We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.... old musty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in State College
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible.... old musty hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a two day conference and when I walked down the hall with no windows, it reminded me of a prison! My room had no windows and the door didn't stay closed. The hotel had a terrible breakfast that they didn't replenish. I can't believe anyone rated this property more than two stars. I think they should tear it down and rebuild a nice hotel ! My advise to travelers is there are plenty of nicer rooms on north Atherton! Run from this dump!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Good Evening David, I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay or our free weekday Breakfast Buffet. It is true that we do offer rooms with and without windows, our interior rooms do not have windows because they do share a wall with other guest rooms. Our interior Atrium rooms do have windows over looking the pool.

We have done many updates in the past couple years, and I hope you will join us again in the future to enjoy our updates.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    400
    344
    197
    123
See reviews for
568
134
62
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is my thirty first year attending at least one conference per year in State College. I have stayed at several of the very nice places in town, on the edge of town and just outside of town. Each has it perks, each has its own personality.Although the current Ramada was at one time a Holiday Inn, those days are now long gone. The new owners of the facility have made the long term investments in the right places. The food both for the conference and in general is very good. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are great. The location puts you out of the way yet close enough to anything and everything you want to see or do in State College. As far as the facility goes, my first night said it all. As I settled in, and then awoke the next morning, my first thought was I am going to retire today, cash out my pension and spend the rest of my days here. It was just that comfortable.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Those that have been there like Stacy, were always a pleasure to deal with and Jen has now assumed the responsibility as Stacey has unfortunately taken another position in the area. While I miss her, Jen is a great girl and she ensured that every aspect of the conference and my stay was top shelf. I am already looking forward to going back for a restful weekend visit. This place truely is part of the Happy Valley experience.

Room Tip: There are many choices from interior rooms by the pool to exterior rooms with views of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Good Evening Wayne, I can't thank you enough for sharing such a great review. Yes it is sad but true that Stacy has moved on to another opportunity, and although we miss her dearly, I have a great and supportive staff. I am honored that you found our facilities so enjoyable that you want to retire and move in with us! We would love to have you! If you need anything ever, please call me at 814-238-3001.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our room was inside, 1st floor facing the inside pool. Room was small but clean, bathroom very small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Sarahbar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Greetings, thank you for sharing your review with other TripAdvisor members. I hope that you got a chance to enjoy our indoor or outdoor pool while staying with us, especially in this warm weather. We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Ramada is an older renovated property. The rooms and bath were tight, but still workable and the facility is clean and friendly. Beds were comfy, and for the rate we paid (under $70 per night) this stay was a real bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Good Afternoon Kathleen, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate that you did notice our renovations as we have been working hard to improve our guest's experiences. Please feel free to visit us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 26 in State College
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.4 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1450 S Atherton St, US Rt 322 & PA Rt 26, State College, PA 16801-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently revamped our breakfast for the weekends and it will be 9.99 plus tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Conference Center State College Hotel State College
Ramada Inn And Conference Center State College
Ramada Inn State College
Ramada State College
State College Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing