We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dated and Dirty”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The room was very old and pretty dirty. The heating system was difficult to figure out with the room either being way too hot or way too cold. The tv was odd, some channels would work while others would just be snow. The beds were uncomfortable, but the pillows were nice. Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here, we actually couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize your visit was not what you expected. Our hotel is a historic landmark and is of the old fashion charm. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and a great value. Our rooms include all the amentities including 70 tv channels. I invite you back for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    176
    94
    55
    45
See reviews for
220
174
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms were updated and included refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pots. Only thing is that the cups were still dirty. Overall, nice place to stay for a short trip. Went to see the Miracle of Christmas at the Sight & Sound Theatre, which was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback to improve our guests experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the clean comfortable room and I apologize that your glasses had dishwasher streaks in them. We will address this with our room attendants. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

When we arrived, there was no one in the lobby. We waited nearly 15 minutes. The receptionist was very personable and apologized. As this was our anniversary and we choose this hotel due to the proximity to the Fireside Inn he was kind enough to make a reservation for us.

When we entered the suite, I was a bit disappointed. I know that this is considered a Historical Hotel but it is NOT well maintained. My husband, who upgraded our room as a surprise, tried to turn the fireplace on. It did not work he called down to the office and was told that a maintenance man would be over within a few minutes. We had reservations and waited for nearly 30 minutes before leaving for dinner without any assistance.

Upon our return, we tried the fireplace again and it still was not working. We called the office again and were told the wind probably blew out the pilot. The receptionist arrived and attempted to fix the fireplace without any luck. He apologized and informed us that he didn’t have any other rooms and he assured us once again that the maintenance man would be there within a few minutes. After nearly 40 minutes, my husband called and cancelled the service call, as we wanted to utilize the hot tub. The receptionist told us that they would deduct $25 from our bill and it would be refunded in the morning.

My husband was very disjointed as the tub was in a separate room without a TV.

When we got up the next morning I noticed thee spots on the sheet, they were not from either of us! This caused me to reevaluate the rest of the room. When I went into the bathroom, I took notice of the condition of the tub and the floor around the tub. It was not only poorly patched but there was hair and debris in it. I could not bring myself to even get in it to take a shower.

When we went to check out the following morning and the manager informed us that the computer was down. When my husband inquired about the discount, he informed us that the receptionist told him we cancelled the service call so they were not going to provide the refund. After a heated discussion, he informed us that the $25 would be refunded ot our card and would email us the revised receipt.

This place is not worth the cost or frustration!!

It took a couple of days my husband had to contact them and when they finally sent the email containing the new receipt they only refunded $20. It’s not the amount it’s the principle and the fact that they didn’t keep their word.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.We take all feedback seriously and address all concerns immediately. We are a historic hotel and a old fashioned decor. I apologize that your fireplace was not working properly. We did offer compensation for the heavy winds that day.The other items you mentioned were never brought to our attention. Our rooms are inspected prior to arrival and cleanliness is job one for our staff. Yours pictures appear to be after your stay and we believe the room was in clean condition. We apologize you did not address this with management and would like to offer you a return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strasburg hotels

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good location away from the route 30 main highway. If you are visiting the shopping malls in the Lancaster area this is a nice choice to settle down for a quiet night's rest.
It is an older property and the remodeling is quite noticeable. Sloppy finishes in the painting, bathroom caulking and tiling, and other areas do not show care was taken to make them look like new. This is the reason for the average rating otherwise it would be a 4 for very good. We expected a little better for the Clarion name.

Room Tip: Stayed in the 2 queen suite which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We take pride in our Historic property which is old fashioned but charming and clean. We hope you will come back and enjoy the amish countryside that surrounds us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been going to the Historic Strasburg Inn for some twenty years. We have always enjoyed our stays at this inn. It has gone through some ownership changes and some down times, as many businesses do. However, now they have joined with Choice Hotels and have spruced up the property and upgraded much. Our recent stays have verified that. We loved the old breakfast dining room with its buffet atmosphere, but economically, it could not last. Now, there is a more convenient breakfast room which is basically typical of most Choice Hotels and others in that competitive category. It is a good value, clean and well managed. Whenever we plan to head to the Lancaster Amish country, you can bet we will be staying at The Historic Strasburg Inn.

Room Tip: There are a variety of buildings. Our favorite is the main building and with a room with a king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eslteacherbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and the beautiful location in amish countryside. We are excited that you had a great stay and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was very big but old fashion and dirty. We found 3 dead cockroach and a big spider. It was late and this was the reason because we stayed there in spite of that
Breakfast was ok but.....
I don't recomended at all!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We appreciate guest feedback to improve on all aspects of a quality stay. We are a historic hotel and we boast many fine attributes that include a clean comfortable stay at a great price.. All of our rooms are inspected prior to guest arrivals. We ask guest to contact the front desk immediately if they have any concerns, so we may address immediately. I am unaware of any complaints from your stay. We have a licensed pest control service treat our property on a regular basis and have never had any instances of the pests you have referred to. Had you brought this issue to our attention we could have addressed and resolved. We welcome you back for a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Living in New Jersey I visit Lancaster PA almost once a month, however my parents and I stayed for three days last week. I brought along my 2 year old Golden Retriever and we stayed in two rooms right next to each other considered handicapped rooms. Neither my parents nor I are handicapped but they said they put people who have dogs in these rooms sometimes. We liked the rooms a lot, they were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The room itself was rather small with two Queen beds in it (as these are handicapped rooms you would think they would be bigger to accomodate someone with a wheelchair) however the bathroom was really big and spacious. Nice walk in shower however the water pressure was not good and I felt like I was showering under Amos Smucker's Amish watering can. The bed was very comfortable and they give you two choices of very fluffy pillows to choose from. The outside of the place looks a bit dated however it is very charming and rustic, appropriate for where its located amongst Amish farmlands. Has a lot of space to walk your dogs too which is great. The only downer I would say in the 3 days we were there was the last morning we decided to take breakfast in the sunroom which is a free continental breakfast provided by the hotel. When we walked in the place was so crowded and HOT...it felt like it was 100 degrees in there...tons of hotel guests scrambling to get their bagels or toast...we walked out due to how crowded and hot it was in there. But in summary I liked the hotel and would book there again. Very nice place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience at our hotel. We have many fine amenities including designated pet friendly rooms.Many guests enjoy the 16 acres of hotel property as well as the great breakfast and service. We offer a better value for your money and away from the hustle and lights of the city. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing