We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad experience”
Review of Ed's Buggy Rides

Ed's Buggy Rides
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bad experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Went to Ed's with some friends for a buggy ride. He was able to get us on a buggy right away. The horses did not want to move that day for some reason. We got a short distance from the starting point and the driver had to get out and see why the horses would not move up the hill on the property. He left the reins in the hands of one of our friends- left us all sitting there and went back to the barn to get another harness. Our friend was not comfortable with this and neither were the other 4 of us. When the driver returned- Ed was right behind him. He started getting after the driver for leaving us. This was uncomfortable as the conversation got heated. So- we got out of the buggy and told them we were leaving. Ed told us that this would be the driver's last day. The driver should have told us to get out and to walk back to the starting point and then handled things with the horses. The driver should not have left us alone with 2 horses that were already upset. Ed should have apologized and gotten another set of horses- not told his worker off in front of us. We ended up at Abe's Buggy Rides and had a much better experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mtn714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    7
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Buggy Ride”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ed's Buggy Rides is the place to go for buggy rides. The ride is given by an Amish man and takes you an authentic Amish farm. During the ride the Amish guide is very informative and gave us a ton of info to take with us. Once at the farm you can look around (the guide also shows us around and teaches us how the farm is ran and how the Amish live). The farm also has a little store, full of handmade Amish treasures. The treasures are all made by the family that lives and works on the farm. There is also a lil stand that has HOMEMADE root beer, whoopie pies, cookies, and Lemonade. You haven't had root beer until you've tried homemade root beer. There are other buggy rides in the area, but all the ones I saw were not ran/guided by a real Amish guide. I highly recommend Ed's Buggy rides if you ever make it to Strasburg, PA. Also, if you have to go to the bathroom then you better take the hour trip, that is how you get to the working farm where there is a port-a-john.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PIXIEGIRRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We took the ride with 2 small kids and it was a great adventure for all of us. Knowledgeable people who answered all of our questions. Also, there is a small zoo it the waiting area which makes this place even more special. This was one of the greatest things we could do at Lancaster, PA.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palestine, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“So Fun”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have never taken a Amish Buggy ride before. It was a lot of Fun and our driver was very friendly and full of information. We also visited an Amish Farm with a gift shop. It was a fun ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good,”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ed buggy rides was across the street from the hotel I stayed at and was included in my hotel package. When we walked across the street I learned that this was not an "Amish" run business so I was not sure how good it would be. Upon conclusion of the ride I would have to say it was very good. Our driver was a local college girl, although not Amish she wasable to answer all the questions that was asked, was very pleasant, and very friendly even was asked about other things to do in the area. I've taken other buggy rides, all are pretty much the same, just different routes. what makes this one different is that you actually go into a real working Amish farm, of course the Amish family has a quilt store onsite that you visit, but the prices are actually very good if interested in buying real Amish quilts

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pfessak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Buggy Rides also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to Ed's Buggy Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing