We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love, this farm!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love, love, love, this farm!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is our third summer visiting Verdant View. We absolutely love it! My three children love playing with Scooby, and all the adorable kittens! The breakfast is to die for!! This year when I got back to New Jersey, I realized I left my pocketbook with all my money, credit cards, phone, etc. at the farm. I called immediately, and they found my bag and sent it overnight to me. They are a wonderful family and we can't wait to go back next summer!! Wonderful memories are made here!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roe Ria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your review! Scooby is such a great dog that we're thinking of promoting him to full-time tour guide. What do your children think.... could he do it? :) We're so glad to know that your purse successfully made it back into your hands. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    55
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
239
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I loved this farm tour. We had a very friendly knowledgeable nice young lady give us the tour and she answered all of my annoying numerous questions. I finally got to milk my first cow !!! Like the guide mentioned, there aren't that many working farms that will allow people to come in and milk their cows.....and that was such s treat as our last stop before leaving the Amish County. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested. I will return to this farm the next time I come to Lancaster!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed the Farmland Fun tour. If you're ever in the area again, please come visit us! And now that you know how to milk a cow, maybe we could sign you up for the evening milking?! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant way to kick off our five-day Lancaster vacation. Elisa is a friendly host and guide at her family's family-friendly working farm and inn (just down the road from Strasburg Railroad and Choo-Choo Barn). Arriving at 2:30 pm was perfectly lucky timing for the 3:00 farm tour, included with your overnight stay. Don't miss the tour. Scooby the dog cheerfully joins you all over the farm, from feeding goats and chickens, to riding the tractor-pulled wagon, to milking cows. Also included with your stay is a home cooked, farm-to-table breakfast, featuring raw milk from Verdant's own herd. Thx to Amy for finding and booking here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1gerKn1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Loved your review! Thanks so much for your kind remarks. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of the farm bed and breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the farm sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our son, daughter-in-law and their 2 little kids live in Brooklyn, NY. Grandma and Grandpa (us!) wanted for our grandkids to get a great country experience. Verdant view is the quintessential farm experience for us. It didn't need to be fancy, just wonderful, and this farm met all those criteria. 4 1/2 year old energetic Nat got to run all over the place, hold miniature goats, chickens and tons of little kittens. Helping to milk the cows was always an option, but having run to roam was what it was all about! 2 1/2 year old Angie loved looking at everything, and both of the kids enjoyed the swing set area. Breakfast was always filling and delicious and FRESH: raw milk from the cows and eggs from the chickens. And always a Mennonite dessert with our breakfast. YUM!
Now I want to gather our Oregon grandkids and bring them out, too, for a major family reunion. Thank you Don, Elisa, Patrick, Matt and Megan for making our stay everything we hoped for :-) Richard and Mary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdantView, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Richard and Mary,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and positive review! We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, and it was quite entertaining to see Nat and Angie explore the farm in their own ways. We'd love to have your whole family (including those in Oregon!) come to Paradise to share the farm experience and to create new memories together. All the best to you both - hope you continue to travel and study French! Kind regards, Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

As the title states, the breakfast is out of this world. We stayed in early July, and highly recommend this B&B if you have small children. Be warned...it is slightly, how should I say, primitive in sleeping quarters. The rooms could use a little updating (peeling wallpaper, leaking sink), and a little refrigerator in the room would be great. (There is access to a community fridge outside). Our son (2 1/2 ) had a ball feeding the chickens, getting to hold a rabbit, and feeding the calves. The owners are the nicest people you will ever meet, and really make you feel like you are part of their family. Did I mention the breakfast? Fresh cheese, yogurt, milk and eggs that are about 15 minutes old, strawberry-rhubarb pie, homemade beef sausage, honey butter...I could go on! Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjTikiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earanck, Manager at Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the breakfast and farm. Good news - along with the addition that we've added to the house, we are planning some updates to the farmhouse rooms this winter, including two new private baths, carpet, and utilizing the expertise of one of our family member's interior design and painting skills. We hope you might come back sometime again soon to enjoy breakfast with our family and to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was our 8th year visiting the farm! Needless to say our family loves our annual trip to Verdant View. The kids can't get enough of holding the kittens, playing with Scooby, and visiting with the goats, sheep, cows and bunnies. We also enjoy fishing in the pond and my favorite thing--sitting on the porch swing and relaxing. Always a pleasure talking with Ginny and Don, who never hesitate to take the time out of their busy schedule to chat for a few minutes, lend a hand or just make you feel right at home. A great farm to visit and we will continue coming back!
Roell family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and my family had a great time. We didn't want to come back home :-( We are from Long Island New York and it was a big difference for us but it was a wonderful experience. We loved milking the cows, playing with the family dog Scooby, holding the kittens, the farm tour and over all the beautiful environment. Everyone was so welcoming and so friendly. It made us feel welcomed. Breakfast was great. Having fresh milk along with the delicious breakfast was a delight! Also having everything so conveniently close was a pleasure like the Strastburg Rail Road. Also having A for Amish buggy rides was lots of fun. God willing we will be back next year. it was one of our memorable favorite vacations without thinking twice. I would definitely recommend a stay at this house to everyone.

Crystal & Armando, Long Island, NY

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verdant View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Strasburg Rd, Strasburg, PA 17562-9705
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, working farm with scenic views of the Strasburg Rail Road. Accommodations in farmhouse or Little White House. Family-style farm breakfast (M-Sat). Milk a cow, feed a calf, venture inside a chicken coop, and interact with farm animals. Guided farm tours, wagon rides, and classes offered seasonally. AC and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verdant View Farm Hotel Strasburg
Verdant View Farm b&b
Verdant View Farm Bed And Breakfast Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing