We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eh, i guess it's okay since there isn't much else around” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toftrees Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“eh, i guess it's okay since there isn't much else around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

the property is pretty confusing. upon arrival it is hard to tell which building is the guest registration. my husband pulled up to the building entrance that we thought the front desk was in. i ran in to check, turned around to give him the thumbs up to start unloading while i ran in to check us in and get a bell cart. i first asked for a bell cart and was told there were none, then was asked what room i was in. i said i hadn't checked in yet and the girl advised me that i should check in first so she can figure out where my room will be located before we unload the car. so i ran outside, and told my husband to put everything back into the car. went back inside to check in, received our room keys and were told that we were on the second floor and there was no elevator but we were right near the staircase in that building. i asked for a bellman to assist us and was told there wasn't one. so i went back outside, my husband unloaded the car again, and I carried all of our bags up the stairs by myself while he parked the car. (sure i could have waited for him but i just wanted to get to the room). so if this hotel doesn't have elevators, they surely should offer some sort of luggage assistance or carts!?!?

upon arriving in our room, on a 100 degree day, our a/c was not on. i turned it on and it worked but we had to leave the room so it had time to cool down. we walked to the other building that has the restaurant and had dinner. it was fine, nothing spectacular but it was fine.

the pool was really nice and clean, room was clean and all of the staff were very friendly. i was very disappointed in the check in experience and no bell carts or luggage assistance. i would also note to mgmt that when housekeeping was cleaning they had their items pretty much strewn throughout the hallways whereas most hotels try to have a minimal impact when housekeeping is cleaning. we had to walk around piles when entering or exiting our room.

Room Tip: ask for first floor upon making reservation, i did see some rooms had balconies too and that would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvelez250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our resort. We do appreciate your business and hope that we will have you back in the future.

Our resort does have Premium and Club rooms as well as Suites that offer additional amenities. We offer rooms with balconies, patios, microwaves, and refrigerators.

Sincerely,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    85
    49
    27
    15
See reviews for
97
35
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our girls high school basketball team stayed at Toft Trees along with several of the girl's families during the recent Blue Chip Basketball Tournament at Penn State. Despite being fully booked Laura and her team were on top of all our needs during our five day stay and we greatly enjoyed the resort's facilities, green space and convenience to campus. Rooms were fine and the stay was great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your resort. It was truely a pleasure working with you and your team during your stay at our resort. Our team enjoyed having your families with us for the week. We hope to see you back for the next tournment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I didn't make the decision to stay here, a relative did for a family gathering, and after reading the reviews here I was afraid he had put us up in a dump. So I was very pleasantly surprised. This is a nice place, in a beautiful setting. The rooms have balconies (with varying views, ours was of a parking lot, but still...), free internet (the wi fi was a little weak), and sizeable rooms and bathrooms. There is a beautiful golf course (which I didn't use), and a wonderful pool (which I did). The restaurant has a great terrace looking over the pool and the golf course, and tables with umbrellas. We paid about the same as we would have paid for the usual chain places, but this was much better. True, no bell hops, but honestly, who needs a bell hop? There is no elevator, and this is not the best place for someone who is not very mobile (like one of our party). They can give you a room on the main floor, and you can get to the restaurant without going up or down stairs (by going outside), but you can't get to poolside without stairs. The restaurant is a Down Under steak house, and it was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was not free; it was a reasonably priced buffet (eggs could have been hotter). Service was fine, although admittedly not five star. (An extra blanket on my bed was not folded, but just thrown on a chair; a neighbor's room service tray sat outside their room all day long). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Director of Sales at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our resort. It is our goal to exceed your expectations for each stay. We are continuously looking at guest feedback to improve on our services. We hope to have you and your family back to our resort. Guests of the hotel do get a discounted rate on the golf course if you do decide to play.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Thank God my stay is over!
This so called resort was picked by my agency because it was $10.00 cheaper, then other hotels in the area. For fans of the Shining you would like this (so called resort) because it likes like the Overlook hotel. I don’t think it has been updated since 1970!
Upon check in we found out there was no Elevator and no bell hops to take your bags to you room; wow all the resorts I have stayed at in the past have bell hops.
The room was the pits; I used a whole can of bed bug spray, just in case, the pillowcases were yellow with stains on them. And there was pubic hair on the bathroom ceiling and it did not belong to me! My heat was broke and they did fix it and it broke again!
The gym is stuck in 1970’s!
I ate breakfast one day at the Down under restaurant, there was 6 of us it took them an hour to serve us and the food was so-so! We were stuck to eat dinner at this location for a work dinner. There were 22 in our group we ordered our food at 6pm at 6:45 pm the waiter told us they were out of the Chefs special are you kidding! We received our food at 7:20 pm and the food was mediocre at best. And the service was horrible.

Room Tip: Go to the hampton inn or holiday inn express
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

My wife and I made the mistake of joining friends for a golfing vacation at Toftrees. It is a mistake not likely to be repeated. The attitude of the hotel staff was tepid, at best, and the treatment we recieved by the golf course staff was despicable.
I wrote a letter detailing our most umpleasant experience to the General Manager of the resort and I am still waiting, some 5 months later, for a response or even an acknowledgement. When the General Manager won't even reply to a customer concern, there is little wonder that the hotel/golf course staff have the attitude they have.
None of the eight people who went there will ever return again.
Save you money. Go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pagolfer502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
I apogolize that you have not received a response from our resort. We do stride to ensure that we follow up with our guests and I am sorry this did not happen in your case. We do continue to train our staff to do whatever it takes to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We have seen some great additions to our staff who have provided training to our team in guests satisfaction.

We do hope that you will give our resort another chance.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

i pricelined State College and got this place for $50 in January. Nice restaurant and bar area. Golf course looked great... hope to return and play one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for staying with us in January. We have some great golf packages available during the golf season along with an outdoor swimming pool, tennis, sand volleyball, fitness center, and outdoor dining. We would love to have you back to the resort to see all the amenties we have to offer.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed here this year, and both times it's been excellent. The bed is very comfy. Clean. Front desk folks are always really nice. Free Internet. There is a restaurant which we have not used. Only suites have refrig. No breakfast included in rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toftrees, Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay while at our resort. We just finished a renovation of our guestrooms that did include new beds. We do have a Down Under Steakhouse on property that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We offer a Breakfast Buffet on the weekends that features an omlet station as well as a waffle station. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Thank you,
Laura Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Property: Toftrees Golf Resort
Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing