We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strasburg Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The inn, located in the heart of Amish Country, though small, was nice, clean, and quiet. It's a very old building with a steep staircase (no elevator) but don't let that scare you. Our room overlooked the main road (the inn is actually on the corner of the main [only?] intersection in town). The general store is adjacent and this is where a full breakfast is served. A short walk through town is a must. I thought I was in Mayberry, except for the horses and buggies. I came upon an Amish gentleman with his two young daughters in a buggy. He had stopped to adjust the harness. He was quite friendly and his two young girls laughed while we chatted. A few quiet blocks away I found the Iron Horse Tavern full of friendly locals and very good food.
There are plenty of railroad and model railroad museums in town. Amish attractions, shopping centers, an amusement park, and many other activities are minutes by car or by steam engine if you wish.
Each room in the inn has a private bath, T.V., some with soaking tubs, whirlpools and fireplaces and the entire property has wi-fi. The innkeeper was friendly and well informed about the local area.

Room Tip: Cal the inn and talk with the innkeeper. She is honest and will help you to find the right room for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proschusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us here at the Inn. We find our guests' comments invaluable, and we know other travelers look at guest reviews when choosing a location as well.

We were tickled by your description of being in Mayberry with horses and buggies; indeed, that is the aura of our quaint town, and we strive to modernize and be attractive to tourists in a way that doesn't lose sight of that quiet, simpler era.

We hope that your next visit to Lancaster County will find you wanting to re-engage in the charm of our Inn and the town of Strasburg, and that we will have the privilege of being your hosts again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Strasburg Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 134 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Village Inn this past weekend. The Inns motto of "Enter as Strangers, Leave as friends" certainaly rings true. Jody was great about suggestions for places to eat and what was going on around town. We flew in from MN and met friends here driving up from FL, it was a great place to reunite with old friends while we made new ones! Each of our rooms bordered the gathering room which was very convenient for us and we enjoyed relaxing there in the evenings with wine we purchase right next door and fudge compliments of the creamery. The inn was very clean, safe and secure, and provided everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.

One of the evenings I left my camera in the gathering room and didnt realize it until in the morning. As I had hoped and to my relief it had been turned in to the desk downstairs. It is just that kind of place, a home away from home. Jody does a wonderful job of making you feel welcome.

We highly recommend the Strasburg Village Inn, The Strasburg Railroad, The Fireside Restaurant and the Twinbrook Winery also! We will need another trip to explore more as there is so much to do in the area!

Room Tip: Our rooms faced main street and there is a moderate amount of street traffic noise. If you are a lig...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnson_cindy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are thrilled that you have adopted our mission statement of "Enter as strangers. Leave as friends." and now consider yourself to be among the Inn's friends. I promise that it gives us a lot of happiness to embrace our guests into our 'family', and we're pleased when the recommendations we are asked to give turn out to be a positive experience for our guests as well.

We think we're the perfect central location between MN and FL, and we can help you find plenty to see and do for several more visits to the area, so we'd love to be your reunion central for anytime you and friends from other areas want to 'meet in the middle'.

Thank you for your kind and positive comments, and you'll stay friends with us forever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Inn has a most friendly and welcoming atmosphere, and it is very clean and comfortable. Loved the inclusive free breakfast in the accompanying restaurant. Our room was large and had 2 double beds; very reasonably priced; located in a cute town frequented by horse and buggy travel on Main Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at our Inn. Our management, as well as future travelers, find these comments - good or bad - invaluable.

"Friendly" and "welcoming" are two very important isssues that we work hard to make sure we are imparting to each and every one of our guests. Most lodging facilities will offer you a clean, comfortable room, and what can help make a trip memorable is the service you receive there. So seeing those two words in your review make us feel proud that we were able to provide that feeling to you during your stay.

Of course, we're happy as well that you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed your morning breakfast!

We hope you'll visit the Strasburg Village Inn again when your travels bring you this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband took me to the Strasburg Village Inn for my birthday. Everything about our stay was perfect! We were greeted by Jody, who was very pleasant and accommodating! She made us feel welcome from the time we called to book our reservations!

The inn was very clean and comfortable and our room was simply beautiful! Included in the price of the room was a wonderful breakfast at the adjoining Strasburg Creamery (which also boasts most excellent ice cream!). We cannot say enough positive things about our visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #10, which has a king size bed and whirlpool tub.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmptyNestersUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mzltllamb, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay here at our Inn. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your birthday getaway with us and that you found the king bed suite you stayed in clean and comfortable. Breakfast next door at the Creamery is always a treat, especially when your breakfast is cooked to order and not a continental fare that has been sitting in warming trays. It sounds like we were able to jump-start your morning with a yummy, hot breakfast after your good night's sleep.

Travelers value guest reviews to help them decide about places to stay, eat and see, and as a business, we value our guests' reviews because they help us find any ways in which we can improve the services we offer to them. Thank you for giving us a 5-circle review - that lets us know we're on the right track in making our guests feel at-home.

We welcome you back anytime - you don't have to wait until another birthday rolls around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There's a plaque on the wall when you arrive at the Strasburg Village Inn that says "Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends." ....that couldn't be more true. Jody, the innkeeper, makes you feel like your coming home to visit old friends. While enjoying pizza, wine, and the most delicious ice cream on the front porch, Jody sang Happy Birthday to my boyfriend making the experience a true celebration with lots of laughs!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello, Friends!

Nothing pleases us more than to know that we have fulfilled the mission statement of "Enter as strangers. Leave as friends." Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make new friends by staying with us.

I can't say enough about the joys of rocking away on the front porch and just enjoying the moment. Whether it's horses and buggies ambling down the road or people walking along the brick sidewalk licking away at an ice cream cone, sitting on the front porch is relaxing and reminiscent of a simpler time.

Your innkeeper doesn't often sing to guests - least of all soloes - so we're just really glad we didn't have to clean up rotten tomatoes after her attempts at "Happy Birthday". Thank you for letting US be a part of such an important celebration, even if the celebration WAS 3 weeks late!

Thanks for sharing your comments about your stay, and I believe that we can expect you in April (for another birthday celebration) if not before?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Inn. We had a lovely week-end. Our room was beautiful and Jody was just wonderful and helpful. There is so much to do in the area. I highly recommend the show at sight and sound which is near the Inn.

Room Tip: Our romm was on the second floor and faced the street. It was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for the time you spent sharing comments regarding your recent stay at our Inn. Future travelers find guest reviews helpful, and here at the Inn, they are also helpful to us so we can make sure we are meeting or exceeding our guests' expecations and needs in every way. We appreciate knowing that we 'hit the mark' during your stay.

We agree that there is much to see and do, both in Strasburg and all over Lancaster County. We hope you won't wait until your next anniversary to come back and visit the area, and we would be pleased to be your host whenever you stay in the area.

Again, thank you for your kind words! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Strasburg. We were in town to see Thomas the Train with our 4-yr old. We did not really know what to expect, and boy, were we pleasantly surprised! The place inside was way bigger than it appears from the outside. For being an old establishment, it certainly had up-to-date amenities. The weather was a bit chilly and the bathroom's overhead heater felt soooo good. Individual room thermostats, a flatscreen tv, a mini-fridge, and more than enough towels. Our room was also very clean. They are also bigger than they appear in the photos. There was a common area on the second floor that felt like you were visiting grandma's -- it was cozy, clean, and they had fudge, coffee, and tea there daily. There was also a big flatscreen tv and plenty of board games available in the common area. My son had so much fun there. We only stayed one night, but my son kept asking why were were not staying a second night! Linda was so wonderful, funny, and such a good person. We so loved her and so did my son ("strawberrYYY!" -- Linda knows what that means!). By the way, the free breakfast was a FULL breakfast in the downstairs deli/creamery. mmmmmm! We bought wine from the winery downstairs, and stocked up on a few things in the country store. Too bad we didn't get to see the fudge being made in the candy shop.
I would totally stay there again! I thought I read someone complain about street noise, but we didn't hear anything... Our window faced the side/back. Thank you Linda and Jody! Your hospitality is immeasurable!

Room Tip: My room faced the side/back. It was nice and quiet!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddfpv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for the kind and positive comments you shared regarding your recent stay with us. We know that travelers have many choices for lodging in our area, and are always pleased when we can help people discover that there are pleasant experiences in properties that aren't big hotels along the major highway.

A clean, comfortable room at a fair price is expected at any lodging property; extra amenities like a Keurig coffeemaker, gathering room, free samples of fudge and staff who entertains you are what can set one property apart from another. We're glad that you recognized these extras and enjoyed them.

We have shared your comments with Linda, and you put a big smile on her face as she remembered "strawberryyyyyyy".

Don't forget that Thomas the Tank makes three visits to Strasburg annually, and hopefully you'll get to see one of our candy professionals making that fantastic fudge if you visit us again.

Thank you again for letting other travelers know of your experience. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hershey Farm Inn
Hershey Farm Inn
#2 of 16 in Ronks
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strasburg Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strasburg Village Inn

Address: 1 W Main St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1516
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range: $136 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strasburg Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strasburg Village Inn has been serving folks traveling through Strasburg since before the turn of the 20th century. These days the Inn boasts 10 classically appointed guest rooms, all complete with amenities to suit the 21st century traveler, as well as a one-bedroom vacation home rental. Here, you are within walkable dining and shopping, plus attractions like the Strasburg Railroad and Sight & Sound are all just a five-minute drive away. Book a room today and explore all that Strasburg has to offer. The Village Inn is just one part of The Strasburg Shoppes at Center Square, located in the heart of downtown Strasburg, PA. Visiting us is like taking a walk back in time. We serve homemade ice cream and freshly made waffle cones at our Creamery, plus a host of other old fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch delicacies at our Candy Kitchen and Deli. Our Winery serves award-winning Pennsylvania wines while the Bakery specializes in Amish treats like whoopie pies and freshly baked cookies. Eat, shop and stay at this "town within a town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Strasburg Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasburg Village Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing