We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family-friendly farm/bed&breakfast inn, warm family/staff hospitality, delicious authentic fresh food,fun pets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent family-friendly farm/bed&breakfast inn, warm family/staff hospitality, delicious authentic fresh food,fun pets”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our family gathered for a fun 4th of July weekend! Extended family & children came from PA, NY, TX, VA. We enjoyed the host family most of all; very interesting farm-life experience w/diary cows, farm animals, agricultural developments, community & country life. the farmhouse & white house were very comfortable & centrally located to other family activities. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch & back patio while the children enjoyed the farm animals & esp Scooby, the dog. We recommend this Inn to anyone & everyone. (I.ll try to recreate Lydia's stuffed french toast from her recipe & in Ginny's cookbook. Yummy!!!) Gratefully, nena, Pittsburgh PA

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Your heartfelt words and feedback are very much appreciated. We love when extended families can enjoy time together, and your family was a real delight to have here at our farm. All the best as you recreate the many recipes found in the farm cookbook (and maybe you'll start to regularly serve dessert at breakfast as well?). :)) Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    55
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
247
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

When we arrived we were farm newbies. My kids questioned the whole farm experience and were still doubtful upon arriving. When we left two days later they were begging me to come back every year. All the barn cats, bunnies, Scooby the dog and the goats, especially baby Penelope, had worked their charms on all of us. Having yummy dessert with breakfast didn't hurt either! As for me, the vast number of fireflies dancing over the fields as far as you can see was a magical sight that can't be compared. A most enjoyable visit!

Room Tip: One thing to note is in the main house there is currently no common area indoors so you're limit...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ssumner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Our answer to your question is "Yes! Please do come back every year!" We currently have a family staying with us that has come every summer for the past 19 years. :) Penelope is quite the character.... she loves jumping on people's backs when the bend down to tie a shoelace or pick a piece of grass. I'll give her a hug today on your behalf. Thanks again for your visit and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here again after visiting 13 years ago. It's still charming, only spruced up a bit. Family owners and workers were a joy a be around. They always had time to talk.....even when they didn't really have time. A little pricey for double room, but well worth it. GREAT breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We very much appreciated your kind comments about the upgrades you've seen since your last visit 13 years ago, esp. the acknowledgement that we try our best to be available to visitors while balancing the farm work (even if we don't really have time to chat for 20 minutes while the cows are waiting for their dinner...). It's not always easy, but the entire farm crew does an outstanding job of welcoming visitors into our daily work. Thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My four year old asked to stay "one more day". We all enjoyed Matt, Megan and Patrick's patience in allowing us to milk and feed the cows. Both children enjoyed all the attention that Scooby the dog gave them. Watching Thomas the train pass through the field was great too.

Room Tip: Farmhouse Rooms 4 and 5 provided some separation when our one year old needed a nap, and four year o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Our farm border collie, Scooby, is one of the most cherished animals on the farm - glad that was the case for your family too! And in case your son wants to know, we just learned that Percy might make an appearance at future Thomas events...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My son and I joined another family for a weekend at Verdant View. Our kids are 4 and 6 and were over the moon, as interested in the friendly farm dog Scooby and the abundant cats and kittens as they were with the bunnies, cows, chickens and goats. The farm fresh breakfast was amazing, and it was so nice to have the opportunity to sit and chat with the family, they are lovely, laid back people. It was Thomas the Tank Engine weekend in Strasburg, we were not there for that reason, but it sure was fun to see a full size Thomas chugging down the track that cuts through the farm -- of course that doesn't happen every weekend! We enjoyed the area, especially an Amish buggy ride. We stayed in the farmhouse rooms with a shared bath, they could certainly stand to be modernized but we were very comfortable and thought the price was right. We look forward to going back when their new outside patio area will be finished off, it looks like it will be great. I have already told other friends about this great destination and plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and photos. We enjoyed watching your son and his friend explore and enjoy the farm and animals. You are right about Rooms 1 and 2, and they are scheduled to be upgraded (new paint, carpet, new private baths, etc.) this winter. Glad you found them to be at the right price considering everything. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We love verdant view farm and have visited more than once - with plans to return. The b&b is operated by the family and they are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fabulous, serving milk from the farm. The tours and classes are great and we love learning at verdant view! The location is wonderful - the train (including Thomas!) go right past the farm, and all the train attractions are really close. Dutch wonderland, mini horses and cherry crest farm are also nearby. (Cherry crest and the train attractions are less than 5 min driving!).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your lovely visit and kind words! We were so glad that you returned and enjoyed your visit. In case you were wondering, the kittens are growing up fast, three baby goats were born, and the bunnies are enjoying the swiss chard out of the garden. :) We hope to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend with 3 families. Kids age 9-14. All the kids including the older ones loved it!!!
They had fun feeding the baby cows, playing with rabbits and dogs and even the cows. Remember to pack boots you can hose off at home. We rented out rooms 1-5 in the farm house. Only con was there was no indoor space to hang out and talk or read at night. You were either in your bedroom or outside.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Boots are a plus - kids can play, and parents don't have to worry about shoes getting dirty! :) We agree that the farmhouse would be enhanced if there was a space for families to congregate outside of their guest rooms, which is why we're building a 4-season veranda. We hope you'll come back to enjoy the veranda and farm next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
10.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
1.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Strasburg Rd, Strasburg, PA 17562-9705
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, working farm with scenic views of the Strasburg Rail Road. Accommodations in farmhouse or Little White House. Family-style farm breakfast (M-Sat). Milk a cow, feed a calf, venture inside a chicken coop, and interact with farm animals. Guided farm tours, wagon rides, and classes offered seasonally. AC and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing