We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to leave immediately - horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amish Lanterns Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amish Lanterns Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Had to leave immediately - horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The first thing to know is that we are REALLY easy-going people and don't get too worked up about little inconveniences. That having been said, we were flabbergasted when we got to the motel. Made reservations early due to what appeared to be a very nice website, but when we arrived we found a motel that looks like it had already turned to transient housing. The grounds were a mess, the pool was clouded green with algae, it was later afternoon and food was still out on the breakfast room counters stored open, and the room was beyond just old decor (which we don't mind at all) and appeared not to have been rented out or serviced at all recently - maybe not even within the last several months. An abandoned van with flat tires was parked by the rooms. The buildings themselves were in pretty notable disrepair, and we just gave up on it and left immediately. Too bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank freeman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    9
    10
    45
See reviews for
27
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had read reviews stating this motel was bad, but I figured even if the motel was old and "shabby," we only needed a motel for one night and just wanted a clean room with 2 comfortable beds, and AC. We had reservations made several weeks ago. When I walked in, I told the "new" manager I just wanted to make sure the room was clean and had AC as the temps were in the 90s. {Several of the key boxes had signs that said "Do not rent this room." She gave us the Room #25 key, telling us the window was open because the room had been "closed off" until recently. We walked in to a very muggy, musty room. The towels in the bathroom smelled like they had been in there the whole time the room was "closed off." We went to close the open window and the crank on the window fell off. We turned the AC on and only "fan" air came out. But we were still willing to give it a chance. I took a shower, and upon coming out of the shower, noticed a bunch of dead spiders on the floor in the corner of the bathroom. I went to pick them up with some TP and the TP came up filthy. I took another wad of TP and wiped it across the bathroom floor and it came up black, almost like soot. I checked the underside of the bath mat I had just stepped on and the whole underside of it was black streaks. We turned the "made" beds down and there were bugs in the sheets. I took my "evidence" to the manager and she gave me they key to Room 30. Room 30 was clean, but was missing whole light fixure in the bathroom ceiling (hole in the ceiling). The AC could be set to 60 degrees, but could not be set to "cool," only to "heat." The manager "grugingly" gave me the key to two more rooms, 15 and 16 telling me, "if neither one of these is good enough, that's all we got." Well, Room 15's AC didn't work at all, and Room 16 had only one double bed. We ended up taking Room 30 with the AC set on "heat" only putting out fan air. We had to sleep in a motel room with the windows wide open all night. I have NEVER EVER had even a remotely bad experience like this motel. And the web site for the motel says "3 Stars motel." I think the health inspector should close this place down, and it should be fined for false advertising. I didn't see until after we stayed there that the website had a 100% guarantee. I should have run when I had the chance!!!!!
Oh, and their "continental breakfast" was a few cereals and muffins. Also the pool was just full of green slimey water and unusable. And this was a 3-day holiday weekend!

Room Tip: Don't even try. Run like heck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aligirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strasburg hotels

Copenhagen, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The room itself was fairly clean. The motel inside and out and the grounds were very run down and shabby. The outdoor pool was not yet open but I would not swim in it regardless. Dirty and not well maintained. No phone or clock in room. The free breakfast consisted of bran cereal, donuts, toast, coffee, juice and milk. On a positive note, it is very close to the Sight & Sound Theater and other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likestotravel0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were astonished at the shabby, abandoned appearance of this motel when we pulled into the parking area and things only went downhill from there. (The ONLY reason that we stayed was the fact that we made prior reservations and they had our credit card info.) The room was dingy and dirty and the carpet was filthy. The towels and sheets were a grey color and USED soap was left in the tub. The internet did not work and the TV was jury-rigged to operate with 2 remotes. The ice machine did not work. We did not partake of the free breakfast because who would want to eat or drink under these conditions?!

Room Tip: Go to Econo-Lodge. They're cleaner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cobrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Unfortunately I chose this motel because of the price. It's a dump! Bathtub was grimy, moldy and dirty; toilet seat had huge chips in it; bathroom ceiling vent was caked with dust and grime. Carpet was stained. Comforter and blankets were stained. Towels were dingy gray. Room had a microwave and fridge - the fridge temp control knob was broken, and it froze everything I put in it. Television had only one channel. Embarrassed to say I stayed here two nights!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaydeeNvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA BEACH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Amish Lanterns is a hotel that represents what hotels used to be - family run operations. I stayed there first because of my budget. I have stayed in several of the area budget hotels and Amish Lanterns is the best I've found. I stayed at the hotel for two nights and I found the room to be clean and very comfortable. I had some issues connecting to the WIFI but the hotel staff went out of their way to help me with that issue (which in the end was an error with my laptop). In an effort to help me get the better WIFI they moved me to a different room. So, I can say that both rooms were equally clean and comfortable. In fact they were almost identical. I found the Amish Lanterns to be a great little place overall. I travel to Lancaster several times a year and always travel on a tight budget. Being on a budget I make it a point not to choose $50 a night hotels and expect $300 a night service. But the staff at Amish Lanterns went far above any expectations I may have had and delivered exactly what I look for when I travel - a comfortable room at an affordable price and I can't say enough how freindly and helpful the staff were. I believe that Amish Lanterns will now be my motel of choice when I'm in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMPUNGOVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Yes, I would recommend this motel to a friend because the couple who runs it is very friendly and helpful. She gave me a lot of advices on where to eat close from the motel.

Sure, the motel could be updated quite a bit but it gives another atmosphere as well. The breakfast was great with a lot of stuff to choose from.

I didn't notice anything special about the cleanliness, so I guess it's a good point.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietteWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.3 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
#10 of 16 in Ronks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carriage House Motor Inn
Carriage House Motor Inn
#4 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amish Lanterns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amish Lanterns Motel

Property: Amish Lanterns Motel
Address: 410 Hartman Bridge Rd # (896, (Off Route 30), Strasburg, PA 17579-9602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amish Lanterns Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amish Lantern Motel is a 33 room motel which consists of 3 room types 2 double beds, 2 queen beds, and a King bed. All rooms come with microwave, fridge and 32 flat screen TV. We also have free wifi and a continental breakfast every morning. We are located in the heart of "Amish country" We are just off the highway(RT30) near great shopping outlets and many other venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Amish Lanterns Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amish Lanterns Hotel Strasburg
Amish Lanterns Motel Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing