We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Stayed here for four nights in April. I was a bit hesitant at first after reading the reviews here, but was surprised.

First off, do not expect anything fancy here - you get what you pay for. For the $41 a night I payed, the place was great - if you are expecting the Hilton, go to the Hilton.

Arrived an hour before check in and the front desk got me into my room right away. The property is an older property, and it shows in all respects - dated buildings, bathrooms, no elevator, rooms that exit directly outside, etc. However the owners keep it the best that they can.

Upon entering the room I was surprised at the size of it, as it looks like it will be alot smaller from the outside. TV reception was good, wifi signal was strong, king sized bed was comfortable. They also have a pool which was closed when i was there but looks to be well kept. They also offer a free breakfast which I did not have. There is also a mini fridge in the toom, along with a safe.

The downside to this property is the age - especially the bathrooms. While clean, they definitley need to be renovated - think 1970's vintage pink with lemon yellow painted tile walls. Also it would have been nice if there was a do not disturb sign in the room when I arrived - I was awoken by the housekeeping staff the next morning. However this was rectified at that time, and being woken up was a minor hassle.

There is a restaurant next door, however they close at 4pm every day - so plan on getting there early. I never went there, but looking at the menu that was in the room the prices were great!!

Major plus and minus is that the property is right off of I-80. This makes it extremely convienient. However it also contributes to the noise level - especially since the rooms exit directly outside. Where my room was situated, I got the shine of headlights from cars turning off the main road onto the side room through my window every night.

All in all my stay was a pleasant one. So long as your expectations fit that of a $40 a night motel, you really won't be too disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyPQueens_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2010

This motel is in the right spot to reach skiing, shopping and dining. It has great rooms and a wonderful price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Was pleasantly surprised because of listed reviews. Attended a wedding and wanted a close hotel to the event. Traveled with adult children and their partners. Found tastefully decorated, very clean rooms (had 3) with shampoo, hair dryer, refridgerator and microwave. Pool was small but looked inviting, . Staff was friendly and efficient and very cooperative. Had a great time and would definitely return. Restaurant next door was convneient and very good. This place is a gem!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana_traveler255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

An old hotel that has seen better days. It was clean enough for a man but not for a woman. We found it from a coupon magazine distributed in rest stops on the freeway. Very low price, but we got what we paid for. It's ok if you just need a place to sleep for one night. Continental breakfast was pretty bad, just a thermos of coffee and some rolls. But there is a great pancake restaurant next door. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dalefromohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Not a bad dal for the money. Wished we'd stayed here this year (10/08) instead of going to Days Inn. It's not pretty, but it is fairly centrally located.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank phillyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This motel used to be the Days Inn but has recently changed its affiliation. Bill (tax included) was $66. The room was clean, quiet, adequate; and included phone, 70-channel cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, and full bath. There was a small pool and game room on site. Staff were courteous and professional. The free "continental" breakfast was meager.

Next door was a diner with an unbeatable breakfast deal. I paid $6 (including tax and generous tip) for two eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, and drink (your choice of coffee or soda) with free refills.

Next door to that was a 24-hour convenience store where you could get cheap snacks and sodas at all hours.

A good place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Picked this motel because of great rate in coupon book and positive reviews here. Must say we were pleased with choice. Nothing fancy, but clean, well maintained, very comfortable, and some nice extras.

Pool is small but fine for kids, cable TV with lots of channels, free hi-speed wifi was great. Included continental breakfast was very basic, but passable (although I wish they had real milk for coffee).

Staff was always helpful and courteous. Location is great...right off Interstate, and walk to Main Street.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gevaltech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroudsburg
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville
2.3 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
#5 of 8 in Stroudsburg
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 100 Park Ave, Stroudsburg, PA 18360-1521 (Formerly Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing