We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Always, Everything was Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As Always, Everything was Perfect”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Bruce and Jan are going to get tired of all of these glowing reviews one day. NOT As always everything about our stay at the Artist's Inn and Gallery were perfect. The beautiful room was immaculate. Jan and Bruce greeted us upon arrival and made sure that we had everything that we needed, including making a dinner reservation for us at exactly the type of restaurant we were looking for, with a coupon to boot. We've stayed at many B & B's and have never met a more personable innkeeper than Jan, or one with a dryer wit than Bruce. Plus Jan has the knack of somehow getting perfect strangers to interact easily over breakfast. Did I mention breakfast? I keep thinking that Jan can't outdo herself with breakfast and she continues to prove me wrong. A homemade fruit bread, followed by a grilled pineapple slice with a dab of vanilla ice cream, followed by a maply sweet acorn squash in it's own half gourd, carrot cake pancakes with homemade cinnamon syrup, and finished off with a homemade coffee cake. I'm still full. I just read that Artist's Inn and Gallery has been voted no. 1 B & B in Lancaster County on Trip Advisor.com and I'm not the least bit surprised. Barb and I can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Bruce - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love sharing our little corner of Lancaster County with you and Barb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
286
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Mu husband and I found this lovely inn back when we first started dating. In fact, we spent our first Valentine's Day here, and it's since become a staple in our mini-getaways.
Jan and Bruce are wonderful hosts, and it's evident through every inch of their cozy and beautiful home. From the scrumptious cookies in the dining room, the mini fridge full of yummy treats upstairs, to the delicious breakfast and stimulating conversations... you truly feel like family when you visit.
After a full day of taking in the sights, hunting for antiques, and enjoying the delicious cuisine of local restaurants... there is no better feeling than sinking into a soft, warm bed in a fireplace lit room. The quiet outside is so refreshing as we come from a busy city that apparently truly never sleeps.
The morning brings a full gourmet breakfast made with the freshest ingredients. Jan is a really phenomenal chef, and we start salivating over the breakfast the second we book the room! It's also wonderful meeting new people, and the conversations are always a delight. Jan and Bruce are very knowledgeable about the area, and are eager to recommend great restaurants, new spots to visits and of course the best antique spots!
All in all, if we don't come down at least once a year, we start getting homesick :) Huge thanks to Jan and Bruce for creating such a wonderful home and sharing it with all of us!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YelenaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We always enjoy your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed a two-night stay at the Artist's Inn. We enjoyed the exquisite breakfasts and the lovely surroundings. We felt welcome and the proprietors treated us with friendly warmth and respect. Our time there was a treat we fondly remember.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Mary Louise - You are only the second person to visit us from Honolulu! We really enjoyed learning about all the different vegetables and fruits that you grow on your farm. Fascinating. Thank you again for the calendar - it hangs on the refrigerator!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Artist's Inn was a wonderful choice for my husband and I for our 24th anniversary. Jan and Bruce have a beautiful home and made us feel so at home.
We had a rose on our bed as a welcome and were treated like family.
The morning after we got home my husband was waiting for one of Jan's breakfasts--I didn't come through! Jan is better than a tour guide-she sent us to
wonderful local places and we found the PERFECT quilt at a reasonable price. We will recommend Artist's Inn to our friends and family to visit anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Mary and Dan - We enjoyed your visit very much. You both have a great sense of humor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

When I was young, anything that was considered excellent, especially if it was considered an excellent surprise, was labeled The Cat's Pajamas. The Artist's Inn in Terre Hill, PA, was for us The Cat's Pajamas. Located in a delightful old house lovingly decorated by Jan and Bruce Garabandt and filled with Bruce's whimsical art work, it provides an ideal setting for a visit to Lancaster County and all that it offers and, if you are like us, offers as well as splendid place to stay while visiting family--in our case, our daughter, son-in-law, and grandchildren.


When we stayed at the Artist's Inn, Bruce welcomed us by bringing in our luggage and showing us to a bedroom that anyone would delight to return to in the evening. Each morning we were offered a breakfast featuring such items as scones, crepes, blackberries and cream, various juices, pastries, and more. Anyone seeking the comforts of a very fine home, the food and fellowship provided by hosts and other guests, and a flow of good conversation should visit the Artist's Inn. I'd like to be able to claim that, since we have visited Terre Hill numerous times in the past, we discovered the Inn ourselves. In fact, our son Kent recommended that we stay there. We in turn highly recommend that anyone else who visits Lancaster County make the Artist's Inn their home for a few days.


Russ and Margaret Rutter

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I'm so glad that you were able to visit your family....my family is scattered across the US, and time with them is so precious. Hopefully the next time you visit, I'll be here and not away at a conference! But I'm glad that Bruce took good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Comfortable rooms furnished with beautiful antiques, a delicious breakfast, and personable hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. This is the perfect place to stay in Lancaster County.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentGeoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you Kent - It was so nice to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I think this is one of the nicest B and B's we have ever stayed at. I know we were served the best breakfasts ever. It's a little off the beaten track but still a very convenient base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We are located in a quiet little town that most people haven't heard of before. But once folks find us, we're grateful that they return again and again! We're so glad that you had a great visit. And, yes, we LOVE LOVE LOVE to cook breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
401 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist's Inn And Gallery Terre Hill, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing