We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return trip....excellent”

DelGrosso's Amusement Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tipton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DelGrosso's Amusement Park is located in Tipton, Pennsylvania (10 minutes north of Altoona on I-99). We are a family fun park where tons of Summer fun memories are made. Come spend the day and enjoy our Ride & Water Park. We have over 30 Rides & Attractions. Free Parking, Free Admission. An All Day Fun Pass is needed for entry into the Water Park. DelGrosso's offers 17 picnic pavilions & and a delicious catering menu. If you just want to enjoy some of "America's Best Amusement Park Food" this is the place to visit. Spaghetti Wednesdays are food favorite for many where we feature DelGrosso Pasta Sauces with homemade Italian meals. Your taste buds will also be delighted by our famous "Murf's Potato Salad". We provide high quality food & entertainment at a family friendly price inside a beautiful, family owned park. New for 2016! Guest can splish and splash in our new Lazy River and Wave Pool at Laguna Splash Water Park. The expansion also includes: New Park Office and Ticket Booth, Customer Service Office, Gift Shop, and Three Eateries (Including a Pasta House, Cheesesteak Building, and Grill). All-Day Fun Pass Pricing: May & September - $21.95 June, July, and August - $29.95 2016 Season Pass - $79.95
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return trip....excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Once again we are impressed by DelGrosso's. This year it became a two day trip because we enjoyed it so much but got rained out early last year. Despite the 90 degree temps the seemingly long lines at the water slides kept moving smoothly. The ability to easily move from water side to ride side is made simple with the bridge crossing rt 220. The food didn't increase in price and was good as ever. Read my previous review from July 2012 for things haven't changed that much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    76
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Been to Delgrosso Park many times, starting in the mid-80's, and on to taking my kids at a young age. The children’s area is fantastic, but as the girls have gotten older (now 8 and 10), I don’t like coming here. Compared to Knoebels up the road, it’s marginal. Limited rides, long lines. There is no longer a wrist band option for unlimited rides without the waterpark (I believe there was not so long ago, but might be mistaken). Eighteen bucks is a lot for what the rides alone have to offer. But the kids seem to like it, the food is good and inexpensive, and WHEN CROWDS ARE LIGHT, the waterpark is neat.

Downside: When crowded, and it doesn’t take much, the place is chaotic. The help, mostly young, young kids, are terrible.

Two examples. First, at not one but two ice cream stands. They had a system where you order and get a receipt, then wait. The hard ice cream stand (Gallikers) at least had someone resembling an adult there, but you order, then wait. And wait. And wait. And wait. Orders are messed up, come out in the wrong order, no order numbers. This is especially distracting at the soft ice cream stand. Imagine 20 people waiting and the kid screams “large vanilla.” Our wait for hard ice cream, 25 minutes. Soft ice cream, 32 minutes. The soft ice cream stand was manned by two kids (I’m thinking under 20) who constantly got orders wrong and showed visible anger at those who asked for their orders to be fixed. At no time did a supervisor or anything show up to check this.

Example two: Long line on the “Parratrooper.” A kid throws up. It happens. Young kid (16?) makes a phone call. We wait. Another guy shows up, maybe 20. Assuming he was the supervisor. They painfully walked over, looked at the chair, back to the front to grab paper towels and ammonia spray, Walked slowly back. Talked. Sprayed. Talked, wiped. Talked. More talking. More wiping. Finally walked back. Talked some more at station. When done, the delay had been over 20 minutes.

I consider this ridiculous. A park that used to have friendly help is now staffed mainly by teenagers who don’t care. And I think when the pool is crowded, the eighteen bucks isn’t recouped. Therefore, I can’t join the legions giving good ratings.

Tip: Get a jar of Delgrosso sauce at one of the local grocery stores (usually for a buck) or buy it at the front gate for $1.49. Three dollars off per fun pass.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids. Better than Lake Quasapaug in CT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very very reasonably priced. The food is very good. DelGrosso's also manufactures their own sauces. Very good sauce.
The DelGrossos is worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Familly friendly and reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place for young children. Feels safe and food is reasonably priced. Clean space and friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thequeenbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Amusement Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you have youngerr children, this is a great amusement park. The waterpark is just big enough to be enjoyable and the amusement park has many rides that wil appeal to a younger child, say between 6 and 12 years old. My 3 grandchildren had a great time and best of all there are often substantial discounts available on the tickets. I highly recommend this family friendly park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmorin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DelGrosso's Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to DelGrosso's Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing