) and a good, quiet location. So, all in all, fun to try, quite comfortable, but the biggest thrill is from the outside!

Room Tip: Get one with the skylights, if you don't mind a bit of light at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you have a train lover among your travelers, this is the place to stay. The motel, which is owned by the Historical Society, is comprised of railroad cars lined up on tracks. The rooms are very clean, and it is interesting to look at all of the cars. The bed was comfy and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. There is only a shower, but it is in good shape. This is located in an industrial area, as tracks are. There is a manufacturing facility right next door, so you may want to request a room on the opposite side. Even though, the rooms seem to be very well sealed, and we really didn't hear the noise from the factory. The front desk people are very friendly and willing to help in any way they are able.
I would recommend this place for a very unique experience that you can tell people about. I mean really, how many people get to sleep in a caboose?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sullyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowanda, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to go on the Titusville train ride and stayed at the Caboose Motel. It was very cool. The room was very nice & clean. It needed 2 minutes worth of dusting for cob webs but other than that is was very cool. Others wrote about the sun in the am, wow they were right. The tv positioning did (in one word) suck. Bathroom was not a problem. Hey its a caboose, it will be a little small but so what. Just to stay there was really cool to us. How many people can say they have done it. Staff was extremely pleasant and help full. The train ride was very relaxing and also cool. Mostly all trees and greenery but still cool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slikwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were visiting Titusville for a marathon and a weekend trip away. The caboose motel was a great little place. The room was clean. AC worked well. Beds were fairly comfortable. TV worked. We could not get an internet signal, but honestly we really did not mind, especially since we were not in Titusville for business. We were told that the hotel is in the process of switching to a new internet provider at this time because they were not happy with the previous company. Debi, the woman at the front desk, was extremely friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay there again if we visit Titusville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titusville
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Titusville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
13.3 mi away
Days Inn Oil City Conference Center
17.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Riverside Inn
The Riverside Inn
#1 of 1 in Cambridge Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 407 South Perry Street, Titusville, PA 16354
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Titusville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Titusville
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caboose Motel is on the tracks next to our Perry Street Station. Each of the 21 caboose cars has its own heat & air conditioning unit, television and telephone. Deck chairs are provided so you can relax during your evenings in the Oil Region. Located one block from downtown Titusville, and five minutes from Drake Well Museum and the 9.4 Mile Oil Creek State Park bicycle train. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caboose Hotel Titusville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing