We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...very close to being where it would be all good....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good and bad...very close to being where it would be all good....”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed at The Historic Strasburg Inn for a recent 3 day trip to the Lancaster, Area. The hotel is actually several buildings, not just one, that are located in sort of a circle throughout the property . Each "building" has some interior corridor rooms as well as some exterior corridor rooms.

We chose the hotel because it is pet friendly and we needed to bring our dog with us. All of the pet friendly rooms are, obviously, those with exterior entrances.

This place certainly has a lot of charm. The surroundings are just beautiful, surrounded by the most part by beautiful Amish farms, with no wires to interrupt the view! There are chairs and gazebos and swings on the grounds at spots that provide stunning views, and it is certainly restful to take that in. There are also little picnic tables and chairs scattered around. The place, overall is very charming.

The lobby is in the main building. This is a bit of a walk from some of so the buildings, so if this is of concern to you ask for a room in the main building. The lobby was nicely appointed and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. The coffee was GREAT. We were pleasantly surprised by that!

There is a pool, while not huge, it is a decent size and it was clean and enjoyable. SOME of the room with exterior balconies surround the pool. If you don't want noise from the pool, please note this while making your reservation.

The exterior is a little run down. It's not terrible, but it could be better. The grass was a little too high, there were a few too many gnats, some (but not all) of the furniture on the grounds was dated and worn. But overall the exterior grounds were enjoyable.

The room was your standard motel type room. Nothing fancy, but with some newer furnishings. Not bad. The bed was not comfortable, of the 2 in the room, one seemed to be in very bad shape one in fair shape. The room just did not seem really clean. When we entered it REALLY smelt of dog. Now, I understand it is a pet friendly hotel, but we've stayed in many others and this has not been an issue. We sprayed Lysol, Febreezed the soft items and also put an air freshener on the a/c vents and it got better shortly thereafter. If this helped, there really is no reason that hotel staff could not have taken these same measures to avoid us walking in to a stinky room. The carpet was gross. I would not walk barefoot. There were many large stains (they seemed like old stains) on the floor. First suggestion, pet friendly rooms really would be better tiled... but if you have them carpeted, keep them cleaner. This was a huge turnoff. The bathroom was clean overall, as was the sink area outside of the bathroom, but the shower was NOT as clean as it should have been. Again, not so gross that I'd refuse to stay there, but gross enough that I was glad it was a very short trip.

I can't say it's a terrible hotel, but it is thisclose to being a really nice, charming, relaxing place to stay. It is definitely more of a country inn than a resort, and I did like that very much, just a little more attention to the cleanliness of the rooms and it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunChi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    176
    94
    55
    45
See reviews for
220
174
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was a good place, not great. Location excellent but it seems a little tired. The paint on many of the outdoor railings, pools areas was peeling and some wood was rotting.

The room, was comfortable, pretty clean. The bathroom was decent. We could not find a nearby ice machine, but we didn't ask either. The pool area, of the three gates only one was open and the hot tub gate was closed, so people had to line up chairs to get over the little fence to the hot tub.

The complimentary continental breakfast was nothing to speak of. It was juice, coffee, and one kind of danish. Nothing for our young son.

The restaurant next door was fantastic, great service, food and the waiter recommended tomato bisque, it was the best. Even if you don't stay here, try to eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheyenne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We drove our Harley to Strasburg,PA for two nights last week. It is in a nice location and is very quiet. Our room was very clean and the people that worked there were very friendly. We used the pool and hot tub as well. The only problem we had was we didn't have a remote in our room.

Strasburg is a nice area and I reccommend going to the Furniture store thats right by the hotel and the pottery store. Just be weary as mostly all the stores close at either 5 or 8 PM.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natfrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
310 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This hotel came as a pleasant surprise. After reading the other reviews I was slighty wary of our stay here. When we got there we found our room to be clean, tidy with comfortable beds and the bathroom was spotless. We loved were it was located, in peaceful country side. The only drawback would be the continental breakfast. The breakfast room is tiny and the three coach loads of visitors scrambled to get their breakfast and find a seat. I gave up and took my breakfast back to my room. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMargaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Because of construction, their sign was taken down, so we passed their driveway a few times. Had to stop at Eldreth's Pottery to ask where hotel was. Hotel room was nice, woman at front desk was nice. Phone was out of order so I had to walk to next building to ask questions at front desk instead of just being able to call. Remote control for TV in living area didn't work, which was not good for my dad. He knelt on the floor and kept pushing the TV button to change channels. "Daybed" in the living area was really a loveseat sofabed. It was a short drive to the Strasburg Railroad, Railroad Museum, Choo Choo Barn, and Toy Train Museum. There was a coffee pot, hair dryer, fridge, microwave, and iron and ironing board. There is a restaurant next door, but we didn't try it. Very quiet and peaceful area.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayeapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed here last month for a couples retreat given by our church. The room was neat and clean and nice size. The bed was comfy. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The food they served was excellent. The grounds were beutiful, even though we didn't get to walk around as much as we wouild have liked due to the cold weather, but we did enjoy what we could. It's in the Lancaster area so we were able to visit some Amish shops . Lot's of great restaurants in the area as well. And there is also Sight and Sound theater in the area. I would definitely recommend it and am hoping our group comes here again next year.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AngieBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Nice old hotel. Lot of history. Rooms are size. Staff was very friendly. Very nice area and surroundings.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — No place to eat on site
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing