We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed there two days ago. The staff at the front desk were very friendly upon our arrival. The room was very clean. We liked the fact that there was refrigerator and microwave in the room which came in handy. Granted, there could have been some remodeling done to the room, but I'll take cleanliness over a newer hotel anytime! The breakfast which we ate was very good, and they had a nice selection of food to accommodate everyone's taste buds.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and strive to give great customer service and clean comfortable rooms.We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    174
    92
    53
    45
See reviews for
216
173
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

nice rooms, nice area. Staff were very friendly. Area close to outlets and Sight and Sound .Restaurants and other attractions(train museum) close by. Thought I needed medical attention on a Saturday and they provided me the card of a clinic nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing you visit at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband decided for a quick week-end get away after watching Witness...we decided to go to Amish country in PA...so off we went...we had not been there in 15 years....and upon arriving not much has changed. We decided not to stay in Lancaster because we did not want to be on Route 30---we wanted the more country views and no traffic or seeing "outlet malls that are everywhere. We wanted more of the Amish country feel.

We arrived at the Clarion Inn...it was behind a small shopping area...nothing like on the main roads of Lancaster. The views were of farmland, cornfields and Amish buggies rather idyllic...just what we had wanted quiet and yet close enough to everything. We enjoyed one evening eating at the restaurant next door The Fireplace . Went there to have drinks on the deck it was great weather we enjoyed watching the buggies go by and had a relaxing dinner afterward...It was a beautiful evening with great views and good food .

We arrived around 1-2 pm at the hotel ...it looked pretty empty...but were told we could not check in until 4PM...No big deal we were hungry so we went for lunch to Strasberg Ice cream parlor and that was fun...OK sandwiches...but great ice cream and homemade fudge and candy in the store....great start and then went to the train museum. Really fun start

We went back to the hotel for check in at 4PM....why we could not check in earlier I don't know... when the he building that we were staying in was totally empty and I do not mean that figuratively but really totally empty...some of the room doors were open at times.This hotel has the main building and about 4 other motel style buildings on property...Our building was empty...I am sure we could have checked in earlier because it could have been done if we had a Clarion card but not if we were just regular guests??? As far as the building, there was no a/c in the halls...but it worked in our room. thank goodness because it was hot The beds were fine mattresses a bit soft and moved whenever you rolled over but comfortable...pillows were great...breakfast was good in the AM the typical for these syle chains...waffles, scrambled eggs etc.

The room itself was a bit dated, not charming but dated, colors décor etc...but that is what I expected in this area...but the weirdest thing was that our refrigerator was missing...which was odd--...we received a double bed...no AC in the building and it was hot...why when the hotel was not filled to capacity would you give us a room without a refrigerator(luckily we had a cooler) and why have us in the building alone and the furthest away from the lobby where breakfast was served??? It of course rained our last day...so it was fun walking in the rain to get breakfast ...

Bottom line, our expectations thank goodness were not set that high...we had a great time we saw buggies, went to museums and enjoyed the tranquility of the area and played great mini golf in Strasberg and we feel .a room does not make a vacation...but I must say we got the room for 1/2 off on Travelocity...but I would have been really upset if I had paid full price for this room. The amount they want one to pay for the room unless you get a deal on it is not worth it by today's standards for a hotel...in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUVTHESEANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize that your expectations of a new hotel were not met. We are a historic hotel with clean comfortable rooms, each with their own charm and character.. We are situated in amish country on 16 acres of beautiful countryside, away from the lights and noise of city life. Guests do appreciate the old fashion look and relaxing atmosphere that is reminscent of the past. We welcome you back in the future and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here with friends and were very pleased with the accommodations. Conveniently located nearby to area attractions and set in a picturesque area surrounded by farms with very pretty views (yet also located next to a small, attractive shopping area with a pharmacy, pizza place, and beer mart). The 2 queen bed room was quiet, cozy and clean with a fridge & microwave. Pool area was also clean and was on par for the well-maintained grounds. VERY family friendly with a nice big backyard and large playground. Breakfast was good with both hot and cold choices. Fitness room is quite small but has just about every piece of equipment needed. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate building closest to Historic Drive are quieter during the summer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maui_pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great time and a great stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. and the price was reasonable, $130/night for 2 queen beds, the rooms were spacious and clean, staff friendly, the grounds were really pretty & well maintained, heated outdoor pool, playground for kids, and just the whole set up of the grounds, made me feel like i was in a retreat or something. Nothing fancy, but it was just a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 242 was a nice room. out of the 3 rooms me and my friends had... 242, 244, 245... 242 was biggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritza211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great stay and were very happy with all accomodations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and went to the sight and sound theatre. Great location very clean and had no issues. Was quiet and we had two rooms for one night both were good. The parking distance from the room was not the greatest but that probably helped with the noise level being low. The pool outside was good and staff was friendly and nice. Not enough seating for the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishglh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great experience and that your rooms were comfortable and enjoyable. Our breakfast provides al large variety of items that go beyond any other brand hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this inn a few weeks ago. At the last minute we wanted to add another night to our stay. The front desk staff was very helpful and was able to keep us in the same handicapped accessible room for all 3 nights. The hotel is not luxurious but very clean and comfortable. The grounds are well maintained with a variety of seating areas to enjoy the scenery. The complimentary breakfast is very generous. It is an easy walk into Strasburg to visit the charming shops. Had 2 god dinners at the Fireside Tavern. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit at our hotel. We are a Historic hotel and have and old fashioned enviroment. Our rooms are clean and charming and we have an outstanding breakfast included in your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing