We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Good Food”
Review of Fairview Cafe

Fairview Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Tafton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fairview Lake Cafe, serves eclectic American dishes grounded by French tradition! Beautiful setting, award winning food, attentive service also, BYOB, moderately priced! We look forward to serving you!
PALM BEACH GARDENS
Level Contributor
211 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Good Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Tafton, PA is a fairly remote spot in Pennsylvania, and is graced by having this gem of a restaurant. The interior is quite attractive, with soaring ceilings and in one room a huge fire place that must be a delight in the winter months. Our party of eight were well taken care of by a professional attentive staff. The menu offers a diverse selection of items, and we all very much enjoyed our meals. I had the shrimp and scallop special. They were perfectly prepared and served atop a bed of perfect linguine. Two of our party had the sirloin steak and while one person said it was a bit chewy...he devoured it. I don't believe they have a liquor license, because our friend, who is local to the area, had us bring our own wine. They charge a corkage fee of $2 per person...lots cheaper than buying bottles of wine in the restaurant. If you are in the area, this is a must for your dining needs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    17
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paupack, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband & I go to the Fairview Café at least once a week since it opened in May 2012 and we have never been disappointed. We just love the owners, Bonnie & Joe, the staff, and the atmosphere. All are fabulous!!! And then there is the food - I can't say enough good things about the food. The menu changes with the season and there are always several specials each night. There were 5 of us there tonight - 2 had the duck special - 2 had the pork fillet special and 1 had the fillet mignon special - we all loved our meals. The ingredients are always fresh, presented beautifully and cook perfectly. Dinner at the Café is always a WOW!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marnicval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner , good service, good food and beautiful surroundings. Will be visiting again before we head back to London.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonJoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“7/29/13”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sorry, I didn't really like my food. I ordered the lobster risotto and it was extremely bland and tasteless - it should never have been an entrée and was better suited as an appetizer. The other people in my party thought their food was ok. Prices were a little above average. Service was good, ambiance was good, thought hostess was indifferent. She seemed to have an attitude when we didn't have reservations - yet the place barely had any patrons and was 3/4 empty. - overall just average. Would not go back, would try somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
307 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Dining in an Awesome Atmosphere with Exceptional Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent quality ingredients, charming rustic lodge atmosphere with exceptional waitstaff, attentive, friendly and helpful. Delicious choice of specials, we had the fish and chips, the cobb salad with balsamic dressing, and a swiss, bacon and onion omelette for lunch for three. It was plentiful, delicious and affordable. We also had a festive Vanilla iced coffee and it was delicious. The outdoor dining is nice and on weekends check the schedule for entertainment. A great romantic and upscale dining experience without busting the budget. Located next to a nice miniature golf course.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Cafe also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Fairview Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing