We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Xmas in PA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
East Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Xmas in PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My daughter and I spend the week of Dec 23 thru Dec 28, 2012. Something different. What attracted me to this hotel were the low daily rates as well as tickets to Sight and Sound Theater. When we arrived the hotel sat upon a beautiful hill. The view from on top of that hill was breathtaking. I spend each night just standing in the parking lot looking out into the beautiful star lighted sky.The room was nice and neat and the handicapped bathroom nice and spacious. Breakfast every morning for free and it was good. The staff was so helpful, directed us to the mall, the light show and Target. The manager Mr. Sherman Hall and the whole staff was a pleasure to be with and welcomed us back anytime. I told him I will be back with my Mom and daughter again this year to see Noah Ark at Sight and Sound.I cant find a bad thing to say. I will be back again this year. Close to all attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room that was handicapped accesible and non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceywright88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We take pride in our Hotel and it's location in Historic Strasburg,PA. We are surrounded by Amish farmland and away from the lights and traffic.
Our rooms are clean comfortable and a great value. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    158
    79
    50
    42
See reviews for
198
160
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fantastic location if you're in the area. The rooms were so pretty and the pool was nice, and the breakfast was the best. The staff is nice and attentive. My favorite part was food that they had. The price was not too bad considering we went in high season. Go with just the family, we went with a group of friends of the family and it wasn't that great.

Room Tip: top floor t o get a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We are situated in the amish countryside away from the busy lights and traffic. We are a Historic Hotel with large rooms and charm. Our breakfast features include waffles,omelettes , friuts and yogurts. Wenlook forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Take a look at your room before paying, our room was about the size of a walk in closet. The so called curtain on our window was useless, you could see right through it. I guess it wouldn't matter if it was the second floor, but our room was on the first floor and one of the first rooms that you walk past. Not worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We strive for 100% Guest Satisfaction with all our guests. We would have appreciated you notifying our Front Desk Staff to address and resolve your concerns. We welcome you back to visit our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strasburg hotels

MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Normally I do tend to splurge on a hotel room, but in this case it was the pet-friendliness that drove our stay here. For only $15/night we were able to bring our dog along with us, which was what we needed on this trip. The hotel is superbly situated for shopping at the outlets and access to the sights, including the Strasburg Railroad, which we visited thus weekend. It literally is about 5 minutes from the hotel-you occasionally even can hear the train whistle faintly. The rooms ARE worn, but it is very clean and the beds are comfortable. It is quiet and we could sleep well as there was nothing to disturb either our dog or our toddler. The service also is good. The first room reeked of smoke but a call to the front desk sorted that our immediately (be warned if you choose to violate the non-smoking policy, as the clerk noted she charged $150 to the previous occupant after verifying the smoke smell in that first room). We also were able to get a late check out which allowed us the luxury of sleeping in a bit. The Fireside Tavern onsite also was a good value and very convenient. Overall, not normally a hotel that would have been my first choice, but a great choice in this situation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We take pride that our Hotel is situated in Amish country. Spacious rooms and warm atmosphere. We look forward to your return visit to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My brother and I stayed here on a Sunday night in early December. When we arrived they had us scheduled for a “pet” room and that was unacceptable. It was apparently a booking error on my part – I clicked the pet room! But they could not change it right way (no clue why) and we were asked to return in an hour. We did and they did give us room (Room 115). It was large enough - 2 queen beds, with small fridge, microwave, TV, desk, etc. The beds were comfortable and I slept well. The room however, was clearly worn. There were multiple paint chips in the wood work and trim, the toilet paper holder was falling from the wall and the caulk in the shower was discolored or missing. BUT the major issue was the layers of dust behind the bed headboards. The headboards were attached to the wall and when I peered behind them – serious dust. I guess the cleaners never dust there! We went to print our airline boarding passes in the “business center” (2- computers). One machine would not print and would only provide the airline screen in German – which we could not change. The other was turned off and we could, at first, not make it work. I went to the office and asked for help – the woman said she could not help, but that we could print our boarding passes at the front desk computers. We would have done that but when I returned to the computer room brother had figured out how to print and so we did. Breakfast was touted as a big treat at this hotel (both in their adverts and by previous Trip Advisor reviewers), but when we showed up on a Monday morning (we were the only ones there) there biscuits and gravy was the only “unique” food, along with two kinds of cereal, hard boiled eggs, some fruit – not as good as a normal chain hotel breakfast. BUT, AND THIS IS IMPORTANT, when we expressed disappointment in the breakfast fare to the kitchen person (cook?), she apologized and cooked us each a generous portion of scrambled eggs – they were delicious! So there are some nice home touches at this hotel – the people are one. I would have to think hard, but I might well stay here again if in the area. The restaurant next-door is quite popular and good – we ate there the evening we staye

Room Tip: Ask to see it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We have a full hot breakfast each morning and will cook to order when close to closing time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a very cold evening and we found this very nice inn, in a quiet place near the authentic Amish village - Strasbourg in Pennsylvania. The rooms are clean and nice and the front desk manager was very helpful. It's not the high luxury but comfortable for a night on the road for tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IC170252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We are a Historic Hotel nestled in the amish countyside, surrounded by amish farmland and near the Strasburg Railroad. Our rooms are clean comfortable and each room has different charm and character. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel had a cute flair about it due to the buildings and the layout. We stayed in room 103 which had two queen beds. It was a pretty good size room and it came with a mini fridge and microwave. The beds were firm but comfortable, the tv was nice and had many channels to choose from. The breakfast was very good with many options. Also, the free wifi worked well.

My biggest problem was the bathroom. It is outdated and the shower looked very worn out. My water temperature was hard to regulate in the shower. I had it just right and then it went ice cold on me then very hot. I do believe the nearby rooms play a factor in that, if someone is taking a bath or shower it seems like it affects you. Also, we were awoken much too early the morning of our departure by the sound of the upstairs or neighboring water from the shower or tub it was super loud....I mean loud and woke me and my husband up abruptly.

The restaurant right next door looked very busy and popular. We wish we would have eaten there instead of the Brasserie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are a Historic Hotel and some features as well as the decor are restored. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#11 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Ronks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,767 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing