We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and really ugly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and really ugly room”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This motel provides a clean place to shower and sleep, with a mini fridge and basic breakfast. The rooms are dark and dreary with no atmosphere or decor - nothing to let you know that you are in Lancaster county PA.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
58
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We booked the Carriage House because it was pet friendly and close to where we wanted to be. The room was as expected for the price and motel atmosphere - no frills, but it was very clean. The fridge was a nice touch which allowed us to keep some of the yummy food we purchased cold. The women in the office were friendly and helpful. Location was great. We were in the end unit, closest to the road, and yes we could hear traffic - but it didn't bother us or our sensitive, bark at anything Pomeranians. I popped in my earplugs and would have slept soundly had it not been for the only downside of the room - the rock hard bed. It was so uncomfortable that we slept poorly and woke in the morning stiff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettieplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Came up to visit area attractions with my daughter on the way through to see family. There are many hotels in the area and I was hoping to find one that wasn't too expensive but not too decrepit or dangerous. This one seemed to fit the bill and after reading the positive reviews on this website, we booked two nights at this hotel.
I have to say that our experience, while not awful, was not quite as positive as the other reviewers.
Here are the positives: the room seemed clean, it cost less than $100 per night, provided a plain but adequate breakfast of cereals, toast, and juice, and there was a decent amount of space inside the room.
Here are the negatives: if you book a room with a single double bed (the least expensive option), you'll be in one of the two rooms closest to Main Street in Strasburg. While Strasburg is a quiet town, Main Street is a fairly big thoroughfare for anybody traveling through town to get to the railroad museums. Traffic was heavily and easily heard, although it competed with the noisy AC to keep us awake. Suffice it to say that my daughter who (while on vacation) will sleep until 9 or 9:30 in the morning, was awake without prompting before 7:30 each morning which made for a kinda cranky kid and a not very relaxing vacation. Immediately upon arrival, I called the office to see if I could switch rooms (and I would have been glad to pay extra but wasn't asked). They said that it wasn't possible, leaving me to stare out the window at night listening to the cars driving by and watching the red VACANCY sign out the window.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachermomVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a basic motel, an older property that has been well-maintained and updated. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Almost more of a B&B atmosphere than a motel.

The breakfast room is small (only 2 tables) and the spread is basic factory-prepared pastries. This is true to their advertising, but some fresh fruit and maybe yogurts would be nice.

Great location for PA Railroad Museum and Strasburg Railroad.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed in room number 173. It is great! I like the playground. Stuff is very helpful and welcoming. Town offers unexpected plesures.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zacsfza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

For the price, the Carriage House Inn is above average. The amenitites were great, for a motor inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but was a little bit dark. The continental breakfast was pretty good, (bagels, pastries, donuts, cereal, orange juice and milk). The swing set, needs a little updating, but there is plenty of room for the kids to run around. We would definately consider staying here again.

  • Liked — The price and the location
  • Disliked — No Swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We just stayed for two nights this week. It is only 5 minutes to Route 30, less than that to Sight and Sound, or the Railway Museum, and Route 30 is so busy I am sure the rooms in the many hotels on that strip are not near as quiet as they were here. They had a good complementary continental breakfast, and a computer for guest use in that room. I think it was a blessing that they didn't have wireless in the rooms as we actually had a break from our computers. They were helpful, providing extra pillows etc. quickly when asked. We had 4 adults in our room and paid less than 90 per night, for a room that was freshly painted, clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — cleanliness and price and quietness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dgraceofgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
3.0 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
1.5 mi away
Hershey Farm Inn
Hershey Farm Inn
#2 of 16 in Ronks
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strasburg Village Inn
Strasburg Village Inn
#3 of 4 in Strasburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motor Inn

Property: Carriage House Motor Inn
Address: 144 E Main St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1425 (Formerly Carriage House Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carriage House Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Carriage House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Strasburg
Carriage House Motor Inn Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing