We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent service made our stay outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were in State College for a Regional Volleyball tournament and had the good luck to have our club book Toftrees. The last time I was there was in 1995 when I was pregnant with my son. SO much has changed here - what a wonderful experience my family had! I'd read the reviews and was apprehensive. No bellman? Wrong! THE friendliest, most welcoming staff, including a bellman, Scott, who couldn't have been more helpful with luggage, Qs about resort, campus. Front desk staff, in a word, SUPERB. Really. THEY DID A LOAD OF WASH FOR ME! Thank you Erika, Lindsay & Tim, who were incredibly professional and went to so much trouble, despite a demanding hoarde of VB players. Lindsay helped with ordering food for hospitality suite we got, and Erika - the best! Housekeeping was unobtrusive & accomodating (Janice was so nice to my youngest daughter -TY!). Karen & Melissa at the Steak House were outstanding. I could go on and on. Upgraded rooms - brand new mattresses, carpets, microwave & fridge in room. Really great for families. I would go back in a sec and I am a bedbug phobic, picky guest. Stayed at former Ritz in Barcelona w my son - this was a better hotel experience. They certainly hire he MOST attentive staff ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 223 - QUIET, balcony, refirigerator, microwave, brand new mattresses, furniture &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Toftrees with other travelers. We pride ourselves on our "WIT" program meaning "Whatevet It Takes" and I am happy to hear that our team helped make your stay memoriable.

We recently completed a renovation of the resort and are continuing to make upgrades around the property. We hope to see your family back with us in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 305 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a conference. Staffed were very friendly and hospitable but the guest rooms dated. Hate the whole bed spread/ blanket thing! Bathroom had a great vanity but thin skimpy towels. Hotel laid out oddly and could not find an elevator. Conference facilities were adequate for our meeting. Lunch was a buffet with a nice selection. Golf course looked beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachNmargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Toftrees. We strive to provide excellent customer service and do whatever it takes to exceed your expectations. We will use your feedback to help improve our resort.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We didn't stay at the resort, but we did have the Brunch on Sunday and it was excellent. The room was bright and the tables were beautifully set. The buffet brunch was really good and included a carving and omelet station, dessert bar, and really tasty breakfast and lunch dishes. We were so happy we ended a great weekend for our son's graduation here! Service was great with dishes promptly cleared and drinks filled! Would definitely recommend this special occasion brunch! I think the next one is Mother's day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ALittleTripC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Congratulations on your son's graduation! Thank you for sharing your day with us and thank you for the feedback. We take pride in our special event buffets and look to create a memoriable event for our guests. We prepare our special brunches for most of the holidays and special events in town.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The staff here seemed very friendly, but the public space and guest rooms were dates and worn looking. Our carpet and bedspread in the room seemed new, but beat up furniture and chipping paint in the bathroom stood out like a sore thumb to me. The grounds are really lovely, and then golf course looked beautiful, but I hate to say the hotel itself felt very dark and depressing. This place has a lot of potential, and I hope they can put some serious money in it soon to make it fantastic!

Room Tip: Our room had one full size bed (didn't even know they offered those anymore) so we were a bit cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniBean75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our resort and appreciate your comments. We did resently renovate our guestrooms and replace the TV with flat screens and are currently looking at ways to make improvements. Our Ballroom renovation was just completed and we will be posting photos on our website soon.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are a whole lot nicer due to renovations compared to when we stayed here over a year ago. Still, I cannot say anything extraordinary about this hotel. The price was as expected for an "event" weekend and fortunately, they did not require a two-night stay. They need to replace the paper thin towels and do something about the bathtub draining painfully slow. Also, the heavy doors close loudly so this wakes you up from time to time. Other than that, it's a decent place away from the noise of downtown State College.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrustyPirateWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are continuously looking to improve our resort and appreciate your feedback. We resently completed some renovations on the conference and banquet event rooms and are working on more renovations on the public spaces. We hope to see you back at our resort in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I found this hotel to be simply adequate. In fact the only thing spectacular was the price. The room was dated and needs a makeover. However, it was clean. I ordered room service and that was terrible. It took over an hour and they failed to bring salad dressing or butter. The next morning my son and I ate breakfast in the restaurant where I had the worst omelette, ever. I never expect much from buffet omelets but this was unbelievably bad. So, if you want a clean, cheap place to stay, eat tsomewhere else and keep your expectations very modest, than this is your place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Toftrees Golf Resort and Conference Center. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to use your information to help improve our resort. We have made some adjustments to our Breakfast Buffet to improve the service and food selections we offer.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Toftrees. We look forward to your return stay with us.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.9 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
476 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#8 of 26 in State College
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: $72 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing