We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was staying at this hotel at the time of my birthday. The front desk clerk actually brought a lovely piece of cake with a candle to my room. I have stayed in a good amount of hotels and this was a first. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends not only is the location very pretty the staff goes beyond to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Eileen L,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience here at Toftrees. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time and that Carina was able to do something special for you Birthday. We hope that when you are back this way from Philadelphia you will chose to stay with us again. If there is anything we can do in the future please let us know.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Toftrees Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

In all fairness we only went to a conference here but looked at a room and spoke with front desk people and walked around lobby area. If you have trouble with steps skip this. Food at seminar was good but chicken was dry. Continental nreakfast only included breakfast nd no fresh pastries that we could see. otherwise good. Service was good. We saw a few spider webs in overhead twig decor in conference dining area. Very off-putting. Only average overall.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Linda B,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We will for sure look into the cobwebbs in the mentioned meeting rooms. We know there are many choices in the area and hope that we will have a chance again in the future to hold some meetings with you and your groups and want to let you know we always appreciate the feedback. Safe travels to you and we hope your upcoming Holiday Season is great!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

In a word, meh. It was just ok, certainly didn't have that 'resort' feel. No elevator. Slightly worn.For some bizarre reason the closet was in the bathroom; it's like the architect put the door on the wrong wall. It's probably a great place if you spend all your time on the golf course, which we didn't because it was November. You might actually want to consider sleeping on the golf course because of the nearly useless 'climate control' unit. It was one of those stupid wall units that hotels insist upon subjecting us to that adjust the room temperature by generating huge amounts of noise. Ours worked by heating the room to 100 degrees and then turning off until the temperature dropped to 40. When my wife mentioned this to the desk person, she was not concerned. I think you can do better in State College.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NE_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear NE_Wayfarer,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at Toftrees. We appreciate all the feedback and will be sure to look into the challenges with the HVAC. We have been in the process for 3 years now changing them out and will continue to do so until the entire hotel has been completed. We realize we are not the newest building in town but do take great pride in our customer service and it seems that we missed the opportunity with you in regards to this as well. We send our deepest apologies and hope that you will come back and allow us another opportunity in the future as we continue to make changes and make the guest experience one to remember.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Such a beautiful location and every amenity you could desire but our tour group did joke that "couldn't the toilet paper at least be two-ply"?!? The continental breakfast was not the greatest and the restaurant was not prepared for all of its patrons but I liked they had a computer available for guests and it was beautiful and clean. We were all just so thankful to be off the tour bus!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms down the main hallway from the front desk as air from the main door rattles all room doo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassiemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Cassiemich,

Thanks for the kind words about our resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here! We appreciate all the business you and Diamond tours bring our way and will be sure to look into the challenges endured during your stay. We hope to see you back in the future and wish you safe travels and an enjoyable Holiday Season!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel and it was a very positive experience. We had actually canceled a reservation from a chain hotel that was too far from the campus. The person that checked us in (I believe her name was Carie) was very helpful and left a great first impresssion. As others have noted, some aspects of the hotel are dated, but we found the room to be very clean, comfortable and quiet. The shuttle to Beaver Stadium for a football Game was very convenient and fast for the departure and return. We did visit the Down Under restaurant/lounge and it complemented the hotel very well. We met several staff members during our stay and it was a pleasure speaking with each. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and will recommend it to friends as a very convenient, comfortable and well mananged property.

Room Tip: The first floor will require carrying luggage down a flight of stairs as there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markj508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Markj508,


Thanks for taking the time to let us and everyone know about your stay! I was pleased to here Carina took great care of you at check-in and that any staff that were encountered were pleasant and eager to please. While we realize we are not the newest hotel we go great lengths to try to provide top notch service to each and every guest. We do hope that you will make it back soon for another football game or during the summer for a great and challenging round of golf. If we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to ask. Safe travels to you and best wishes with the upcoming holidays!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night, a few hours really, on a football weekend. Toftrees is tucked away on the other side of 99, so its quiet out there. Its a quick drive across the highway to the Wegmans and Target shopping center, and a short drive down 322 to the stadium and downtown.

So quiet location and quiet hotel. We didn't hear any noise from our room at all. The room was really big, 2 queen beds, and the bathroom was pretty big. Big counter. The room / hotel could use some updating (not enough plugs) and spot maintenance (like most hotels) but it wasn't old or gross by any means. I'd stay there again for the right price.

Room Tip: We were in 142. And while on the bottom floor, it wasn't a basement. Full split level. Quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear jlp306,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad to hear the staff was accomodating, the hotel was quiet and quaint and provided you just what you needed for a football weekend. We hope that you will come back and see us again, maybe during the summer for a round of golf! Safe travels and best wishes with the upcoming holidays!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just held our dream wedding at Toftrees Golf Resort and I everything was perfect! Our 50 guests stayed at the hotel, where the ceremony and reception were held and loved the entire facility. The rooms were beautiful, the restaurant pleased all our guests (ages 2 - 65), and the staff was amazing. Though the weather played tricks on us, I was not pressured into making a decision about an outdoor service, but encouraged to do what was in my heart. We worked closely with Ashley Huey, who took all the stress out of making our big day flow nicely. She was incredible with the children in our bridal party and on top of every little need we had.
Some guests played the golf course on Friday and were impressed by its maintenance and level of play. These guests even plan on coming back in the summer to enjoy the resort and play again. We may even plan a family get together at Toftrees this summer just so the kids can swim and the adults play.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw102476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear JW 102476,

Thanks for the great review of our resort we appreciate all the feedback and are estatic to hear things were truly magical for you! We here at Toftrees believe we have a wonderful place full of character, great staff and a wonderful environment and are pleased that you noticed all of the resorts great features. While we have yet undertaken the challenge of harnessing mother nature, we always strive to make each experience a positive one for our guests. We hope to see you back again in the future. Congratulations to you and may you have a wonderful marriage ahead of you!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $91 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing