We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Not what I expected. We heard alot about the Inn and were excited to finally stay there. Unfortunately we found out first hand that they have a severe bug problem throughout the hotel. If it were not for the bugs, (roaches) our stay would have been fine - not great, but it would have been okay.

I don't think this site's three star rating is accurate. I'm from NYC so we're used to bugs but, even without bugs I would not award this place three stars.
Historic charm can carry a place only so far, then you have to have the service to make it special. The worlds full of old, historic hotels. Nittany Inn - Work on the service (and the bugs!) and someday you may get the three stars.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    216
    62
    20
    15
See reviews for
286
126
28
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed one night for freshman orientation. The hotel is very nice but the rooms definitely need some updating. Huge water leak on ceiling, bed was terrible slept with a broken spring in my back all night, dated furniture, wallpaper etc. At $135.00 per night during non peak season, the Nittany Lion Inn is definitely overpriced. The breakfast and dining room however were very nice, service good, food good. And the free shuttle to and from campus was a plus. But....I think we will try the Penn Stater next time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justcallmemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn for a sorority weekend. The hotel is very clean, and staff very friendly. The location was great. Beside being across from the bus stop, they had a free shuttle that some parents used. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barcelonamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 22, 2006

PSU needs to take a good hard look at who's in charge of this place. Great historic hotel but it needs a good cleaning. Bugs happen, but two roaches in one day is too much. One in the restaurant and one in our room. We'll be staying at one of the local suite hotels in State College for our son's graduation this year.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

We had a nice stay at the Nittany Lion Inn. The room was small and sparse, but clean. The location is what makes the Inn special---right in the middle of the Penn State campus, next to the Nittany Lion. The staff was helpful with directions. The grounds are pretty. We would stay there again the next time we visit campus.

Helpful?
7 Thank JTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

We had our Wedding reception here and the staff could not of been more helpful.

They treated the 30 plus guests we had staying at the hotel like royalty. Food is excellent, and so is the staff. There is a formal dining area and a bar in the hotel, so you really don't even need to leave.

The rooms are smaller then what you may expect, but this is an old inn and they are appointed very nicely. There is a lot of charm and history behind this place. But they have all the modern ammenities that you may need on hand as well. They will help you find anything you need in town and answer any questions about the area as well. Also there is a complimentary shuttle to take you to the airport or elsewhere if requested.

There is no pool but they will provide you a shuttle to take you to their sister property down the road. The hotel is a quick walk to the downtown area but you have everything you need here. Also the hotel is located just outside of Penn State Campus so you can check that out as well.

Great service and to think most of it is from College students is refreshing!

  • Stayed December 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rstm109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing