We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Home Again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist's Inn and Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Back Home Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Back for our third visit - and it was like going back home again! Innkeepers (friends!) Bruce and Jan are absolutely wonderful hosts. The Inn is warm and welcoming, with the antiques and Bruce's incredible art work everywhere. And the breakfast that Jan serves up is unmatched by anything we've experienced. Terre Hill is a charming small town in PA and on Saturday night and Sunday morning the clippie-clop of the horses hooves going down Main street in front of the Inn takes you back to another time. Highly recommended to all!! Please go, enjoy, relax - you'll never forget the experience!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Garden Suite this time - terrific! Cozy fireplace, a big Jacuzzi, and warm bed took t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Gene and Linda - How nice of you to post a review. We always enjoy our visits with you and especially the breakfast conversation. So glad you enjoyed the Garden Suite this time. It is our guests' favorite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were three women, friends since high school, looking for a nice place to spend a few days after the Christmas rush. The Artist's Inn in Terre Hill, PA provided the perfect venue for a relaxing stay. We reserved the Olde Stone Cottage a few doors down the street from the main house. I had met one of our hosts, Bruce Garrabrandt, at a high end craft show where he was selling his humorous artwork. When I received an email about a special deal he and his wife Jan were offering during the month of January I thought this could be just what we were looking for. And we were not disappointed. The cottage was warm and cozy after a day of antiquing in Amish country and we were greeted by a huge plate of homemade Christmas cookies on the kitchen table. This was only the first of many pleasant surprises. The rooms were nicely decorated in furnishings gleaned from local shops and best of all, the beds were very comfortable and made up with high quality linens. Breakfast the next morning at the inn was as delicious as it was artistically plated. We took some time browsing in the parlor where Bruce's artwork was on display. Jan and Bruce couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. From my first email making inquiries, to stepping off the front porch as we left, they made us feel welcome and comfortable. It was suggested we dine at Lily's on Main in Ephrata which was a delightful experience. Check out the inn's website, which is one of the best I have encountered for answering any questions I had before our arrival and was full of great suggestions - http://www.artistinn.com

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than two people, check out the Olde Stone Cottage or the Carriage Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks, Lynn, for posting such a nice review. We thought it was terrific that the three of you girls could get together and are still close. Sometimes those friendships that we make in high school are the best - especially if they last a lifetime! We're so glad to provide a place like the cottage where you can relax and have time together, but also have your privacy as well. And the cookies - well, you might just say we have a cookie obsession! Glad you liked them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staying at the Old Stone Cottage for our honeymoon was the best way for my wife and I to start our marriage. It was like living in a dream for a week!! Jan and Bruce gave us excellent information regarding things to do and PLACES TO EAT!!! Jan and Bruce admitted to being foodies, so are my new wife and I. I beg anyone reading this to try Stoudt's Black Angus (try the she-crab soup), and also don't leave without going to Lily's on Main in Ephrata (try the duck tenders). We will definitely be spending some anniversaries at the Old Stone Cottage.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay at the Old Stone Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Chris - Thanks so much for posting about the restaurants. Lily's and Stoudt's are two of our favorites and only about 10 minutes from the inn. We're so glad you had a relaxing honeymoon at the cottage and wish you many years of happiness in your new life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Artist's Inn November 2012, and the entire experience was superior from arrival to departure. We have stayed in several BnBs and this was our best yet. From Bruce's way cool artwork adornng the walls of the parlor to Jan's SUPERB breakfast to the outstanding room (we stayed in The Rose Room) and historic character of the building - EVERYTHING was superior. Jan and Bruce are incredibly personable, nice folks and truly made us feel like family and that the Inn was our home for that night. My wife could not believe how comfortable the sheets were, and the complimentary snacks and drinks available in the small guest pantry were a welcome treat.

The Inn is close enough to all the shopping and activities of Lancaster and the area, but off the beaten path and refreshingly quiet.

Highly HIGHLY recommended. You will not be disappointed. We will be back -- and bringing friends! John O, Havertown PA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
John - Thanks so much for posting a review. We really enjoy meeting all the Veterans that stay with us. I well remember that breakfast conversation and wonder if you've kept in touch with Bruce after he went back to Afghanistan. We are looking forward to seeing you and Liz again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times over the past seven years. Jan and Bruce know a lot about the area and are very helpful in finding attrations and great places to eat (goto Johnny's for steak and Lapp Family Farm for fresh ice cream). The rooms are cozy and relaxing, and you'll hear buggies going by as you wake up in the morning. The breakfast is out of this world: a four course meal served on China that will fill you until dinner. Of course, no review of this B&B would be complete without mentioning Bruce's art. Some are of a nice landscape or scene, while others are whimsical and very orginal. We often enjoy browsing the gallery on our way in or out or after the wonderful breakfast. I am going to reiterate the breakfast one last time, as you could easily spend $30-$50 per person at a fine dining establishment and not come close to the service or quality of the breakfasts that are served.

We've always stayed in the Garden Suite, which has a fantastic massage shower and seperate two person jaccuzi tub. We've looked at the other rooms available and are decorated just as comfortably, but we always prefer the Garden Suite because of the massage shower and two person jaccuzi tub.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has a massage shower and two person jaccuzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_and_Becky_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Frank and Becky - Thanks so much for posting a review of our B&B. A lot has changed since you were here six years ago - four moves and three kids!! We're grateful any time you can fit us in when you visit Lancaster County. We're also glad you liked the Garden Suite - it is our most popoular room with guests - for the whirlpool tub and fireplace in the winter and the private porch in the summer. We were glad to provide some nice couple time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It had been several years since my wife and I had first stayed here. We finally had the opportunity to get away and did not hesitate to choose The Artist's Inn. We were treated as though we had just been there by Jan and Bruce. The breakfast was fantastic complete with a custom menu welcoming us back. The rooms are very clean and Jan was a gracious host, providing us a wonderful recommendation for dinner. We highly recommend this B&B and will return again as soon as we can! Jen & Chris

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite this vist and have previously stayed in The Rose Room. Both are wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Jen and Chris - We're honored that you chose The Artist's Inn to return to on your recent getaway. We know how precious time away is and are happy to provide a respite from the daily grind....We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yummy food, dancing flames, great music (YAY Ella), beautiful weather, cozy chairs, the clip-clop of horses, arbor lights, card games, lazy evenings reading, good restaurants, Goggleworks…What a wonderfully relaxing combination! Thank you so much for a great place to decompress. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: The Olde Stone Cottage had plenty of room for the 3 of us on a "girl's weekend." The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Danielle - Thanks so much for posting about your girls weekend. Those are really important and give us the fuel to get back to our lives refreshed! We love the way you captured the "feel" of the cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
15.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's Inn And Gallery Terre Hill, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing