We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different kind of vacation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Different kind of vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

What can I say? Verdant View was great! The breakfast was great & so were our hosts! My sons didnt want to go at 1st but once they got there, they didnt want to leave! Can wait to get back there!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyedwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    55
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
241
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

A wonderful warm place to stop and rest and have a great time!! My kids loved it, the farm animals, cats, and all the farm duties. Highly recommeded. The family is warm and inviting. When there make sure you get to know the folks that work there, they offer so much knowledge on what they do and on the area of Lancaster County. And last but not least, the breakfast experience might be the best you will ever find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeLou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were traveling with 2 small kids, and we didn't want some posh B&B where people frown upon your kids running and playing and making a little noise, and in that aspect the farm was perfect. Lots of space to run around, animals to pet, very kids friendly place.
The owners were very nice and helpful, the breakfast was wonderful, the views beautiful, but the accommodation not so much.

We stayed for 2 nights at the little house in one of the second floor rooms. our room was fine, quiet and clean, but not very attractive. I think that with a little effort they could have made it much more pleasant - like replacing the squeaky mattress and buying some new bed linens.
The kitchen ( which you share with other lodgers) is big and convenient, but not very clean. I am not a cleanliness crazed person, but I washed every dish and pan before using it, since the kitchen cupboard were messy and dirty. It wasn't disgusting or anything, but it also could have used some little TLC to make it cosier.
I haven't been to the rooms in the main house, so they might be in a better shape.
While the back of the house opens up to a beautiful green meadow and a pond, the house itself sits on the main road, and the beautiful front porch is 20 feet from it.
Having 2 young kids I wasn't too crazy about that, and that kind of ruined my fantasy of sitting back and relaxing while the kids just run around.
All and all, we had a good stay, the kids had fun, and I do think that we got our money worth - since it's not a pricey place.
I would recommended this place for families with young children who are interested in seeing a working farm, but certainly not for a romantic night or to people with very high expectation.

Pros:
excellent breakfast
beautiful surroundings
friendly hosts and staff
great location: 5 minutes drive from the rail road attractions
farm activities for the kids

cons:
not very clean
little house could use some new paint and new furniture
little house sits a few feet from main road

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We all had a wonderful time. Everyone was EXTREMELY pleasant and helpful and we had constant access to all the animals. All the activities advertised were available. The kids, twins almost 7 and a 5 year old did not want to leave and are begging to go back!
We stayed in a suite with 2 bedrooms and private bath. There were enough beds in the kids' rooms for 5 children and both rooms had window ACs and the adult room had a ceiling fan as well which we really needed as it was quite hot while we were there so everyone was comfortable. There were lots of towels and soaps and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
The place is older and rustic and that added to the ambiance. It was a wonderful experience for the little ones with lots of other activities very close by as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chlovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our stay at Verdant View Farm far exceeded our expectations for a fun time. Our kids (almost 5yr old and 3yr old) had an absolutely fabulous time. The owners of this farm are wonderfully warm and hospitable. The room was cozy and we all slept comfortable in a room with two double beds and private bath. The air conditioning unit allowed us to set the room temperature to our own liking. The best part of the stay was the authentic farm life experience, complete with a chance to milk a cow! Our kids loved feeding the baby cows two whole huge bottles of milk...it was super cute! The baby goats on the farm are adorable and friendly. My kids loved feeding the baby goats ear of corn and petting the other friendly animals roaming around the propoerty (including very cute and playful kittens, a congenial dog and fluffy bunnies). My daughter didn't even want to head off to Dutch Wonderland because she preferred to stay and play with the animals and mill about on the farm. The farm fresh breakfast was incredibly yummy and healthy. The ingredients came from the farm's garden and animals. The nearby Amish community brought the shortcake which was then topped by peach yogurt and fresh peaches from a local farm. It is located just down the street from the Pennsylvania Train Museum and Strasburg Railroad. Dutch Wonderland is just minutes from the B and B also. Great location! It was a relaxing and memorable experience that we look forward to repeating year after year. I have already told tons of my friends about it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennsaavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have stayed multiple times at this farm over 18 years. I am reading the reviews and I am getting ready to go back for my next stay next month. I have always preferred to stay at the main house. The white house is on a busy road. I think the fall is the best time to go when the fields are being harvested and you can watch the Amish at work in their fields, the colors are changing in the landscape, etc. This is a family operated business. Don and Ginny Ranck are wonderful, knowledgeable people about many things besides farming. Their Amish cook, Lydia never ceases to amaze me with the wonderful breakfasts prepared, complete with dessert! Served family style after the morning milking in their dining room. This is a working farm, and not a Hilton hotel. If you want a hotel then go to a hotel. If you want an experience of being on a working farm down the street from Strasburg RR, surrounded by Amish farms, delicious breakfast (only), then this may be just the place for you! The rooms in the house are simple, practical and clean. Some rooms share a bath, some do not. If you went on vacation to watch tv, then Amish country may be a disappointment for you. You are stepping back into a simpler time when you visit this area and Verdant View Farm is a great way to experience the culture of the area. If you ask Ginny, she may be able to help you connect with an Amish family where you can go have dinner in an Amish family's home. I have done this several times. She can give you the numbers of several Amish families to call. You leave a message on their answering machine and they call back later. It is always a special experience. As for what the kids can participate in such as milking, calves, etc. ask the questions that you have when you make your reservation. Bring some old shoes if you plan to help in the barn areas. Once breakfast is over, the farm work continues and guests can walk around the farm, but people are working and may not always be able to stop and spend more time away from their chores. So have a plan B ready. There is alot to do and see within a few miles of the farm so try and plan some of those things.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

My daughter (6), mother and I did a farmer's apprentice tour this past weekend. I do not know why the previous reviewer said that the staff was not friendly. The staff are wonderful, they let us stay and pet the animals as long as we wished. We made homemade ice cream (yum). Giny is great with the kids and Matt is very patient and kind(we had a little boy in our group that was most annoying). Thank you for a wonderful time. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iodine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
10.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Strasburg Rd, Strasburg, PA 17562-9705
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, working farm with scenic views of the Strasburg Rail Road. Accommodations in farmhouse or Little White House. Family-style farm breakfast (M-Sat). Milk a cow, feed a calf, venture inside a chicken coop, and interact with farm animals. Guided farm tours, wagon rides, and classes offered seasonally. AC and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing