We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steakhouse service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Steakhouse service”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

While my husband and I were in town this past week we stopped to eat at The Down Under steakhouse. This was a Wednesday evening around 7:30 pm and when we first arrived not very busy. Quickly out of nowhere the restaurant filled up, golfers meeting I think. The servers and bartender were running around nonstop. Our server, a tall blonde (I can not remember her name) was wonderful. She was training and seemed very thorough with what should be done. Even with all the craziness she remained friendly and never missed a beat! We had a few drinks and they were great, the bartender knew what she was doing!! Again we were impressed because they were really swamped! My only concern would be lack of management presence and help. while the manager stopped by our table to ask how our meal was she was not friendly, did not engage more or help her staff. She seemed annoyed and to be preoccupied with texting on her cell phone. We will certainly visit again due to great service and food, however as a manager myself I think the manager needs some help with professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Annabelle J,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience in the Down Under Steak House! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and that Danielle whom we believe was ypour server took great care of you. We will for sure address the concern regarding the management pressence as well as we definitely preach a hands on program here at Toftrees. We hope that when you are in the area again you will stop by and try more of our menu items.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    92
    50
    29
    15
See reviews for
103
39
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

For the past 2 years, we have stayed at Toftrees while our son attended Penn State University Summer Athletic Camp. My husband, 2 children (ages 14 & 12) and myself love it here because all of the staff are so accommodating. Kevin, at Toftrees, matched a lower room rate that I had seen online and shipped some forgotten items we left at the hotel. Sharon allowed us a later check-out time which let us enjoy the resort's tennis, pool and golf adventures. Emily, at the front desk, was always quick to take care of any matter/question. Judith and Ryan did an amazing job at keeping our room clean, responding quickly for a request of extra towels, shampoos, etc.. Everyone at Toftrees was friendly and they helped us to enjoy another great stay at this lovely family-friendly resort! I'm sure we will be back next year!
Kelly Bocchicchio, New York

Room Tip: Pick a room that has 2 connected rooms if you are bringing children and one close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Toftrees Resort. I was truly glad to hear that Kevin, Emily, Ryan and Judith did everything they could to make your stay top notch. We hope that while you continue to return to the State College area that we can be your first choice when selecting a location. I assure you I will thank each one of them personally!

All The Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently stayed at Toftrees Resort. Love it! I would recommend the The Club Suite. It is large and has 2 bathrooms and a wonderful view of the pool. The pool area was area was very nice also. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: The Club Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Joan B,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your amazing stay at Toftrees. We are glad you were able to enjoy the comfort and space of one of our suites available here at the Resort. We hope that in the future you will come back and see us for the full resort experience including the Down Under Steak House and our 4 Star rated Golf Facilities.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed as part of a golf weekend. Very clean and quiet room. Front desk was completely overwhelmed. The resort obviously knows how many guests will be arriving in a given day, yet when I arrived no one was at the front desk. After several minutes, one person showed up, but by then was at least a dozen guests waiting to check in. After I checked in it was standing room only in the lobby and still only one person working. Service was also slow it the restaurant. But enough of the negatives...there were more than enough positives to make up for the slow service. The golf course was terrific and everyone associated with the course should be commended. The hotel was immaculate. While this was a guys weekend, this would be a great place for a couples getaway. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HH2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear HH2u,

Thanks for the feedback. We will be sure to discuss in our next management meeting about the presence in the lobby at the desk and also the slow service in the restaurant. We asure you those are things we can fix. We are truly glad you enjoyed the course while you were here and hope that you and the guys will be back soon to play again. If we can do anything for you in the future please do not hesitate to ask.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Happened to visit Toftrees Resort at an off time for a short business stay. My room, while not fancy, was comfortable and quiet. Nice walking trail and pool to unwind in after work. The restaurant stayed open late so I could have dinner after arriving late. The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful, and were so pleasant! I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I did not know when booking that some rooms had balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmurph531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mmurph571,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Toftrees Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you felt the staff service was top notch. We take great pride in knowing we do everything we can for our guests and I was expecially pleased to see that you took notice. We hope that when you visit State College again in the future we can be your hotel of choice. If there is anything more we can do to better assist you please let us know.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Toftrees Resort for a wedding last weekend. After the wedding, which was the most beautiful wedding we had ever seen due to their remarkable venue, we all went over to the Down Under Steakhouse. We ate there multiple times during our stay and each time we had amazing service.The staff was very welcoming and the food was fabulous (Try the filet). While at the Down Under, the bartenders didn’t miss a beat, even with the increased rush of people to the bar. I would 100% recommend this resort and restaurant to anyone looking to get away and relax!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Courtney S,

Thank you for your many kind compliments about Toftrees Resort. It was truly our pleasure to offer that extra special service and deliver on such a special day. We hope that in the future you and all of the attending wedding guests will come back and utilize our resort again in the future.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an annual MS Leadership reception at Toftrees, first time this year. Le Papilion room beautiful, patio happy hour perfect, food and service perfect. They helped us make the evening great. We will do this again at Toftrees!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmarcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Karmarcas,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at Toftrees. It was truly our pleasure to host the MS Awards dinner for you. We hope to see you back here again next year and for any other endeavors we may be able to assist you with.

All the Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
769 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Property: Toftrees Golf Resort
Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing