We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location to visit Penn State” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
BERWYN
1 review
“Nice location to visit Penn State”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We rented a room for a few days while visiting our children at Penn State. Location was great. However, room had a mildew smell; fan in bathroom was full of dust. 2nd night, coffee pot was left dirty. Room was a few doors down from maintenance, so there was a lot of noise outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank SANDRA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay. I have contacted you direct so I may get some more information regarding your room number, so I may investigate further. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and look to your return stay with us.

Best regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    376
    325
    189
    115
See reviews for
538
126
58
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEESBURG
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am a gold elite Marriott traveler. My son and I needed to visit Penn State for an athletic trip, and when I checked into hotels in the area, and associated costs, the Ramada Inn was the only hotel that made sense for what I had in mind. Nice on-site restaurant for breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank gcling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent trip to Penn State. We appreciate you selecting the Ramada, and look forward to your return stay. There are many options in State College, and I appreciate you mentioning the great value that the Ramada has to offer. Please contact me if I may be of further assistance.

Best regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLEFONTE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was that it was a little outdated and the pillows were awful!! I had to sleep with no pillows because they were that uncomfortable! Also, the main lamp in the room didn't have a working lightbulb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Greetings Brian, thank you for posting your constructive comments. I apologize for the sub par stay you encountered. If you could provide me with your room number I could investigate if this was reported to the desk, as we would have been happy to replace your pillows and non working light bulbs. We certainly strive for higher guest satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

King Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
814-321-9114
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I felt the rooms were very small and could have been cleaner.
Overall, the hotel was very nice and the hot breakfast was yummy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hot buffet. I do apologize for the sub bar room cleanliness, we certainly strive for a higher point of cleanliness in our rooms, and overall property. Please consider us for a second chance in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELAND
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a very nice stay and great venue for this conference. The roonms were clean and conforable and the conference venue was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank MIKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Greetings Mike, and thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the venue, but you found our housekeeping to be neat and clean. Please consider us for future accommodations as we always welcome you.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The room was dusty . It had Several large bugs in it . The outside doorway with the light had large spider webs which had to be knocked down before we could go in. Over all it was not
up to your usual standards

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Greetings, and thank you for sharing your review. We welcome your comments as it helps us daily to improve our service, and I apologize for your sub par stay. I assure you the spider web matter has been investigated in detail, and has been taken care of. As far as the room being dusty, I will speak with my housekeeping staff regarding cleanliness. It is not uncommon that if you had an exterior room, bugs can sometimes draw in. This is not reflective of our housekeeping service, they can easily come in through the outside. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
814-321-9114
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was certainly not what we expected. We were visiting family that lives in Foxdale and Ramada has a nice deal for family members that are visiting, so we decided to stay there as opposed to the Courtyard - Marriot down the street. We could not get a room for the Friday and Saturday night because it was a football weekend, so his parents friends put us up on those nights and we stayed at the Ramada on Sunday evening so we could leave early on Monday to head back to Chicago. From the outside it looks nice, but as we entered and went to our room, it was evident that this was not the case. Everything was very dirty and the stairways smelled really gross. When we arrived at our ajoining rooms, we had a little panic attack at first. It was at the end of a hallway, blocked off by a wall and if there was a fire at the end of the wall, we would have been dead because as we discovered when we opened the doors to the room, there was no windows. The rooms were teeny, tiny and very claustrophobic. Since we were just staying one night, we made the best of it. When we returned that night to go to sleep, we went to shower and the shower knob fell off in my hand. I had to leave it that way, because there were more people who had to shower. Needless to say, we didn't sleep well, but we were up early so it really didn;t matter. When we went down to breakfast after we packed the car, most of the food was missing or empty. When we asked the waitress, she said that they had run out of food over the weekend and were not going to get a delivery because it was Labor Day. The whole experience was beyond disappointing, it was really, really horrible. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBS1234, Director of Sales at Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hell Susan, thank you for taking the time to share your review. You are correct that we do offer a competitive $55 rate during non special event weekends for friends and family of Foxdale. I apologize for the sub par room cleanliness, as we strive for higher guest satisfaction. As far as the interior rooms not having windows to the exterior, unfortunately when we enclosed our Atrium area,the building codes did not allow us for windows. We do however offer exterior facing rooms with external windows.

If you could provide me with your room number I could investigate whether or not the shower knob instance was reported to the front desk, as we would have sent up maintenance right away.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brooks-Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these State College hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard State College
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1450 South Atherton Street, US Rt 322 & PA Rt 26, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently revamped our breakfast for the weekends and it will be 9.99 plus tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center State College
Ramada Inn & Conference Center State College Hotel State College
Ramada Inn State College
Ramada State College
State College Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing