We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We paid much too much for this motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Bridgeton, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“We paid much too much for this motel”
Reviewed July 11, 2005

We stayed at The Netherlands motel in Strausburg, PA in May 2005. We paid $150 per night. Way, way too much to spend on this place! It is comparable to a Holiday Inn Express, so don't spend any more than $80 a night. Exterior of motel is very quaint and impressive looking. The rooms are plain and drab like you would find at a budget motel. We went to the free breakfast buffet and they ran out of plates, silverware and glasses. We gave our opinion to the desk clerk and she didn't seem to care, neither did she offer any kind of compensation. We told her we would be giving our review on tripadvisor.com and she had no comment.

Helpful?
7 Thank lynnp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    178
    95
    55
    46
See reviews for
222
175
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2005

I have come back to this hotel again and again. We stayed when it was Historic Strasburg Inn and see major improvements. The rooms are being upgraded and are very charming. The grounds are so beautiful. They have added an herb garden out front. Everywhere you look there is beauty. We checked in on a Saturday and stayed for a few days. We were greeted by a smiling face at the front desk. This young lady who goes to school in our town of Virginia was so friendly and warm. She and her manager talked to me for a long time about things to do and see. They were so helpful. They really took the time to make me feel welcome. We went to our room which was upstairs and one of the newly decorated rooms. We were so happy. No more colonial decor in the rooms. We went to dinner that evening and had a very wonderful dinner. One of us had the crabcake dinner and the other had a cod dinner. It was scrumptious. We had the best bartender ever. He was so friendly and funny to boot. We just had the best time. I tried to get an appointment at the new spa but they had not appointments available. I went over to see what it looked like and it was so quiet and peaceful, the perfect setting for a spa. We will be coming back next Spring. Thanks, Netherlands Inn and Spa for the great getaway.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2005

I will start this review by saying that I used to stay at this hotel one time each year for 10 years for a outlet shopping weekend with my friend. This was when it was the Historic Strasburg Inn. This past weekend was my first trip back since the new owners took over approx 2 years ago and changed the name.
I was very happy with the new management. I went for a long weekend with my husband and 17 month old son. We had one of the rooms that has not yet been renovated but it was fine, and very, very clean. The staff, as mentioned in recent previous posts, couldn't have been friendlier and they were all lovely to my son. Keep in mind that the restaurant on site is a nice change of pace for dinner from all the Amish type food in the Lancaster area - it has very contemporary food and is very good. Plus, it's nice to be able to have a glass or two of wine with dinner and not have to get in the car and drive back to your hotel. Also, you get breakfast with the price of the room - nothing special, buffet style with the usual eggs, sausage and bacon, toast, cereal, etc. but again, it's nice because you just have to walk right from your room over to the restaurant.
We didn't use the day spa but checked it out and it looked to be very nice. They also have an outdoor pool which was very clean and had nice lounge chairs surrounding it, but we didn't use it simply because we were to busy doing our day trips around the area.
I always tell people that the main reason to stay at this hotel as opposed to some of the others up on Route 30 is that it is right in the middle of the Lancaster area but is a bit off the beaten path - and the beauty of the expansive grounds (very well maintained) can't be beat. They have vast open spaces with lots of tables and chairs scattered around for relaxing. Overall, a nice place to stay for a few days and get away from it all - I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vtsi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2005

This hotel was lovely. We were there for a wedding. The staff was very nice and polite. The management went above and beyond helping us with our rooms. Thanks to the staff. The food was wonderful. Newly renovated rooms were beautiful. What a beautiful day. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,895 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing