We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grossly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed during parents weekend and was charged over two times the going rate for a urine smelling room with no frig or microwave. The smell in the bathroom and bedroom was incredibly vile. Bed mushy and I think not quite a queen. Sheets scratchy, bathtub sloped and difficult to stand in. Not at all advisible for someone who's mobility is limited. You have to take stairs no elevator. For the price we paid this was an incredible ripoff. I can understand charging a little more for parents weekend but this was over two times the normal rate. Ate in the restaurant and the waitress asked if we want the buffet or order off menu. I asked if I could see the menu to decide and she was amazed I couldn't make the decision without reviewing the menu. Shame!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ziggy Rey,

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We realize that we are not the newest and most modern hotel in town as we were built in 1970, and with that comes some of the challenges with mobility around the resort. We do take pride in offering a quiet and comfortable place to stay while visiting State College and we will be sure to look into the smell noted in your review immediately as we have not had a comment such as this before. In regards to the rates we charge we do often reflect similar rates to other hotels in town based on events and such going on at the university and hope that you understand that if hotels in this market did not do such a thing we would not be available for guests to use as many hotels would have to close their doors due to lack of consistent business and fierce competition in a small market. We do continue to make improvements each and every year and hope that down the road if you are back in town for a visit you will stop by and see Toftrees for the beauty that it was intended to be.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    85
    50
    27
    15
See reviews for
98
35
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Was in the area and decided to have lunch here for my wifes birthday. Wait staff were available, ready and willing to please. They checked in with us numerous time to see if we needed anything. Not too many but better then needing them and them not coming back.They were always courteous and the whole facility was very attractive and clean. Food came exactly as ordered and only after a short wait. Drinks were refilled without asking and done without our asking. Dessert was heavenly, but we still split it. (Chocolate cake) I've been here before so I'm not new to Toftrees. This though is my first review. I would recommend the Down Under for any occasion. I've never been disappointed with their food, staff or the overall experience. I've been there on a Mothers day when they were quite crowded and the dining experience was superb. Just wish I didn't live 30 miles away. Cheers!

Room Tip: I did not stay over. Just stopped for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zman17084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Zman 17084,

Thanks for the great review about your trip to the Down Under Steakhouse. We are pleased to hear that your meal and service were top notch. We hope that you will make it back this way a little more often and can try some additional items on the menu. Please check back soon as we hope to make some improvements to the menu soon and as always increase the level of service. We wish your wife a happy and belated Birthday from all of us at Toftrees!

All the Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was here many years ago for brunch and found it charming so my husband and I decided to stay for parents weekend.....what a huge disappointment. Our room smelled moldy, the sheets were scratchy and the towels were similar to a budget inn. The front staff was nice and the bartender was very friendly but for the price this hotel is a must miss!!!! We will not return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Beth S,

Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations and assure you that moving forward we will continue to work hard to make the necessary improvements. The resort was built in 1970 and when it was one of the few places in town in was known for its great Sunday Brunch and many other nice things. As the years progressed and newer places in town emerged from the hotel side and restaurant side it came a point that the buisiness was not consistent enough to do a Sunday Brunch. We do take pride in offering a hotel that is outside of the hustle and bustle of the college campus with a great restaurant on site and a wonderful golf course. We hope that down the road if you are back in town for a visit you will comeback and allow us another chance to show we do offer great service and a nice and quiet place to sleep.

All the Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A wonderful find nestled in the trees and lush greenery of central PA. a quirky property from an earlier time period which needs some upgrading and better cleaning service. Did not get to play golf, but course looked outstanding, bar and grill was friendly and food was good. desk staff was the best i've encountered in some time and they really did everything to make our trip from CA first rate.

Room Tip: queen suite overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Ken W,

Thanks for the kind words about our property. We are glad to see you are able to see it for the beauty it was intended to be. We realize we are not the newest place in town but strive to make every interaction with our guests a pleasant one and we will continue to work diligently to maintain the integrity of our property. We will be sure to look into cleanliness issues as we do take pride in providing a nice clean and comfortable place to sleep. We hope your trip from California was a success and we hope if you are back in the area you will stay with us again.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Reserved upgraded rooms. Staff told us after we called from the dark room that the rooms were renovated recently, possibly 1972 is recent to them. Was at first excited to see the property was a Marriott resort- it is NOT. Just the golf course is owned by Marriott.
I stay in hotels more than I stay in my own bed, and I can confidently say don't stay here. Cracks in the bathroom sink. Old crusty phone on the nightstand. An alarm clock that is seen better days. And those beds, those beds... No. Just NO.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Amyedwards,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We realize we are not the most modern hotel in town as we are 46 years old. We did however undergo a small renovation at the end of 2010/ start of 2011. Those renovations included new wall vinyl and carpets in all guest rooms, hallways and banquet space. While the beds and furniture was not updated we did upgrade to flat screen televisions. We do plan to continue with improvements as the years go on and hope that if you are back in the area in a few years you will look us up again and consider allowing us a second chance. We hope you have safe travels and wish all the best.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Toftrees resort. We liked the location and the free shuttle service to attend the Penn State football game. We liked the warm cookies that were in the lobby to welcome us. We liked the grounds and surrounding forests. We liked the availability of coin operated washer and dryers which came in handy to dry our soaking wet clothes from the game. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning that we stayed.

We did not like that our room was never serviced between the first and second nights that we stayed there. We had to ask for towels, shampoo, and coffee service. We made our own beds. We ate at the Down Under Steak house and the food was good, but they were understaffed. The orders came out incorrect and several needed to be sent back in because the wrong food was brought out or it was too cold by the time we received it. Overall, the resort was attractive, the rooms were no better than a Super 8 motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Marie C,

We thank you for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate the honest feedback and wanted to let you know we will be certain to address the things within our reach. We are sorry to hear that your room was not serviced and it truly must have been an oversight on our end with the housekeeping staff. We realize the guest room accomodations are not the newest in town but we strive to keep them clean and in good working condition on a day to day basis. We hope that if you are back up this way for another football game or any other reason to visit State College that you will give us another opportunity to show that our staff service can and will rise to the occasion to take care of our guests.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed two nights for the Kent State v PSU football game. Our second floor room (down the hall on the same floor as check-in) was smaller than I expected, but it did have a loveseat, fridge, microwave, free wi-fi and balcony. Our room faced the interior courtyard, and the balcony facing the volleyball court area was quiet. The building is old, this was particularly evident if you used the inside walk way to get to breakfast (which we did in the pouring rain). The carpet is old and the floor is spongy and uneven, as if it might cave in while you walk.
I loved the fact that the "PSU Football Express" bus comes to pick up here, and we didn't have to deal with transportation to and from or parking at the game.
The package included a buffet breakfast at the Out Back restaurant on site-- the same both days- scrambled eggs (real eggs not powdered), bacon, sausage, potatoes and french toast and make your own waffles as hot items and cereal, cut fruit, pastries and yogurt as cold choices. The french toast and eggs were good. The potatoes tasted like they had perhaps been cooked on a flat top with the bacon and since I don't eat bacon they were out. I asked for a refill on juice that never arrived.
I would have rated it higher but on the morning we left I happened to pull down the top sheet that encased the blanket and the blanket looked dirty. Marks and smudges that made me glad I hadn't seen it before we slept. That said, I would stay here again, I'd just do a better job of checking the linens before climbing into bed.

Room Tip: They host a lot of weddings, but we didn't have a problem with noise while we were here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Lee G,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate the feedback and we will work to resolve our shortfalls. We assure you that we are a structurally sound building and that we are not going anywhere any time soon. We will definitely take a look at our comfortors and assure that they are in a clean and presentable state for you and all other guests and we will make sure to address the concerns with the breakfast potatoes. We hope that you will make it back this way again this season or next and we hope you will find your next experience to be even better!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Property: Toftrees Golf Resort
Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing