We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here Two nights Aug. 31 and Sept. 1. We found the room very clean and very nice. We really liked the idea of two vanities, one outside the bathroom and a small sink inside. The shower could have been replaced. The grounds were beautiful. There were two wedding right outside our door on the lawn. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is very close to all the attractions of Strasburg.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back garden. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palumbergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    177
    95
    55
    46
See reviews for
221
174
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel has a central complex, which has the reception , a restaurant, a pool and some accommodation attached, then there are separate blocks, attached by pathways.
Our room was very comfortable, a great bed, king size, free wifi, a fridge, a microwave, coffee making facilities and a TV, although reception wasn't very good, a lot of channels had no sound, we also received a complimentary breakfast.
There is a pathway at the back of the complex which leads to the heritage township of Strasburg, it is worth taking the walk, to see the heritage listed buildings, It is a lovely town, that has Amish horse & carts, periodically travelling down the main street.
This was a very enjoyable stay, in beautiful Amish farmland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchMitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel several years ago. At that time, we agreed we wouldn't stay there again as the rooms were very dated and in great need of updating and cleaning. Due to many of our favorite hotels being sold out this past weekend we decided to give it another try. Again we left disappointed in the conditions. The concrete steps and the hand rails leading up to our floor were very uneven with very poor lighting. The wallpaper in our room was ripped, torn and pealing in several locations, the curtains were half on and half off the curtain rod and appeared not to have been cleaned since the turn of the century. The bathroom was moderatly clean, however the toilet was not completed bolted to the floor and the water in the shower was very difficult to regulate ~ either it was extremely hot or extremely cold. The hallways have a very musty smell. On a positive note, the grounds are beautifuls. and the hotel is close to area attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent accommodations and close to historic Strasburg and to all of Lancaster, PA attractions. Refrigerator and coffee maker in room. Very clean and also has a gym with a sauna and an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie,Pa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was 3rd visit to this hotel.From the first visit I mentioned that rooms were dated.I felt that the beautiful grounds+exceptional staff was more important.The later is still true but dated is now seedy.Room very small.Beds face windows on ground floor.Curtains very,cheap,flimsy+sheer.I carry clips to keep cutains together but nothing helps when a/c blows them away from window.No privacy at all.No shades or blinds.

When I inspected room.-tub and shower surround is old +stained.I did complain at desk about mold around faucets+corners.They did send someone to wipe it down but-----it needs brush+bleach.Nothing helps the old part.While adjusting curtains noticed sill had been painted but top of frame was missing most of paint.Too me this is a supervision issue.
FYI even if u request first floor,the buildings closest to office require u navigating about 6 steps with your luggage so the cart is useless.A male employee saw us struggling+insisted on helping+refused a tip.The desk did offer help but we thought we could manage.

We are seniors.Due to age,health+finances our trips have been curtailed.We cannot afford nor due we expect posh surroundings but basic privacy+while room appeared clean,would like it mold free.Too bad,the grounds are so beautiful.Cudos to the gardner.We did pass on our concerns as we were leaving.This is one of those catch 22's have to cancel in advance+anyone who has been to Lancaster knows its a rarity to find something at last minute.So we put up with it but alas its the last time.Its hard to rate our stay.Grounds+staff excellent but room poor.

Room Tip: Rooms near office still have 6 stairs.There are other bldgs,may be for pets.Never checked them but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is REALLY great for all ages; there were families, couples and seniors quietly enjoying the grounds. We just returned from a great one-night stay here in Strasburg PA on the way back to upstate NY and we did NOT want to leave, but had to get back home after a long trip to VA. We will be returning to this Clarion on our next visit to Amish country. We always chose Strasburg or Intercourse/Bird-in-Hand to avoid Lancaster PA main drag rt30 and crowds. This hotel is unique layout and beautiful setting. The standard two-bed rooms are nice but basic; we slept well on the beds/pillows in the quiet hush of Amish country. (Only downsides: Small older fridge made odd noises all night, coffee cups dirty; rooms were very clean, but we found two black socks not ours under bed!! and we had to kill a spider on pillow and two moths upon arrival, but this is in the country like where we live in NY farmland, and the bugs probably come in from the door which opens right to the outside or the slight gap under door, not opening into a hallway.No fly issues like in other Amish farm rooms. The views of gliding Hot Air Balloons and Amish farms was lovely. We were glad to get last-minute AAA rate reservations for two comfortable main floor rooms approved for pets. We were in the 1-story gold-paint and building nearest the quiet pharmacy and shops next door, with a beautiful Amish buggy and horse hitched to the post for a few hours outside our windows. We followed the locals (a policeman and Amish teens) into the excellent pizza parlor for great Italian food and salad picnic ( a compliment from us as NYers). The pool was very nice, really clean, hubby and teen daughter went early before 10 am for quiet before the cute little kids arrived. if check-out was 12 not 11, I would have had time for pool. The pool looked nice the evening before, but we were too tired form long drive, lots of adorable tiny kids running with excitement towards the pool with parents trying to tire them out before 8pm. The grounds are lovely and sitting in gazebos in the heatwave was nice. No time for their quaint, fancy restaurant, but it was busy...the free breakfast was great, took back to family to warm up in room microwave (great small waffle, syrup and eggs). Felt very safe here, very peaceful. Heard the Strausburg train whistle in distance; nice memories of our rides when kids were young. This hotel is basic but a quaint country place, which is why we go to Amish country to avoid the large places.
I really appreciated having the nice pedestal sink inside the toilet/shower area as well as a sink/mirror outside the bathroom at the closet area near door. The shower/tub was very small, but ok. The front desk lady was so kind and pleasant when getting the call that the toilet stopped up at 12:30am with just paper thankfully, as clear water went over the top...we threw towels down, called lobby, hubby walked outside over to main lobby in pj's for a plunger which she got from the shed...brought her the wet towels in a bag for fresh towels and returned the plunger.(***Tip: Remind the kids to use only a little paper and flush in between as toilet was older kind. Also, ask for a ground floor room building if you don't want stairs or have a lot of luggage or a pet. Being able to parking right outside the various buildings was important to us as well.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very disappointing, expected to find an historic lovely hotel, at first glance we thought it was, but was wrong. The shower was very old and wasn't sure if it was dirty or that worn out, the fixtures were rusty and seemed like black mold inside the tub / shower. Also appeared the bathroom floor had not been wiped up and balls of hair on the carpet, not sure if it was dog or human.
On a good note the bed seemed clean and comfortable, tv and wi-fi worked great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khelgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,892 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing