We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“23 years of coming here and I still keep coming back for more.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“23 years of coming here and I still keep coming back for more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

There you are in the middle of Amish country and what could possibly make it better? YOU getting to stay on a working dairy farm! I have been staying at Verdant View for 23 years at least once a year. Living in a city, this is a great place to take young children for a real farming experience. I started coming here when my son was 3 years old. He is all grown now, but I still enjoy coming back because while you are there, it is just heaven on earth. Providing of course that you don't mind the authentic experience you will have of living on a dairy farm. If clicking through the tv remote every night is important to you, then don't stay here. If learning about farm life and getting to be immersed in the culture and lifestyle of the people in the area is what you want, then this is the place for you! Yes, there are a few signs of wear here and there. Yes, some rooms are fancier than others. But it is a F=A=R=M!
The breakfast here is outstanding! An Amish woman comes in every day to make all of the food from scratch and it is served family style. No menu, but you will be happily surprised. There is something for everyone. There is even some kind of pie at the end for dessert so if you go away hungry, it's your own fault!
During breakfast, the family sits with you and is eager to answer all of your questions. After breakfast, they are often busy with running the farm. Lunch and dinner are not available here. But, if you stay at the white house, there is a full kitchen there for your use. Staying at the white house is on a very busy road, so small children need supervision outside. But about every ten minutes, you will see an Amish buggy ride by. All of the farms surrounding Verdant View are Amish.
SECRET TIP If you want to have dinner with an AMISH family in the area, ask and you will be provided with phone numbers to call and see if someone is cooking for tourists in the area.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are stairs to the second floor in the main house. If you need fewer stairs, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
For 23 years, our family has been blessed by your visits, and we very much appreciate the time you share with us on the farm. Thank you for your sincerity, continued support, and good-natured conversations over breakfast. As always, we look forward to seeing you (and your bicycle) again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    55
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
241
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've taken two girl scout troops to Verdant View Farm for an overnight and participation in their morning apprenticeship program and both sets of girls and parents had the same type reaction…"this is GREAT!!! Where did you find this?! Do you have to be a scout troop to come here?" Verdant Farm provides an outstanding opportunity to experience farm life, a family-friendly atmosphere, and just a plain great relaxing time. Their incredible staff (and family) are welcoming and informative; the rooms/house well stocked (we enjoyed staying in the Little White House); plenty of things to do at the farm and in the general area. The animals are friendly and plentiful and provide lots of interaction. Everyone who went is already talking about coming back next year. Oh, and the breakfast? An absolute show stopper with home made goodness I've never experienced before - best breakfast I've ever had! Thank you to the Family of Verdant View Farm for a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We love girl scout troops, and we're thrilled to know that your girls and their parents were ecstatic about their experience on the farm. We try our best to make it a memorable and authentic learning opportunity for people of all ages, and we hope we're inspiring some of your young ladies to think about how they can participate in agriculture, including farming, gardening, cooking, animal husbandry, etc. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent one night at the Verdant View Farm, got to milk a cow, feed a couple of thirsty calves, collect eggs in a hen house, wander corn fields with a few goats, a black sheep, and lots of kittens and assorted animals. The host family was lovely, willingly shared information about the area and the Amish culture, provided a delicious breakfast and we felt immersed in the culture of farm life. The home itself is a little tired,with peeling wallpaper, and in need of some help in that arena. However, it is very clean and great fun. We heartily endorse this gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjm4oh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement and constructive comments. We're so glad you felt immersed in the farm culture - that's exactly what we aim to do with each visitor on the farm. We agree that the green farmhouse needs updated, which is why we're building an addition, updating guest rooms this winter, and breathing new life into the interior design and landscaping. You can watch our progress by friending "Verdant View Farm" on Facebook. We hope you might come again to see the improvements - and relive the memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dormont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our youth group of ten had the joy of spending the night at Verdant View Bed and Breakfast, and I mean it when I say that it was a JOY! We arrived at 11:00 p.m. on Friday night, and were immediately greeted by a gaggle of kittens approaching our vehicles. The rooms were comfortable with a sink in each room. Because of our number, we had a cot in the room and I am still wondering how the owners got that huge cot up the stairs!

In the morning, our youth were up at 5:30 because, "the kittens are waiting for us!" By 7:00, our youth were taking turns milking a cow, bottle feeding baby cows and hand feeding chickens. The tour of the farm was exceptional, and the breakfast superb!

Because it was a beautiful day, we enjoyed breakfast on the wagon at 8:30. Blackberry and cream cheese stuffed french toast, fried cheese, yogurt with blackberry sauce, kale quiche, sausage, and apple pumpkin spice muffins made us feel like we were in heaven. All of the cream used came from the cows on the farm, and the vegetables had been grown in the garden that we could see from the wagon. Following breakfast, we rode the wagon through the farm and our youth learned a great deal.

I can't recommend this experience enough for a family with young children, for scout troops and for youth groups. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastorlaura9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for bringing your wonderful youth group to our farm. We very much enjoyed your visit and were impressed by the teens' engagement and maturity. As a side, we loved your witty and well-written review - you have talents!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose Verdant View due to my son loving farm animals. We had a great time. Got there just in time to take a tour and wagon ride. My son loved being able to go outside and play with kittens and goats. It was a very convenient location since we went to Strasburg to ride the train. It is very close to the station, museum, and you can watch the trains go by just by standing outside or sitting on the very nice back patio. The 3 of us loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks, Susan! We're glad you enjoyed your trip to the farm, and we hope your son's love for farm animals continues to grow. We feel fortunate to be in close proximity to many area attractions, and it's always fun to see a child's reaction when s(he) sees Thomas or the Strasburg Rail Road pass through our farm fields. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My Girl Scout troop visit to Verdant View Farm was one of the very best of the many trips we have taken in our 7 years together. We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome--even though we arrived three hours after check-in time and had to have our host Ginny direct our two lost drivers to the farm (which isn't really hard to find unless it's dark, you're tired and you've been in the car with seven 12 year olds for three hours).

The rooms weren't fancy and are somewhat dated, but were clean and comfortable. The door locks are simple--if security is a big issue for you, you might want to look elsewhere. The rooms are well-stocked with brochures on local activities (but your best source of local info are the hosts, who are very familiar with all the area activities). The farm itself is beautiful, and the tour guides were super-friendly and informative. We were given a great walking tour in the morning, where we all had the opportunity to feed the calves and milk the cows. The host's son-in-law gave us an informative wagon tour after breakfast so we could see the rest of the farm.

But the best part for me was the breakfast. Heaping dishes of scrambled eggs, sausage, fried cheese, and breads. Fresh, raw milk (a novel experience for all of us) and peppermint/spearmint tea. And peach cobbler with peach yogurt. All of the foods are sourced from either Verdant View or neighboring farms.

On the way home, we asked the girls what their favorite part of the trip had been. Their surprising answer--the farm kittens! It occurred to me that since they live in a close-in suburb to D.C., they have never seen cats just wandering around before. They were charmed by the sight of 10 friendly little cats roaming around the grounds.

I would highly recommend Verdant View to families and church/scout groups who want a taste of real country life. I would suggest that you book early if you are bringing a group (although it looks like they are planning to expand the farmhouse), and that you plan to stay over on a night other than Saturday, since they do not offer the breakfast or tour on Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 share a bath, but sinks are in the bedroom itself. Room 2 has a tall bunk bed withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankatcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We're so glad your girl scout troop and leaders thoroughly enjoyed their visit to our farm! The kittens are precious to us, and we're glad that others enjoy them as much as we do. It's so much fun to see them playing together and chasing each other. As you mentioned, we serve a full farm breakfast Monday through Saturday. For anyone that stays Saturday evening, we offer a complimentary breakfast at an adjacent business -- we wouldn't want anybody to go hungry! :) Additionally, everyone that is here on the farm on Sundays are welcome to come to barn to milk cows, bottle feed the calves, interact with the small animals, and engage in conversation with our family. The only difference is that we don't offer wagon rides on Sundays, and so we try our best to have everyone take the ride either Saturday afternoon or Monday morning. We're sorry that you missed the safety railing for the top bunk in Room 2 - it is stored underneath the bunk bed for easy access. We'll try to be more diligent in telling visitors about it during their check-in. Thanks again for your visit and kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went with my oldest daughter and a friend for a "big girls" weekend. Everyone was wonderful right from the start. We were greeted by Patrick as soon as we drove in to the lot. We had a nice chat with Ginny while Geronimo, the cow, was in labor. The wagon tour was fun and educational. The kittens and Scooby, the dog, were adorable. Feeding the animals, catching a chicken and having a goat climb on my back was awesome. There was a little hay maze as well for the little ones. The best part was watching a calf being born. Thank you Verdant View Farm for making us feel like family! I've already booked a room for November for myself, husband and kids :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you! Geronimo and her baby, Georg, are doing well. Georg is eating a lot, and he loves to give slobbery kisses to anyone within reach. All the animals, and all of us at Verdant View, are looking forward to your return in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
10.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Strasburg Rd, Strasburg, PA 17562-9705
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, working farm with scenic views of the Strasburg Rail Road. Accommodations in farmhouse or Little White House. Family-style farm breakfast (M-Sat). Milk a cow, feed a calf, venture inside a chicken coop, and interact with farm animals. Guided farm tours, wagon rides, and classes offered seasonally. AC and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing