We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stink Bugs Rule Springhill Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stink Bugs Rule Springhill Suites”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My wife,son and I stayed at Springhill Suites for two nights over the Christmas Holidays. We were so exhausted from our long drive the 1st night we pretty much washed and went to bed.The 2nd evening as we were unwinding we noticed a stink bug on the ceiling. As I was removing the bug from the ceiling I noticed about 10 more bugs on the drapes. Upon further inspection of the drapes I continued to find large groups of our new room mates,10-20 per cluster. After removing all visible bugs I called the the front desk to complain and request another room for the night. Jesse, the desk clerk, informed me that he could certainly move us but all rooms in the hotel were currently infested with these stinking pests. Long story short, we checked out, under protest, the next morning after a restless night's sleep. About a week later the manager contacted us,after we left repeated messages, and informed us we would be credited a whole $25 for our inconvenience.Whoopie!!! Although the hotel is new and the staff friendly, our entire outlook of Springhill Suites now stinks. We wish the staff was upfront upon check-in so we could have made alternative plans.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stillers4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
31
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

As most reviewers state, this is a very nice hotel. Those very few who complained clearly had some issues of their own. This is not meant to be a 5* full service hotel, It is good value for the money and provides a pleasant stay. Staff friendly, room comfy and clean, beds comfortable. The breakfast was good (better than some at similar hotels). there are many restaurants (although mostly chains) within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The rooms in this hotel are great. You get a clean and spacious suite. The downside is however the complete lack of normal hotel-facilities (except for the "pool"). There is no restaurant, no bar. The breakfast is very poor. The location is nice, next to a large mall with a Macy's, JC Penneys, Dicks, cinema etc.

I would only suggest to stay in this hotel if you're travelling with young kids. They need to sleep early anyway, leaving you the need to stay in your room. Otherwise: go somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff ideal location for touring/shopping. This was our second stay here and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great staff, clean and spacious rooms, free breakfast and ample free parking. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Spacious and Beautiful. Newer hotel was very friendly. Games for my child at the front desk. The pool was nice. Room was spacious with a partially separated living room. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but not hard either. Very quiet hotel. Didn't hear anyone else. The set-up was perfect for my two year old as she could go to bed while we could go to the living room and talk. Separate shower and toilet room from sink. Free morning breakfast was great with so many choices. Shopping was a breeze as the Pittsburgh Mills mall was within walking distance along with new plazas. Plenty of food choices within walking distance, not even counting the food court at the mall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

After checking in for a several day stay we could not get into the room, nearly 1 1/2 hours later they determined that the battery in the door lock was bad, however there was no one available to change it so we were moved to another room. This other room was next to the ice machine, which cycled every hour all night. Also the first night we learned the hard way that the fridge did not work. (lost several items ) However it appeared that the previous guest had unplugged it because as we learned the second night, that it was noisier than the ice machine. After several unsuccessful attempts to get another room we had to leave for our family event. We tried several times over a three day period to be moved and although everyone at the hotel was polite, no one made any attempt to solve any of the problems. This is not a typical marriott property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarentum
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
2.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
19.1 mi away
Lenape Heights Golf Resort
Lenape Heights Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Ford City
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Address: 3015 Pittsburgh Mills Blvd, Tarentum, PA 15084-3846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Tarentum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Mills Hotel Tarentum
Springhill Suites Tarentum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing