We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Clean, Very Friendly, Great Location, Best in the Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Super Clean, Very Friendly, Great Location, Best in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at this over 2 nights/3days hotel for a weekend event. The hotel is new and very modern, especially when compared to the aging run-down chain hotels in nearby Cheswick. The property is located in a newly developed mall area called Pittsburgh Mills (a large mall shopping complex in the Pittsburgh suburbs). It is convenienty located near the PA turnpike and highway 28....very easy to get to.

The room was a "suite" consisting of a king size bed (very comfortable, extra pillows provided), flat screen TV, bedside i-pod charger/player, living room area with couch and chairs, office area, wet bar area, and bathroom/shower. Bed was very nice with crisp white linens. Very comfortable and spotless clean throughout. The shower was hot and quite powerful. The in-room wet bar area was also nice, with fridge, microwave and hotel provided snacks (free!)

Nearby are many (and I mean many) restaurants to choose from...both chain restaurants as well as privately owned. There is also more shopping nearby than anyone could possibly need. Very convenient to everything.

Pool was very nice as well as the large jacuzzi, impeccably clean and very well maintained. Gym area is small, but had all the latest machines with towels and disinfecting wipes available for guest use.

Management and staf were very friendly and greeted us by name in the morning and evening...providing that touch of personalized service often lacking in the hotel world these days. we would definately retrun and have already booked a room for an upcoming event in a few months. Stay here....you wont regret it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarzyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
30
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent location of Hwy PA-28, simple to get to. And your best option if you need to stay in the area.
Located within a shopping/mall center. Plenty of restaurants to choose from (walking distance), i.e. Chili´s, Olive Garden, Smokey Bones, Sonic, Dinner, etc. Plus a Wal-mart and Super Center.
The mall is probbaly good to walk and or jog in winter, apart from that is 50% either empty or with
irrelevant stores.
Hotels´real estate is new.
Very good fitness center and swimming pool.
Excellent breakfast as usual on these Marriott´s, incluing you own made waffles.
Front desk was not amazing but still efficient.
Plenty of free parking.
Your best option in the area.
Nice rooms with the suite type of living room separated from bed-room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlos_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
489 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This newer hotel is in the middle of a newer shopping mall district with a beautiful mall, lots of restaurants and other retail stores. We went for the night with our 7 year old. We live only 10 minutes away and used Marriott points. It has all the typical amenities. The pool is nice he loved swimming. They have movies you can borrow. Nice complimentary breakfast. The mall next door has an indoor carousel and indoor mini golf, a "jumping place", movie theatre, Macys (for mom!) With gas prices so high if you live in the Pittsburgh area it's a perfect overnight getaway with the kids and they will enjoy it. The Pittsburgh Zoo is a very short drive from there as well. Eat n Park is in walking distance to the hotel go over and get a Smiley cookie.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We are a family of five, including three kids ages 5-13. We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Years while visiting extended family. Some of the relatives live in Pittsburgh, and some others also came from out-of-town. When I made the reservation, I noted the other relatives who would also be staying at the Springhill Suites and requested a room near them. We were given rooms directly across the hall from each other, which was very convenient.

We had a room with two beds plus sofa bed, which is really nice for a family of five. The rooms are large, with plenty of open floor space. We like having a fridge, microwave, and plus two sinks which are really helpful. The only complaint (and the only reason I gave 4 starts instead of 5) is that the bathroom layout is poor: The toilet paper holder is on the wall opposite the toilet, and was a stretch for even the 9 year old to reach. The 5 year old couldn't reach it.

Breakfast selection was good, and the amount of seating was OK. (It was a bit hard to get enough seats one morning, but no problem the next.) The pool was good, and the kids enjoyed it. Access to the highway and neighboring mall is excellent. It is about a 20 min drive by car into Pittsburgh.

The rates seem high, but are typical for Pittsburgh. (As a native Pittsburgher who has lived elsewhere for the past 20 years, my experience is it is really just my biased opinion that I expect Pittsburgh to be inexpensive, while Pittsburgh is actually as or more expensive compared to other major cities on the east coast.)

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I arrived on Friday, December 23, 2011 to spend the holiday with a friend that I had not
seen for 40 years. The guest service representative greeted me and gave me an extra
key to my room that I was sharing with my friend from Savannah, Georgia. I arrived at the
room which happened to be down a long hallway and started to get settled in. My roommate
arrived a short time later and related her traveling experience of two days earlier. She had
fallen at the airport in Savannah, her plane made an emergency landing in Columbia, SC,
she was routed to Philadelphia and finally arrived in Pittsburgh with no luggage. (Well on
Day 2 her luggage was delivered from Washington, Dulles with no problem).

We got ready to leave that evening for Vandergrift about a 30 minute drive. We met a
lady from Florida who was able to give us directions. The front desk did not have a clue.
Well, we used the GPS in the van and made it to our destination. On the way back, we
went to Allegheny General Hospital and my friend got checked out and the found out that
my friend had broken her ankle in two places and the doctor put a cast on it.

When we arrived back at the hotel, I asked them to move our room. They quickly moved
our room to Room 219 right by the elevator. My friend was on crutches and hobbled up
the elevator. The hotel did not have a wheelchair. Well, I moved all the luggage, etc.
because their are no bellhops but the hotel said to let them know if we needed anything.

The hotel is great. It offers a nice spread for breakfast: waffles, cereal, eggs, ham, pastries,
juices, coffee, tea, milk. There is more than enough to please everyone. They have a pool and exercise room. The lobby has computers, MAC machine, and of course, a big screen
tv. I was able to watch "The Sound of Music" with another guests while drinking hot chocolate. In addition, the hotel is centrally located and easy to access Route 28 which is 20 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh. There are great restaurants and shopping nearby and a theatre. I would recommend this highly for anyone who is visiting in the area. All staff was
friendly and polite even the ones who had to work on Christmas.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justgreat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hotel is right off of route 28. It is located next to Pittsburgh Mills Mall, and many resturants are in the area. It is about a 15 to 20 minute drive into downtown Pittsburgh. The hotel was spotless, quiet, and comfortable.The area the hotel is located in felt safe, and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHM18705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This property is very nice and well maintained. Rates seem high but there is nothing on this level between here and downtown pittsburgh. The staff are super friendly and try their best to be helpful. Housekeeping is what you would expect from a property like this. They do seem to lack blankets and warm quilts on the bed. I've stayed here many times over the last year and thought that when the weather turned colder they would put some warmer stuff on the beds but it hasnt happened as of 2 weeks ago. Nice overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarentum
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
9.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
20.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South / Robinson Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Address: 3015 Pittsburgh Mills Blvd, Tarentum, PA 15084-3846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Tarentum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Mills Hotel Tarentum
Springhill Suites Tarentum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing