We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Nearby Hotels
Country Squire Motor Inn(New Holland)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollander Motel(New Holland)
$80
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Amish Country(New Holland)(Great Value!)
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
422
21
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
422
21
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suiterose roomclip cloplancaster countycookie jarhomemade cookiesprivate porchbed and breakfastan amazing cookchristmas themegourmet breakfastjacuzzi tubperfect hostscarriage houserestaurant recommendationshorse and buggyanniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 444 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me start this review with the pertinent information... this was our 13th visit to the wonderful Artist's Inn. During the summer your best bet is to stay in the garden suite, it has a second floor porch with cozy furniture and breathtaking views of the Amish farmland. You really feel like its home, Jan and Bruce always go above and beyond to make every guest feel at home. This trip my daughter and her fiance joined us for a long weekend of antiquing. We visited the Green Dragon flea market, Shuppe's Grove antique market, the Kinzer mud sale and a tons of stores in Adamstown ( the Antique capital of the world). Every night was a(pleasant) challenge to decide on which fab restaurant to dine at. So many choices!!! The trip was so successful we are adding the fiance's parents next year! Another PERFECT trip!

Room Tip: In every room you can hear the clip-clop of the Amish buggies.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindicado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Cynthia - Thanks for writing. You two always find the neatest stuff here....of course my favorite was the Popeye bank. What a treat to have Nick's parents visit too!. Sounds like a good trip planned for next year. We'll look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have traveled a lot but this is my first TripAdvisor review--we had such a wonderful and special experience at the Artist's Inn that I felt compelled to write. My husband, 9 year old daughter, and I stayed for 4 nights in the spacious and charming Garden Suite (thanks for making an exception on the age limit for children!). We didn't know what to expect but quickly fell in love with the beautifully decorated historic house filled with antiques, the gorgeous grounds and gardens, and the quaint and scenic area--it was close enough to get to all of the nearby towns and attractions in 10-30 minutes depending on where we went, yet far enough away from all the crowds, noise, and hustle and bustle. At the end of our hectic days, it was so nice to come back to the peaceful Inn and relax on our own private porch and listen to the clip-clops of the horses and buggies going by--the view was incredible! Jan and Bruce made us feel welcome from the first moment and in no time at all we felt completely at ease and at home, as if we had always been members of the household. The breakfasts were incredible--from the menu to the presentation--and kept us full until dinner. We also enjoyed the lively conversation with the other guests at breakfast and the sense of community that went with the B&B experience. Jan gave us many suggestions for activities and restaurants and even gave us free tickets to a local attraction. We were truly sad to leave when it was time to go home. I cannot say enough good things about this place and hope we can return for a future vacation. Stay and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Elizabeth - it was so much fun to host your family. We love when guests experience a B&B for the first time and are honored that you chose The Artist's Inn. Conversations around the breakfast table are always interesting - and Emma made them fun. We'd love to see Emma at 16 - the boys had better look out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We so enjoyed the Garden Suite with such luxurious bedding, chocolates on the pillow and a really generously stuffed "Lover's Basket." We loved sitting on our own outside deck with coffee. I'll repeat what everyone says, Breakfast is to die for!! Cookies in the cookie jar, snacks in the fridge, helpful recommendations for site-seeing and restaurants. Bruce's art is not to be missed. Jan practices what I like to call radical hospitality. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Sandy - It was so nice of you to visit. I love the term "radical hospitality!" Quite a compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This cottage is beautiful! The antique furnishings are tasteful and practical and comfortable. The jacuzzi and a hi-tech shower are welcome non-antiques. The outdoor garden adds to a very welcoming ambiance.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank artpedgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Peggy - Thanks for your comments about the cottage. It was really fun to decorate, mixing antique finds from nearby Adamstown and new Waverly fabrics. There's a great outlet nearby called the Interior Alternative - they carry some wonderful decorator fabric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had read about the Lancaster area for cycling in a national magazine. Wow were they right, great roads , very scenic Amish farmland.
Bruce and Jan at the Inn are the most amazing hosts! Very friendly and made us feel as if we were long time friends. Breakfast is beyond expectation, we never needed lunch !
it's hard to sum up how wonderful This Inn is and the area , other than simply wonderful

Thank you so much , Ted

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Ted and Lois - We enjoyed your visit very much and were happy to share The Lancaster Bicycle Club's book of rides with you. The ice cream ride is well worth it!! We hope you visit again - you brought us a wonderful week of cool nights, clear skies and warm days - much appreciated in the middle of August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews