We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Go Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strasburg Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Never Go Back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

Our welcome at the property was less than cordial. The management needs an attitude correction. Secondly, discussion of issues with the owners falls on deaf ears. very argumentative. Thirdly, the room we had was very dark. Lighting was poor. Plumbing issues were uncorrected although the manager already knew of problem. Room amenities (soap, towels, etc.) were of the lowest quality. Finally, the breakfasts offered were lacking in imagination and nutrition. Mostly carboydrates, not much protein.

There are far better choices.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Service, atitude of manager and owner, room. Not much to like.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staten island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

We have stayed at the Strasburg Village Inn on several occasions and keep going back. The innkeepers - Rich and Anita are great personalities. Look forward to seeing them each year. The rooms are lovely. However, I do have some complaints. For one, the bathroom supplies --bars of soap - are so small you can barely hold them in your hand -- and then -- no lather. The shampoo - packets are so small that you are lucky if you clean one side of your head. NO TISSUES. Inkeeper OWNERS - Angela and Wade (we know your names because we visited the Greystone Manor on this visit) --please note that guests blow their noses all year long and do find a need for tissues. We had to request a hairdryer in room from Rich, and he was much obliging. I think for the small area the inkeepers have for preparing the breakfast and limited facilities, they do a GOOD JOB. Kudos to Rich and Anita. Rich set up a horse and buggy ride for us (my sister, 91 year old mom and myself) and it was one of the most informative we have taken. I tend to be very inquisitive -- and Jacob, the Amish driver answered ALL questions. Rich also set us up in an authentic Amish home for dinner. It was lovely. Beautiful family and home and food delicious and plentiful.

I do have a complaint against owner Anita. While she let us reschedule a date (without us forfeiting any money), she quoted one price on the phone (more money than we initially paid), then on a subsequent phone call to confirm, upped the price again --
because THOMAS THE TANK ENGINE was in the area for that
week/weekend - which he WAS NOT. We checked at the Strasburg Station.

Also, I preferred the breakfast when it was served in the Creamery which is the restaurant connecting the Inn. It was a full breakfast and bigger choice. All, in all, it was a great trip. We will return next year. I might add, there is quite a bit of competition in Lancaster, and perhaps owners could address these issues. See you next year.

  • Liked — The location. Busy, we enjoyed watching horse and buggies with families in town.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ppw335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

A beautiful Bed & Breakfast, the staff that works there was lovely but the owner was rude. She was very hostile and yelled at us. None of us wanted to return at the end of the night to the B&B because there was drama everytime we entered the door.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jules2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasburginn, manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2007
our establishment is a SMOKE FREE property! At check in we tell everyone this because we are a National Historic landmark and we do not want the building to be destroyed by a silly thing like smoke...at check in we tell everyone this story and the if someone chooses to actually light up a cigarette in the building, well then that is the only time you will ever see anyone upset at our inn. otherwise we are happy go lucky people that love to help individauls! So the motto don't smoke please in our inn and you will have the best experience you can possibly have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

Being our first time at a B&B, we were a little concerned at how we were going to check in. However, it was no problem. Anita welcomed us in and check in was a breeze since it was prepaid with Hotels.com. Our room was a little cramped, with two full sized beds taking up most of it, but nice and clean. It was stuffy in the room, but that was thanks to the unusually warm weather and the AC not being turned on (you couldn't set your own room's temperature. Heat and AC are on a central unit). Other than that, it was great. Anita and Rich are great hosts and we'd stay again. And breakfast was amazing. Try the baked oatmeal.

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Unable to control the temperature in your room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

Rich and Anita were such characters but they do take good care of their guests.
The inn is downtown and pretty noisy, but we had no problems sleeping as we had our earplugs.
The inn is convenient to lots of attractions and the innkeepers will help you get around the area.
Very quaint furniture, rooms, and atmosphere. Lovely place and such a great value too! Thanks Rich and Anita!
From "The Texans" near the smoked turkey headquarters

  • Liked — value / quaintness of the inn
  • Disliked — noise on the street
  • Tips/Secrets — all rooms are upstairs. no elevator.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpankyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

We have never stayed in a B & B so what a surprise to see "WE Loved it". The owners were friendly and offers to help you with information to see the area is great. We enjoyed a great breakfast, banana pancakes and a scrambled egg mixture with meat and cheese, yummy. The room was decorated beautiful and everything was very clean. We definitely would go back there. It's located next to everything and glad we stay in Strasburg instead of Lancaster as the town is so cute.

Helpful?
4 Thank catsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

This is a great B & B right in the middle of town. The Innkeepers were friendly, helpful and accomodating. They gave us a lot of help to find sights of the area. The inn is clean and well kept. Great location in Lancaster county for all the sights. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The Innkeepers and the porch off our room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TrainLoverWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strasburg Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strasburg Village Inn

Property: Strasburg Village Inn
Address: 1 W Main St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1516
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Strasburg Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strasburg Village Inn has been serving folks traveling through Strasburg since before the turn of the 20th century. These days the Inn boasts 10 classically appointed guest rooms, all complete with amenities to suit the 21st century traveler, as well as a one-bedroom vacation home rental. Here, you are within walkable dining and shopping, plus attractions like the Strasburg Railroad and Sight & Sound are all just a five-minute drive away. Book a room today and explore all that Strasburg has to offer. The Village Inn is just one part of The Strasburg Shoppes at Center Square, located in the heart of downtown Strasburg, PA. Visiting us is like taking a walk back in time. We serve homemade ice cream and freshly made waffle cones at our Creamery, plus a host of other old fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch delicacies at our Candy Kitchen and Deli. Our Winery serves award-winning Pennsylvania wines while the Bakery specializes in Amish treats like whoopie pies and freshly baked cookies. Eat, shop and stay at this "town within a town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Strasburg Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasburg Village Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing