We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream of the Crop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strasburg Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at a dozen or more B&B's over the years and consider the Strasburg Village Inn to be the cream of the crop. They do a wonderful job of striking a balance between being warm and welcoming while letting guests have their own personal privacy. The facility has been refurbished and maintained beautifully; Jody is without doubt the most welcoming and helpful innkeeper we have encountered; And the breakfasts are especially pleasant because of Ally's beautiful smile and personality. Add to that the world class peanut brittle next door at the creamery and the nearby PRR Museum plus all the interesting Amish country stuff in the area and the SVI is probably as good as a B&B gets.

Room Tip: If you want a swimming pool and fitness center, stay at a Hampton Inn. If you want a warm, quiet, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We greatly appreciate the time you spent writing a review about your recent visit with us here at the Strasburg Village Inn. We strive to make each of our guests' stays with us the exact thing they were hoping for when booking with us.... for some, we're just a landing spot after a day full of activities in the area, for some, it's a chance to escape to a quiet sanctuary and recharge.... the reasons everyone travels is as different as the people are. I'm glad we were able to provide you with the exact balance of sharing your company as well as giving you your own space.

I'm excited to pass along your comments about your breakfast experience next door, as well as your fondness for the amazing peanut brittle made in our Candy Kitchen. And remember, when you're asked what you want for your birthday, Christmas, Father's Day, etc., our peanut brittle can be shipped!

I hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip home, and I also hope that you would honor us with the privilege of enjoying your company again when the Railroad Museum is a repeat visit!

Thank you again for your glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived for check-in at 4:50 p.m. on Thursday, April 30, 2013. Instead of being warmly welcomed by an innkeeper, we were greeted by a note on the front door and a letter in the mailbox with keys. We were advised in the letter that we had arrived after check-in hours. The B&B website clearly states that check-in is from 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday. It was Thursday and it was 4:50 p.m. A bit perplexed, we let ourselves into the lobby area. The first thing we noticed was an obviously used drinking glass half-filled with liquid, setting on top of the inn-keeper’s stand; a small detail, perhaps, but a telling one.

We found our way to our room, #3, and our first impression was positive. The room appeared clean, the color scheme was pleasant, and the furnishings and window treatments were appealing. The air conditioning was in good working order and we could adjust the temperature to suit ourselves. As we were tired and a bit grubby after spending a day outside in 90 degree weather, we were looking forward to using the jet-massage tub, for which we’d paid extra, prior to going out for dinner. Upon viewing the tub, we decided to most definitely pass on that idea. The tub was disgusting! All of the water jets and the recirculating intake screen were covered in brown scum and/or mold. The thought of immersing our bodies into water that came in contact with that was not something we wanted to contemplate. We have a jet-massage tub at home, so we’re well aware of the regular maintenance they require. A simple job if done regularly and correctly. If the inn can’t keep the water jets clean and sanitized, then that room should not be rented until the jets are either sparkling clean and white again, or the fancy tub has been replaced with a hygienic plain one. We felt like gagging each time we entered the bathroom and viewed this gross sight. We would have called the innkeeper, complained, and requested another room, but there was no innkeeper on site (already having left for the evening…see above), and a laminated information sheet in the room only provided 911 for medical emergencies and the inn’s address.

Hoping for the best, we opted for showers. The shower head was obviously the most utilitarian variety, with poor water flow and no option to change the flow pattern or flow volume. Rinsing of shampoo from hair took seemingly forever. The exhaust fan intermittently sounded like a thrashing machine. And while we’re in the bathroom, let’s talk toilet paper. It’s not the first thing that comes to mind, but it’s important. Provided in our bathroom was toilet paper such as one would expect to encounter at an interstate highway rest stop facility, i.e., tissue-paper thin, layers separating from each other as it unrolled, and one had to roll-off a yard of it to do the job. We’re talking basics here, a clean bathtub and decent quality toilet paper. That’s not too much to ask for $176 per night. The sink was lovely, but there was absolutely no surface around the sink on which one could set a toiletry bag, make-up, or toothpaste. We had to use the top of the mini-refrigerator (no… not even water inside) around the corner as a shelf for our toiletries.

So off we went to dinner and when we came back we were looking forward to a nice cushy bed with silky sheets. Wrong again. The bed was big and that’s the only positive thing we can say for it. The mattress was not comfortable and the bedding….oh my goodness, the bedding. We’ve stayed in B&B’s where the sheets were so soft, silky, and generous, and the pillows were so plump that we almost felt we were falling into a cloud. The sheets on this bed were mismatched, thin, high in polyester content and scratchy, and very skimpy. Since it was a warm night we folded the bedspread and duvet (a naked duvet, without even a cover) to the bottom of the bed. When lying down, the top sheet barely even covered our shoulders, it was so short. The king-size pillows either never had enough filling to begin with, or the filling had compressed so that they were totally limp and unsupportive. We also noticed that there was not even a fitted sheet or cover over the box-spring, just the naked box-spring under the mattress collecting dust.

Arising after a restless night, we hoped for a lovely breakfast with cheerful and welcoming service. Wrong again. We walked through a connecting doorway and through a darkened room that had great potential as a breakfast room for the inn, but sadly, goes unused for that purpose. The ice cream and candy shop next door serves as the breakfast area. As an ice cream shop, it’s fine, but in a role as a breakfast room for inn guests, it’s quite lacking. Memories of other lovely B&B breakfasts came to mind but hope for a similar experience in this one faded fast. Other guests were seated in booths eating, but there was no one visible to attend to us. Finally we went to the ice cream counter and called for help. An obviously displeased woman came from a back area and we advised her that we were inn guests and were there for our breakfast. “I’ve already served it,” she said. Perplexed again, we told her that we understood that breakfast service was from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. and it was then 8:30 a.m. “Oh,” she said, “Well, I’ve already served six and I was told I’d only have four. They told me there would be four.” Insisting that we were, in fact, inn guests, she finally agreed to show us to a booth and set places for us. Cheery tablecloth or placements? Pretty glasses soon to be filled with juice and water? Fresh fruit? Butter? Dream on. Our surly server plopped down paper placemats with advertisements for local businesses printed all over them, sloppily provided us with eating utensils, and told us we could get our own coffee from an area behind us. Napkins were not provided. We asked for napkins and told her that we preferred tea, one regular and one decaffeinated. She repeated the tea request back to us and went off to get it. Teapot, teacups, sugar, cream pitcher? Are you kidding??? She came back with tea bags, neither of which were decaffeinated, in coffee mugs filled with lukewarm water and still, no napkins. She advised that she was serving “bird’s nests”. When our plates eventually were delivered to our booth, we got one slice of greasy white bread with an egg fried in the middle of it, one patty of even greasier sausage, and half a plate of sliced and fried potatoes. “Surly Server” put the plates down and left as we called after her, still hoping for napkins, and now also some salt, pepper, and catsup to season the mess on our plates. Finally, another server, who was at least cordial, came to our table, and when we requested napkins, she pulled paper-towels from a dispenser on the wall. “Cordial Server” did offer to get more tea for us and asked if we’d like more cream. “Surly Server” never graced our table again for the rest of the horrible meal. This B&B is in the middle of one of the most beautiful and fertile farming areas of the world, with an abundance of fresh local fruits, produce, eggs, meats, and dairy products. It’s an area famous for its Pennsylvania Dutch cooking, and yet we got the above described meal served to use with rudeness in an atmosphere totally lacking in any type of grace or charm whatsoever.

As we returned to our room to get ready to check out, we met the inn manager, Jody Osborne, just as she arrived through the front door for the day. She apologized for not meeting us the previous evening, stating that she had left early to attend a medical appointment. Upon asking about our stay, we quietly advised her of our concerns and experiences. She insisted that the jet-massage tub had been cleaned personally by her and argued with us about the quality and comfort of the bedding stating, “We’ve never had anyone else complain about the sheets.” Then she added, “I don’t know if they are scratchy or not. I just fold them.” She admitted there had been previous complaints about “Surly Server” (so why is she still working there?), but routed blame for all inadequacies to the B&B owners. She gave the impression the owners set things up, she does all of the work, and they collect the money. Perhaps that’s true, as the owners certainly weren’t in evidence. Ms. Osborne advised that because we had booked our stay through a third-party website, she could not provide a refund of any portion of the room cost to us. (I guess the inn doesn’t have a checking account.) She offered to provide us with a $50 gift certificate for a future stay at Strasburg Village Inn, adding, “We’d like the opportunity to provide a better experience for you next time.” It should be noted that as we checked out, Ms. Osborne was speaking with another person. Not wanting to embarrass her, we held back, waiting for her to acknowledge us and provide the promised gift certificate. She never did. Knowing that we’d NEVER stay here again anyway, we just left. Our best advice is to avoid this place like the plague. There are other B&B’s in the area and a rather nice looking Clarion Inn just down the road. Their restaurant had a wonderful Thursday prime rib special. That was the best part of this entire experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest:

Because other guests were in conversation with me when you were ready to leave and you did not wait, and because you made your reservation through a third party that did not solicit an address or telephone number from you, we have had no way of contacting you proactively so that we could have attempted to satisfy your complaints lodged directly at the Inn and now through this review site. I have spoken with the owner of the property and while we feel that some of your complaints about the physical plant may be a bit exaggerated, the situation that occurred at breakfast and the attitude and service you received merit our attention and we want to compensate you for some portion of your stay. Recognizing that this particular Inn is not going to be going through the changes you would find necessary in order to be of the caliber you expect, we can offer you a reasonable credit to your credit card; you will need to provide the account information since, again, the reservation was made through a third party and you paid them directly, we do not have that information.

We hope that you are the kind of reviewer who looks for responses to your reviews so that you will read this and be able to contact us directly.

And for future travelers to the area, please know that a reusable drinking glass with lid and straw is almost always on the front desk. The cup is used for ice water throughout the day, so that is all you will find in it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location was great - right on Main St. The rooms were spotless. Wonderful additional room to relax. Concerns: We were not expected at breakfast and the breakfast itself was poor. We had pancakes that were gummy, 3 slices of bacon, and yogurt with strawberries in sugar. We are used to great breakfast fare at a B&B. The pancakes tasted as if they came out of a plastic bin - just add water and cook! Very disappointed. We were not asked if we wanted more (not that we would, but usually at B&B's the service and offering are beyond our expectations). The owner did not make herself available. My wife left the inn not even knowing who the proprietor was.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overnight accommodations.

We're also very sorry that you had such a negative reaction to our morning breakfast. As I recall, you had specifically requested not to have eggs for breakfast on the morning after your overnight stay, and we changed our menu around to accommodate that, even though you weren't the only guests staying with us. I know there was a discussion about whether the aversion to eggs might also include French toast, so we made a decision to offer pancakes and bacon that morning just to be on the safe side. We apologize that the pancakes were not to your liking. We also apologize that you weren't offered additional servings of our breakfast fare.

As Inn manager, I am on property and available to our guests by 9 AM. I'm not sure how I missed the opportunity to interact with you or your wife on the morning that you departed, unless you departed before I was available. I certainly would have wanted to know first-hand of your experience at breakfast to see what opportunities I might have had to make it a more positive experience for you.

We're sorry that our breakfast was not a good experience for you. We receive many compliments from our guests about our breakfasts being tasty and filling and, especially, cooked when they arrive for breakfast and not pre-cooked. We're sorry that wasn't what you found during your stay.

We have forwarded your comments about breakfast on to the manager of the Creamery so that issues such as service may be addressed with the staff there. We appreciate hearing these comments because they allow us to be proactive in making sure other guests don't have the same kind of experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited the inn to celebrate our tenth anniversary. We were able to get the same room we had ten years ago. Service was great, room was clean and very well kept. Great breakfast each morning. Hopefully it won't take us ten years to get back. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4family03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

What a special memory to be able to return to the same place you spent your honeymoon ten years ago AND get the same guest room! We hope you enjoyed the updates that were done to the room since you here 10 years ago.

Thank you for letting us be a part of your anniversary celebration, and we hope you won't wait another 10 years go come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My entire family stayed at the Strasburg Inn to celebrate our parents 50th Anniversary. What a great time we had. The staff at the inn was fantastic, especially Jody, who went above and beyond to make our stay feel like we were at home. I can't say enough about the decor, food, service, city, and all the things to do in the area. All eighteen of us traveled in from Connecticut, Ohio, and Florida. And I have to say again that it so worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

The Johnson family 50th anniversary celebration was a definite memo ry-maker not only for the guests but for those of the staff who were privileged to serve youwhile you were here. Your family set the standard high for future families who want to rent out the entire Inn in the way that everyone was courteous to the staff and to the physical property.

Thank you for letting us be a part of this special celebration, and we're hoping some or all of you will come back and visit Strasburg - and the Inn! - again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A B&B on top of a Creamery, infront of a Winery, beside a Bakery. Throw in a central location and what more could you ask for. The inn is in Strasburg so it isn't more than 20 miles to anything you want to see in Amish Lancaster County. Had a beautifully decorated room with a canopied 4 poster bed and a porch to sit out on. Breakfast was served in the creamery and was nicely done. One morning was French toast and bacon, the next ws a westrenomlet.My only dappointment was the baked goods were store bought packaged goods. What a disappointment in Amish country where everything is home made.

Room Tip: one room only has a porch one room is for young couples with tubs and huge shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mack23003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Inn. We couldn't agree more that having a country store, deli, creamery, candy kitchen, wine tasting room and bakery all on the same property makes staying here like being in your own little village! And, within a block's walking distance, you can find a thrift boutique, a bank, a florist, a tea shoppe and even a barber!

I appreciate that you were disappointed in our store-bought pastries served at breakfast. It is our desire that our guests will get their fill of our fresh-cooked breakfast featuring farm-fresh eggs, thick-sliced bacon, etc. and so we choose to focus on those items and consider our pastries to be an 'appetizer' or 'dessert' to the breakfasts that we offer. Homemade baked goods, while yummy, would make many of our guests too full to enjoy our hot breakfast!

We hope you will consider the Strasburg Village Inn for your future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've never stayed at an inn or a B&B before so I took a stab at a B&B from an online list lots of possibilities listed on padutchcountry.com. I am so glad we booked this place. We got there a little before 5 and found the lobby closed but there was a note taped to the front door with my name on it. The note told me there was an envelope in the mailbox beside the door that contained instructions for getting to our room. It was quite the adventure! The inn was very nicely decorated, there was coffee, tea and 2 kinds of fudge in an upstairs common area sitting room. The room wasn't large but it was roomy enough for the 3 of us. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. In the morning we went downstairs to the adjacent restaurant and we given a hearty and yummy breakfast. My first B&B experience was a very good one and I hope any future visits will be as good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We're so glad that your first Inn/B&B experience was a positive one! Because B&Bs and Inns are smaller properties, they can give an extra bit of attention to detail that larger lodging properties are unable to do. In our case, it's making sure that our bedding is clean and comfortable, that our bathrooms are spacious, and that you get a nice, hot breakfast in the morning.

We hope you'll consider the Strasburg Village Inn for your future stays in the Lancaster County area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 40 in Lancaster
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,954 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
#15 of 40 in Lancaster
132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strasburg Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strasburg Village Inn

Address: 1 W Main St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range: $135 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strasburg Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strasburg Village Inn has been serving folks traveling through Strasburg since before the turn of the 20th century. These days the Inn boasts 10 classically appointed guest rooms, all complete with amenities to suit the 21st century traveler, as well as a one-bedroom vacation home rental. Here, you are within walkable dining and shopping, plus attractions like the Strasburg Railroad and Sight & Sound are all just a five-minute drive away. Book a room today and explore all that Strasburg has to offer. The Village Inn is just one part of The Strasburg Shoppes at Center Square, located in the heart of downtown Strasburg, PA. Visiting us is like taking a walk back in time. We serve homemade ice cream and freshly made waffle cones at our Creamery, plus a host of other old fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch delicacies at our Candy Kitchen and Deli. Our Winery serves award-winning Pennsylvania wines while the Bakery specializes in Amish treats like whoopie pies and freshly baked cookies. Eat, shop and stay at this "town within a town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strasburg Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasburg Village Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing