We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toftrees Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed two nights for a conference. Although it is an older property, we thought the room was more than adequate. The bathroom was large, the water pressure was great, and the room was very clean. We were so impressed by the USB/Power Surge protectors in the room for plugging in our phones and pads, that we located them and ordered a few for ourselves! We truly appreciated that the free Wifi was strong throughout the building. We dined in the restaurant, and had food at our functions, all of which was quite tasty. The friendliness of the staff was exceptional. Every staff member we came across, greeted us with a smile, offered assistance and just made sure we had everything we needed. If we were back in the area, we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Toftrees with other travelers. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while here for your conference and that our staff made you fill welcome. Our team is trained in the "WIT Program" which is Whatever It Takes. We hope to see you back in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    85
    49
    27
    15
See reviews for
97
35
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Over the Rainbow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'll admit that after reading the very mixed reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. However, since I was attending a small conference at this hotel, I thought I'd give it a try.

The resort is in a very pretty and quiet setting, but with easy access to the main roads, shopping, restaurants and university amenities.

We were greeted by two very lovely ladies at the front desk. They seemed genuinely happy that we were there and were very polite and helpful.

Common areas are seasonally decorated without being overly fussy and everything was clean! Not a dust-bunny lurking in any corner!

The rooms were not luxurious, but I wasn't paying for luxury, either. Again, everything was clean, well-appointed with all the necessities. Beds were clean and comfortable. Good-sized tv and adequate lighting in the bathroom. One odd thing - the closet was in the bathroom. I thought this was a strange set-up.

Conference areas were clean. A/V and lighting were adequate. I thought the meeting areas were a little cold, but I don't know how much of that was the settings requested by our organizers or the facility itself.

We had drinks at the bar. Here again, personnel were very friendly and helpful. Our buffet meals were well presented, served at the proper temperature and were quite tasty. Coffee was a little scarce being served at the tables.

Check-out was also a pleasant experience. The ladies at the front desk inquired about our stay and wished us a good day. They had no problem splitting the invoice for my friend and me.

Overall, this was a positive experience and I hope the organizers of our conference pick this location again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but they did offer to help with our luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Toftrees while traveling for your conference. Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers your experience. We hope to see you back at Toftrees in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent just one night here while I was in the area on business recently, but prior stays when I was in grad school at Penn State made this visit a bit of a walk down memory lane for me. The hotel has a nice setting and had always felt a bit sleepy to me - that hasn't changed, and I like that feeling in a country hotel. (Of course, the drunken jerks yammering on the deck above us at 1 AM didn't contribute to this feeling, but at least they quieted down when we asked them to.) One pleasant attribute: sliding doors opening onto fresh outside air, which you hardly are able to get anymore at a hotel. Front desk service was confused but friendly. When I called ahead to ask if they by any chance had an outdoor hot tub (a girl can dream!), the person on the phone seemed to have no idea of what I was talking about. She wasn't unpleasant about it, just never seemed to have heard of these new-fangled things ...

The main thing that really must be improved is the coffee. Please, please, use more than one scoop for an industrial sized pot. I'm not a Starbucks French roast drinker, but this was way too weak even for me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlottaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers your experience at Toftrees. We love to hear stories from alumni who revisit our property after being here as a student. We have even had a few couples meet here in college and come back to get married here! We are continuously making improvements to our resort and our service standards so all feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We paid a healthy chunk of change to stay at Toftrees for an event. I was incredibly unimpressed by the rooms. They were tiny and offered no microwave or fridge. This hotel also does not have an elevator, making it unsuitable for older guests or travelers with a lot to carry (although staff offered to help with bags). The beds were tiny, too. Comparably, we had a better, more comfortable stay at the local Quality Inn the night before for a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llclarityll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Toftrees with other travelers. We are continuously looking for feedback from our guests so that we can improve our resort for future stays. We do offer a microwave and refrigerator in some of our guestrooms(Club Rooms and Suites) and are working to put them into more guestrooms. We offer queen sized beds in our guestrooms as well as an option of two double beds. We also have guestrooms that have patio or balconies. Please let us know if you would like to stay at our resort in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location is ideal and very close to Penn State. I was a little skeptical on booking here based on some reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was nicely appointed and clean. The room was on the lower level and we did not have any issues.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank susan118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Toftrees Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and hope that you will be back to see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had a room on the first floor with a nice walk out patio. The dehumidifiers running in the hall should be the first clue, the room was damp and smelled musty! The carpet felt wet! Everything in our room was damp and wet by the time we left in the morning. The housekeeping staff had the door open to the laundry/housekeeping area and were freely "hanging out" in there with guests passing by!
Since it was move in weekend for Penn State, it is not like we had the option of moving to another hotel!
The hotel is in serious need of an update! On a positive note, the staff was receptive to my feedback, apologetic, and pleasant!

Room Tip: Stay out of the rooms on the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BINK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at Toftrees Resort. We appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know we have worked diligently in the Fall to help correct the damp feel on our first floor rooms by installing new French Drains around the perimeter of the property to exhaust water away from the building. We hope that in the future you will allow us another chance to show that we are a quality Resort with many great things to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheaton, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I received the room on the first floor, which, is like in the basement. the room smells like mildrew and mold, and the bedspread seemed underwashed. the temperature of the room is not well controlled. horrible experience, the soap in the bathroom was not exchanged for a new box, it was USED!!! agh!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 53cleo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at Toftrees Resort. We appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know we have worked diligently in the Fall to help correct the damp feel on our first floor rooms by installing new French Drains around the perimeter of the property to exhaust water away from the building. We hope that in the future you will allow us another chance to show that we are a quality Resort with many great things to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Property: Toftrees Golf Resort
Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing