We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobbs Coffee

Hobbs Coffee
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Media
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The best thing about Hobbs are the food, which is fine, and the location, which is excellent. But the service is awful. 3 out of the last 5 times I went there they either messed up my order, or skipped over me in line and didn't take my order. When you tell them they forgot the coffee, or forgot it was a half-sized order, or whatever, they are willing to correct things, but it's a hassle. For anyone with an allergy, such as nuts, this place is not a good idea for you because they tend to mess up on exactly things like that. Surprisingly, it's like this both at busy times and when it's not so busy. These days I only go there when a group I am in is meeting there; otherwise there are many other fine cafes in the area and you should definitely seek them out. Never thought I'd hear myself say this, but the two nearby Starbucks are preferable to Hobbs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I go here all the time and I don't drink coffee...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hobbs offers good, interesting food along with good coffee (so I hear). The only criticism I can make is that the pace is somewhat slow at times, a function of their limited food prep space and popularity.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccambjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Needs refinement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hobbs is a good coffee shop that needs a more refined touch. It might also need to spend $10000 - 20000 to upgrade the interior (a full wall to separate the bathrooms from the eating area would be great). It opened business a few years ago with some excellent pastries, but within several months those disappeared, gone with the wind. I can vouch for the capuccino, which is good, and the hot chocolate, which is not memorable, and some of the food, which is fine but not good enough to go out of the way for. The coffee is the most reliable deal. The place can be very cozy, especially on snowy days when you watch the flakes fall outside the large plate glass windows facing north and west. Best of all, Hobbs is right next to the train station and across the street from a donut chain whose name shall not be mentioned. It's a good college, post-hippie, hipster hang out for all ages.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkrider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is a welcoming little coffee shop convenient to the railway station in Swarthmore.

The food and coffee were excellent, and I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gas-head-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice College Coffee Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

This is a pleasant college coffee shop full of Swarthmore students in the picturesque town of Swarthmore. I enjoyed the atmosphere of students reading and/or typing away on laptops.
The coffee was very good, and the food is simple, mostly "organic," using locally grown/made products. They had a very good deal for an inexpensive breakfast on Sunday morning (likely available on other days, too).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbs Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Hobbs Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing