We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife totally planned a surprise birthday weekend for me. This was not our first B&B experience but certainly our best yet! We were greeted with the smell of fresh baked goods and given a tour. We originally planned to stay in the Kris Kringle room however the people from the night before loved it so much they stayed another night. We were graciously upgraded to the Rose Room which did not disappoint. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Daniel - Thanks so much for posting a review. We're glad you liked the Rose Room Suite upgrade. all of our rooms are different and some guests like to stay in a different one on each visit! We were happy to take part in your birthday celebration. Here's to a great year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 431 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our second visit to The Artist's Inn and Gallery was every bit as good as the first -- this is now our "go to" place! We had a weekend getaway where we stayed in the house (Kris Kringle Room) rather than The Stone Cottage (our first visit). While the Stone Cottage offers privacy and is perfect for the family getaway (our 10-year old was along on the first visit); the house offers all the charms and love you expect from a first class B&B and is perfect for couples. Jan and Bruce have a beautiful home -- Bruce's artwork and books grace the home while Jan's love of cooking was on full display in the most delicious breakfast my wife and I have ever had in more than 30 B&B stays in PA, MD, and VA. We were once again wowed and will be back again very soon!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Rick - Thanks for staying with us and posting a review. Breakfast is always fun when there's someone as kind and gracious....and FUNNY as you. Loved the stories and can't wait to hear more when you and Lori return. After all, there's more antiques waiting......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday in October and were warmly greeted by Jan. We asked at the time the reservation was made if she could arrange a meal with an Amish family and she did. We had a wonderful time. Her breakfasts served on Friday, Sat. and Sunday were wonderful. Can't think of anything to improve them. For our daily sightseeing, she made many wonderful suggestions. It was a great vacation for the five of us and we would definitely book there again. I purchased one of her husband's paintings which are on display there, and I love it.

Room Tip: The bed in the Kris Kringle Room was not very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Kay - I'm so glad I was able to meet everyone in your group. It is wonderful that the five of you can get away every year. We were happy to accommodate your group from the cottage - and I think the rest of the guests loved getting to know you as well. We are so sorry that you were uncomfortable in the Kriss Kringle bed and wished we would have known while you were here. It is a very firm mattress, and we have a featherbed that we could have placed on top. I often take the featherbed off for the warmer months, but would be happy to put it on anytime. One guest described it as sleeping in a cloud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this weekend. It was our first B&B experience and it did not disappoint! Jan was very kind and showed us all of the extras the Inn had to offer... books, dvds, cds, fresh baked cookies, drinks, etc. whenever you want them. We stayed in the Kris Kringle room and it was very tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and provided a cozy, romantic place for us to stay the night. Breakfast was fantastic... we had great company too! Overall, a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back again. Thanks Jan!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandarin2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Amanda - Thanks for posting! Breakfast was especially fun that morning - such an adventurous group! We're happy to introduce you to the world of bed and breakfasts - each one is as different as the owners, but all offer clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly hosts and great breakfasts. And all innkeepers know the best places to explore, shop, and eat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rented the Olde Stone Cottage for four adults and two small children. Very comfortable and private settings. Close to Amish country sites for browsing, dining, and buggy rides. Hosts are very pleasant and helpful. Kitchen was adequately stocked with basic needs for the weekend. This was our second trip to this site, and we will likely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Jim - thanks for bringing your family back for another stay at our cottage. We hope you liked the improvements since the last time - new fridge, new stove, a piano, and a dishwasher! We're glad you had such nice weather that you could enjoy the back yard too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thinking of visiting southern Pennsylvania's Amish country, book a room at the Artist's Inn, we not only were impressed with the inn which doubles as an art gallery and is completely furnished with antiques, but Jan is an excellent breakfast preparer (cook just doesn't seem appropriate). Each morning we were treated to a three course breakfast which would rival anything you'd find at a five star restaurant. Her knowledge of the area and culture is also helpful for anyone not familiar. Kris Kringle room was very comfortable. Thanks Jan, sorry Bruce had an out of town art show, maybe we can meet him next visit.

Room Tip: Book early, the more people that find this gem will make it harder to get reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Joe - Thanks so much for posting. We're so glad that you and Patti found us - and that we had some fall color for you to enjoy so that you could extend your season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night following 12 days of the big cities (Washington, New York, Boston) and couldn't have asked for a nicer contrast. As a couple of weary Brits on our way back home, this little oasis of calm was just what we needed before the final leg of our journey.

Bruce and Jan made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much effort for them. Their knowledge of the local area was so helpful and the breakfast was simply out of this world. The house is gorgeous and the artwork is brilliant - we liked it so much we bought some!

If we are ever back this way we will certainly be staying longer as there is certainly more to see. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Andy - Thanks so much for posting. After we heard your travel schedule, we were tired too! We love Lancaster County - the scenery relaxes you instantly. Maybe on the next trip you can stay and explore the county a little more - from a hot air balloon, bike or scooter! Glad you arrived home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
10.7 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: $131 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's Inn And Gallery Terre Hill, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing